• My eleven, skill,speed,proactive,tough!!! 4-5-1

Gk

Powell-----Mariappa-----Morgan-----taxi man

--------------Austin---------Watson-------------

mcleary-----------Dawkins------------Mcanuff

-------------------Mattocks---------------------

Very mobile, very fast, good dribblers, good passing potential in attack, tough defensive core, tough flanks as well with the macs giving so extra defensive work on flanks pushing attackers to the sharp blade four headed defensive core of ch and dm's.

The only real improvement I can see is adding puncheon over either mcleary or Dawkins, Dawkins defense is weak, so puncheon would add teeth in the middle of the midfield.

For Gold Cup or Copa America?

No, Just based on current talent.

Apparently for the Copa we will not have all of these guys available. For the Gold Cup everyone should be set to go, so this eleven would be as good as it gets. A defending machine in all quarters except at am and forward and on counter fast, agile and all pretty good passers and receivers of the ball as well as individual ball handlers.

I thought the coaches' plan was to use two different squads for each competition.

The squad you listed would be my Gold Cup select. Don't know the traits of some of them these players--but i'll take your word that this group is as good as it gets.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          Gk

Powell-----Mariappa-----Morgan-----taxi man

--------------Austin---------Watson-------------

mcleary-----------Dawkins------------Mcanuff

-------------------Mattocks---------------------

Very mobile, very fast, good dribblers, good passing potential in attack, tough defensive core, tough flanks as well with the macs giving so extra defensive work on flanks pushing attackers to the sharp blade four headed defensive core of ch and dm's.

The only real improvement I can see is adding puncheon over either mcleary or Dawkins, Dawkins defense is weak, so puncheon would add teeth in the middle of the midfield.
          Giles Barnes is a better player than Dawkins so I expect Barnes to get the nod

I contemplated that as well, but since Mattocks went through and produced at Carib cup and last few games I had to give him the nod.

I am not sure about Giles as a lone striker up front, I think he works better in a two man tandem as he has some just great strikes in traffic and outside the area, maybe he could even play the attacking mid role but not sure as I really haven't seen enough of him. He seems very level headed and mature.

Yes that is the coaches plan. I am just listing my best eleven based on what I have seen.

Stoni, for the benefit of all of us, please list each player's Burpee results.

Thanks!

Austin three minutes twenty seconds, Watson three minutes twenty one. mcanuff four minutes flat, him sey he used to do it in less than three before him was thirty.

Rah! Stoni really have the results to bax covah!

I would put my money on them three. taxi look like him is a very competitive man as well.

I contemplated that as well, but since Mattocks went through and produced at Carib cup and last few games I had to give him the nod.

I am not sure about Giles as a lone striker up front, I think he works better in a two man tandem as he has some just great strikes in traffic and outside the area, maybe he could even play the attacking mid role but not sure as I really haven't seen enough of him. He seems very level headed and mature.
                        Giles Barnes is an attacking midfielder who can also play as a striker. I would play him instead of Dawkins behind the main striker (mattocks)

I think he would work great in that role then. I really like what Dawkins did at the Carib cup, between him Mcanuff and Mattocks they rolled the ball in a way I have never seen it roll for a Jamaican team against decent opposition, in Haiti and TNT games, they passed the ball almost at will in the opposition half with some very nice combination plays, many of the passing sequences exceeded six consecutive passes in attack with an opportunity at goal which does not sound like much but is actually quite good for the way this team typically plays which is typically speed down the flank, in this case much buildup flank to midfield and back, more horizontal than vertical, more timing than speed, which is an evolution in how we typically play.

Stoni a question for you. How many games have you seen Giles Barnes play in....both for his club and for Jamaica?
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

About three total, thus my reluctance at this point, but I love what I see so far.