• Coach blames Under-17s’ collapse on immaturity

Coach blames Under-17s’ collapse on immaturity

Downswell: Young Boyz cracked under pressure
    SANJAY MYERS at
    Monday, April 15, 2013

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2QY6avovC

PANAMA City, Panama — National youth coach Wendell Downswell said lack of experience cost his team a place in the 2013 FIFA Under-17 World Cup to be staged in the United Arab Emirates.

The Jamaicans led twice against Canada on Saturday — including a 2-1 half-time advantage — before a dramatic second-half defensive meltdown saw the Young Boyz conceding three goals inside the final 30 minutes to lose 2-4 at the quarter-final stage of the CONCACAF Under-17 tournament.

Jamaica Under-17 players Tyshan Hill (face covered) and Rushane McClymont are in anguish after they were beaten 4-2 by Canada in their quarter-final match of the CONCACAF Championship in Panama on Saturday. (PHOTO: CARLOS MARTINEZ)

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2QY6lKSQN

When the dust settled, Canada were through to the semi-final and had automatically sealed their berth to the youth football showpiece in Asia, while Downswell was left searching for the missing pieces to the qualification puzzle.

He identified the team's pre-tournament preparation — which was limited, due to the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) budgetary constraints, to matches against mostly sub-par local club teams, as being inadequate.

According to Downswell, the tournament build-up contrasted with the successful World Cup qualifying campaign two years ago when Jamaica had an extensive camp in Brazil, which yielded no less than 20 practice matches against good opposition on high-quality playing surfaces.

"We are extremely disappointed that we could not (qualify)... we were hoping that we could have been part of history by qualifying. We led on two occasions and I think we were let down defensively. At this level, the immaturity of these players came to the fore.

"If you look at these youngsters, they don't play that level of regular competitive football against quality opposition over an extended period of time. Compare that to the North American and Central American teams... most of those players are young professionals.

"Yes, we practised a lot at home, but local football and international football is like night and day, and it was quite evident here and I will continue to echo that sentiment... we tried with what we had, but it comes down to the level of international exposure," Downswell said.

The Young Reggae Boyz, who finished second in Group A with two points in as many matches, started the competition solidly enough, after battling to a 1-1 result with hosts Panama, though being reduced to nine players before the final whistle.

Then they were hailed by the technical staff for showing "tactical awareness".

Two days later, however, Jamaica disappointingly collapsed to a 2-2 result against Caribbean rivals Barbados in a match that exposed some indiscipline across the back four.

Saturday's debacle versus Canada only compounded that sore point. Add to that the number of goals which were conceded throughout all three games after goalkeeper Nicholas Nelson made spectacular saves, or the goal frame came to his rescue.

Central midfielder Ryan Miller, who was handed a two-match suspension after being red-carded in the Panama game, was an obvious missing link in the organisation of the team.

Nevertheless, the squad was highly regarded as a very deep one heading into the tournament.

So why the defensive collapse?

Those who saw the practice sessions in Panama could never argue that Downswell and his long-time assistant Omar Edwards overlooked the defensive aspect. Certainly not with all those routines which were witnessed session after session.

Downswell puts it down to players cracking under "pressure situations".
    "We did the work in training and we went through the videos (replays) and we worked with them, but somehow when the pressure situation arose they didn't respond.

"Playing in a tournament of this magnitude and having scored five goals, but conceding seven goals, was really disappointing. We also conceded three in identical manner (against Canada)... by virtue of rebounds and balls hitting the post.

"Had we played at least six to eight of these (international practice) games we could have identified these weaknesses and these sorts of mistakes. You have to look at it from the perspective that we were really experimenting and learning during the (CONCACAF) tournament itself," he reasoned.

Still, the question lingered as to why crash and burn against Barbados and then Canada, but not against the hugely talented Panamanians, though Jamaica were reduced to 10 players for much of the second period.

Downswell returned to the topic of having a professional mindset and suggested that, at the start of the tournament, the players appeared to be at their best, psychologically.

"Perhaps because we were fresh coming into the tournament and our concentration levels... we maintained that for a good period of time during that (opening) match.

"To concentrate on a regular basis and consistently is not an easy task for them. This is something new for them and we have to take into consideration that they are 15 and 16-year-olds. Yes, other teams are the same age group, but if you look at the years they've spent getting professional training and playing top level games it means they will make better tactical decisions," Downswell said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2QY3EMXlR

Who picks the team?

Coach blames Under-17s’ collapse on immaturity

"To concentrate on a regular basis and consistently is not an easy task for them. This is something new for them and we have to take into consideration that they are 15 and 16-year-olds. Yes, other teams are the same age group, but if you look at the years they've spent getting professional training and playing top level games it means they will make better tactical decisions," Downswell said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2QY3EMXlR
    Then why consistently pick dunces? And what is your role in all this?

I share the views on lack of preparation at a high level but.....

They looked ready to me...mental toughness is up to the coaching staff to instill...

Ready for you and ready for an INT'L coach is a matter of differing perspectives. My concern is the inability to hold the 2-1 lead.

Which Downswell attributed to lack of mental steel...technically the players were ready...as they showed in long spurts...

Did he go in defensive mode (putting the whole team behind the ball)? I did not see the game. I'm assuming he kept it open looking for a third goal.

No they were pressing...the team looked great throughout the tournament for long stretches of time...then they just lost it...they were clobbering Canada...they won every 50/50 ball...were muscling the Canadians off the field and stringing beautiful one touch passes together...then Canada equalized and that was that...

Exactly, was deluded into continue pressing when one's objective was met (to reach the WC). Pull back the team in defensive mode and look only to counter. Ah well.

Ready?
                    ...are you....?

I) Did you see our defenders (back 4) waiting until their opponents had the ball before (at times) challenging for same? If you did, do you still consider them 'prepared'?

ii) Did you see our players on high balls awaiting most times for the ball to hit the ground before playing same? If you did, do you still consider them 'prepared'?

iii) Did you see our players not moving as one entity on attack...i.e. not providing support passing options in front of, besides - right & left - and behind the man on the ball? If you saw that they did not on many, many occasions when Jamaica had the ball, do you still believe they were well prepared?

iv) If on defense you noticed that we never closed down space and passing lanes of the opponents off the ball, do you still believe that we were well 'prepared'?

v) If you noticed our players too often giving away the ball by one of our individual players taking on too many players, do you still believe we were well prepared?

vi) Our TEAM was one of the few that when on attack we were often stretched from on or about the penalty-area of our opponents to on or about the penalty-area we were defending!!! That created not just holes within TEAM structure but chasms! ...do you still consider us prepared?

Example of working along the "sides of the triangle" - U-17 Men US v Honduras 14 April 2013... and Canada v Jamaica game on 13 April 2013

In the US v Honduras game the movement and passing, passing and movement by both sides showed 'preparation'...good preparation!!!

In the Canada v Jamaica game compare the movement and passing of Canada with that of Jamaica. Also pay keen attention to how the Canadian Team moved as a unit and our TEAM had sections moving not the entire unit.

Let me 'explain a little more' - Observe that even when the ball is with the Canadian front men the entire TEAM is more compact that when the similar thing occurs on our team.

Notice how the Canadian players off the ball find 'open spaces'=provide support (passing options) to the man on the ball.

Notice when Canada defends...the TEAM still remains compact ...'come back' as unit.

It is so easy to draw triangles on a 'whiteboard' or chalkboard...'peg' half of field with tall markers...or 'freeze frame' a EPL game using any of the passing teams - GUNNERS, ManCity, BoyU, Chelsea, Swansea... and use a pointer or marker and map the triangles...

It is easy to explain to a class why it always favorable to have the ball being passed around than to dribble...while explaining that dribbling is a great skill to use at the appropriate time. The concept behind pass and move...thinking always of pass always before of dribbling...1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th time...always pass and move/move and pass...

...and why the dribble should be used as surprise weapon. The simple question: If you enter a match 'always passing' it encourages the defender(s) to get in the frame of mind/lulled into looking for the pass...expecting the pass...that is what you always do? Right?

...that is how you would react right?

Now if that pass is always being made whether or not there is 'hard press' on the ball by opponents...would not the opponents always be adjusting to the passes and movement?

What do you think would occur if a swift dribble was interjected?

It is not too difficult to teach youngsters the concept of 'working the triangle' and have them use it consistently through a match...particularly after working with them for many months.

Our failure here shows up our schoolboy, NPL and national teachers/coaches! ...as many of our locals (these U-17 players) are affiliated with both school and NPL team and have had many months under the guidance of those as well as our national coaches.

As God is my witness 2 months with these fit players and they would perform much better than what we saw!!!

*Do we realize that Messi and his teammates each pass and pass and pass and only rarely dribble? ...but when they do it is 'sudden'...not the expected pass which the opponents have been hypnotized into expecting...even as there is the dribble the teammates oof the ball are moving constantly into ever changing positions providing passing options and giving the dribbler that 'split-second'/nanosecond of the opponents hesitation that for them spell doom...

Do not believe - check the videos! Look at compactness of TEAM and movement of those off the ball. Keenly observe the reactions of the defending team members...

Let us think this thing through...it is not hard! ...eenh? ...our players and coaches??? Wah unnuhn she???

Writing lesson plans...but more importantly teaching to lesson plans is a buttah business/the only way to go!

Coming out after elimination from tournaments where your team of players appear 'out of it'/ignorant to 'working the triangles', attacking the ball, etc. and claiming- (matters not how you word it) - our kids are fools...suggests we should look elsewhere for the.... RIGHT??
                    Last edited by Karl; April 15, 2013, 03:51 PM.

Jamaican football is the same.. we blame the players when we dont execute. I saw one half of that game.. This is what I believe going in and I dont know this Canadian team very well other than two players that one year above my group... I thought the Canadian team is better and was surprise to see Jamaica up 2-1... But JA gave away the ball too many times in the middle of the park and was slow to get players behind it. I think that is coaching moreso than anything. The tying goal came on a counter so how can you blame the players when simply you needed to organize the team so they had numbers or if they were doing well attacking continuing to attack. It seems to me that WD40 went with a low back line and the players are not use to or able to play that way... Cant blame them... It s time for Tyrone Marshall and Andy William dem to get some U20 and U17 team.. WD and the Jackie Walters have not done anything for us to keep giving them the blye... so they can tell us it arguers well...

Jwage i saw the game... or at least the second half. i think the CA team is good offensively but they tried to drop off and gave a team who is stronger offensively time with the ball and got burnt.Hindsight is 20/20 and he is right to play without the ball you got to practise and need games... But still it is what it is.

I think we have a better team than both Canada & Panama...this was one of the better technical Jamaican sides I have seen in a long time...they manhandled Canada until the 2-2 equalizer...the problem is that they lost focus at the wrong time...this team gets it technically...

Manhandled, Canada?
                            I do not know what you mean by that.

I can state without any qualms...that we produced 2 moments of brilliance and scored 2 goals but as TEAM we were always 2nd best to CANADA!!!

I will say once more that technically (i.e. when on ball) we were better than Canada on touch...but structure, discipline...cohesiveness as TEAM...Canada was miles ahead and remained so throughout the entire game.

Having said all that - It is SAD!!!! ...but this was our best TEAM showing for the entire tournament!!! ...and the showing as TEAM was pitiful!

We could not and did not keep shape!
                            We could not and did not provide TEAM support for the man on the ball.
                            ...and our defenders allowed...ALLOWED!!!...the Canadians to beat them to (naturally since ALLOWED) easily 'reachable' ball.

Our defense both of individual players and our TEAM **** poor awful! as was out TEAM (cohesiveness) play!!! -- pitful!!!
                            Last edited by Karl; April 15, 2013, 04:46 PM.

Manhandled, Canada?
                              I do not know what you mean by that.

I can state without any qualms...that we produced 2 moments of brilliance and scored 2 goals but as TEAM we were always 2nd best to CANADA!!!
                              In the first half Karl? We outplayed Canada no?