2014 Brasil World Cup: Day 4

• 2014 Brasil World Cup: Day 4

Today is somewhat of a rest day for me. I made it here to Brasilia two days ago, travelling over the Guyana jungle to the border town of Lethem. I will expound on the journey in another post. But believe me when I tell you it has been an absolute blast so far!!!

Saw the Ecuador - Switzerland game yesterday, and felt it for the home team of Ecuador whose supporters outnumbered the Swiss by 10:1, at least! I wore my yellow Jamaica shirt in support of them.

Of course, once others realised we (bredren from Jamaica was there) were from Jamaica, we were all the rage. Everyone wanted to take pictures with us. The only sad part was when they asked, hypocritically, if Jamaica was one of the 32 teams in this year's World Cup. I reminded them that not too long ago we were part of it all. Memba!

For the English-challenged, they repeated the names Bob Marley and Usain Bolt as they bigged us up. For the Swiss, I responded with Federer. Not sure that went over as well as I would have liked!

Brasilia is an astounding beautiful and well-designed city. It is surreal to be in the city designed by the great Ocar Niemeyer, one of two persons whose work inspired me to study architecture and urban planning. The other is Frank Lloyd Wright.

You can drive miles throughout Brasilia and not come to a traffic light. The roads snake over and under each other allowing for interrupted flow almost throughout the entire city. There are even tunnels below the roads to provide for pedestrians.

I am told that no other city has as much green space as Brasilia and it certainly looks that way. The islands between opposing traffic can be as wide as 100m or more. There are sectors for embassies, hotels, and government. And the weather is perfect!

My only problem with Brasil so far is the lack of English-speakers. My Spanish has allowed me to get around, but for a country that has invited the world to this big dance, there should be more English-speakers, if only at hotels, airports and on tours.

Still, I'm loving this place! Beautiful country, and beautiful people!

And ah not even reach Rio yet!!! D

Keep the reports coming. Be careful of those samba 'girls". All that glitter is not gold. Memba me tole yuh.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So far, so good! But communication is difficult! For some, not even my Spanish helps!

Well on a scale of 1 - 10 how do you rate your "Spanish"? Amigo and amiga is not the same. Just like "pork" and "porky" means something different in Jamaican.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Such an unfortunate result for Ecuador. Almost at the last tick of the clock.......

Have fun , enjoy!! (and remember to wear a condom)

LOL!

So far, so good! But communication is difficult! For some, not even my Spanish helps!
              Maybe you are in the wrong city. I read where some of these girls have gone out of their way to learn English in anticipation of the World Cup. Some are even running specials now too.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Really!? That is probably in Rio or Sao Paulo where most of the tourists will be.

To the matches? HL, what do you think I came to Brazil to do?!?

Now you tell me!

Today is somewhat of a rest day for me. I made it here to Brasilia two days ago, travelling over the Guyana jungle to the border town of Lethem. I will expound on the journey in another post. But believe me when I tell you it has been an absolute blast so far!!!

Saw the Ecuador - Switzerland game yesterday, and felt it for the home team of Ecuador whose supporters outnumbered the Swiss by 10:1, at least! I wore my yellow Jamaica shirt in support of them.

Of course, once others realised we (bredren from Jamaica was there) were from Jamaica, we were all the rage. Everyone wanted to take pictures with us. The only sad part was when they asked, hypocritically, if Jamaica was one of the 32 teams in this year's World Cup. I reminded them that not too long ago we were part of it all. Memba!

For the English-challenged, they repeated the names Bob Marley and Usain Bolt as they bigged us up. For the Swiss, I responded with Federer. Not sure that went over as well as I would have liked!

Brasilia is an astounding beautiful and well-designed city. It is surreal to be in the city designed by the great Ocar Niemeyer, one of two persons whose work inspired me to study architecture and urban planning. The other is Frank Lloyd Wright.

You can drive miles throughout Brasilia and not come to a traffic light. The roads snake over and under each other allowing for interrupted flow almost throughout the entire city. There are even tunnels below the roads to provide for pedestrians.

I am told that no other city has as much green space as Brasilia and it certainly looks that way. The islands between opposing traffic can be as wide as 100m or more. There are sectors for embassies, hotels, and government. And the weather is perfect!

My only problem with Brasil so far is the lack of English-speakers. My Spanish has allowed me to get around, but for a country that has invited the world to this big dance, there should be more English-speakers, if only at hotels, airports and on tours.

Still, I'm loving this place! Beautiful country, and beautiful people!

And ah not even reach Rio yet!!! D
                      Bwoy I envy you. Wish I was there!