Should a 12 year old be allowed o play Manning Cup?

• Should a 12 year old be allowed o play Manning Cup?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports2.html

Cumberland had a problem because 5 of their players did not have IDs. One of the players that they used was 12 years old. How was he eligible to play? Did that they use a Colts player or was he registered to play Manning Cup? Should ISSA allow a 12 year old to play Manning Cup?

Is there a rule that say he shouldn't? If he is better than the other kids at his school, I don't see why not.

They play in the streets,parks,roads etc,Manning cup should be exclusive,look at sterling at pool academy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Exclusive for who??? There is nothing exclusive about Manning cup.

What's wrong with that?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I meant not exclusive.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I don't have a problem... but the coach would need to assess the player properly AND the opposition he is up against; i.e. if the opponents are significantly bigger and there is a possibility of him getting hurt from even a mild bad tackle. Sometimes it might be against the player's best interest to start in a competition where the players' age (and I am assuming size and strength) difference is significant.

What's wrong with that?
                This was a 12 year old striker. An 18 year old defender could hurt him. Now I know why ISSA will not allow a class 4 at champs. Somebody has to protect the little boys from adults.

Coach did it out of desperation not ability. He was short 5 players so he used some players from the Colts team. Score line? He lost 11-0.

Is that player eligible to play though? Just asking... Here in T&T I am assisting with coaching my (son's) school's U16 football team and we had to submit a list of players 24 hours before the first match of the season... needless to say we submitted about 23 names, just in case. Even the names of "players" who indicated they wouldn't be available this term were thrown in, just in case. I wonder if coach did the same knowing his side might struggle for players.

Huh? Then how come they allow Class IV girls?!

The reason why there is no Class IV Boys at Champs is simply because some schools, particularly the ones who recruit heavily, will be at a disadvantage. For Jamaican high schools, it is never about development. It's all about having our school's name inscribed once more on those honour rolls.

thank you, and man talk when I hit out at ISSA. It is more about the "old boys" and school names.

Is that player eligible to play though? Just asking... Here in T&T I am assisting with coaching my (son's) school's U16 football team and we had to submit a list of players 24 hours before the first match of the season... needless to say we submitted about 23 names, just in case. Even the names of "players" who indicated they wouldn't be available this term were thrown in, just in case. I wonder if coach did the same knowing his side might struggle for players.
                          Yes, one you are registered to play for a school you can play in any age group once you are not above that age group. This means that a colts player can play manning cup.

Huh? Then how come they allow Class IV girls?!

The reason why there is no Class IV Boys at Champs is simply because some schools, particularly the ones who recruit heavily, will be at a disadvantage. For Jamaican high schools, it is never about development. It's all about having our school's name inscribed once more on those honour rolls.
                            Girls develop faster than boys but your informed opinion may stil be correct.

One question, could the heavy recruiters Calabar, JC and KC override all the other principals in ISSA who would benefit from having GSAT entrance class 4 boys at champs?

Originally posted by Time View Post
                              Girls develop faster than boys but your informed opinion may stil be correct.

One question, could the heavy recruiters Calabar, JC and KC override all the other principals in ISSA who would benefit from having GSAT entrance class 4 boys at champs?
                              Not sure it went to a vote, in fact, I doubt very much it did.

Don't forget there are some big rural schools who would be strongly against a Boys Class IV.

This is BS!:
                              ISSA also dismissed establishing a Class Four for boys at Champs, even though the girls are allowed to compete at that level. Forbes said ISSA has consulted with doctors and determined that Class Four-age boys are not mature enough to compete at Champs.

"We take it on advisement from the medical people," he explained. "They have advised that at that age the boys are not physiologically developed to compete at this championship. And, I think, in their wisdom, would have looked at the history of boys in Class Three who, for the most part, were overworked by the coaches and that, in some way and shape and form, must have influenced their decision."