Anyone know how Bill's boys have done over the past year? An update would be great if someone can get him to post.
Moravek Boys Update
Hi Paul...I was contacted via email about your query. Both boys are doing very well. We have been here now for 2.5 years and it has been a good experience. William will be a U12 in the fall and Michael a U10. Secondary school begins for William and under the new EPPP rules, players moving forward are classified as being in either the part time program, hybrid, or full time program. William has been signed to a "full time" which will keep him at the club till age 16 minimum. Unless we decide it isn't for us or he just isn't progressing, then he will be there thru the end of secondary school. Michael is on the year registration still due to his age.
Originally posted by Bill Moravek View PostHi Paul...I was contacted via email about your query. Both boys are doing very well. We have been here now for 2.5 years and it has been a good experience. William will be a U12 in the fall and Michael a U10. Secondary school begins for William and under the new EPPP rules, players moving forward are classified as being in either the part time program, hybrid, or full time program. William has been signed to a "full time" which will keep him at the club till age 16 minimum. Unless we decide it isn't for us or he just isn't progressing, then he will be there thru the end of secondary school. Michael is on the year registration still due to his age."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Unnu nuh realize seh mi dun outline di winin formula fi yute development lang time? No hairy-fairy generalities but an actionable plan focusing on both ball development and academic support fi ballas ..sitttin nuhbaddy else fine important enuff fi mentionLast edited by Don1; June 21, 2013, 03:17 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Is the term DCup a collective for high school football?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Article today in Sports Illustrated about Fulham's Academy and the 4 Americans in it, Emerson Hyndman, Luca De La Torre, William Moravek and Michael Moravek
http://www.si.com/planet-futbol/2014...an-fulhamerica
Another recent article on William and Michael Moravek
http://owhentheyanks.com/2014/09/04/...xt-generation/
Karl,
What say you to this?
"But I think there remains a lack of tactical appreciation, because I think it’s too focused on team and not individual development. What we’re able to do is work with the player on his individual attributes and his needs, and in that way we think we can help them improve more quickly.â€Peter R
Thank you, Bill.
Of course you know I have a bias in hoping your boys make it. Your work in JA and your interest in how we are - (JA's football is..) - progressing is appreciated.
Please always keep us updated on the boys progress.
Good luck to them.
Would love to ask you a few questions on UK football.
Warm regards,
KarlLast edited by Karl; November 14, 2014, 01:11 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostAre you serious? Why would you do this to Bill (and to Karl)?
Why Bricktop would like to compare I do not know. What I do know is, currently in JA we need...desperately need to:-
- i) improve our school's football to professional status (=has nothing to do with salaries & wages...rather attitude and commitment to excellence);
- ii) create at least 4 academies that on structure and teaching/coaching development is comparable to the best in the world.
End of story!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Bill Moravek View PostIn England they actually encourage you to play for your school to a certain point as they see it as a good opportunity to play with different players from the club. In addition the playing surfaces are not always great as well so an opportunity to develop technically on varied surfaces. Of course the Academy is priority one and so long as the school boy stuff doesn't interfere or is an over abundance of playing, then they see it as a positive.
Thanks, Bill.
Aside: I hope Bricktop sees that both can aid development. It boils down to quality of instructions, supporting technical - inclusive of nutrition, psychology, dental and medical, etc., etc. - and other life support systems inclusive of access to age-appropriate education. Delivery in all areas must be top professional grade.
Trus mi A 'ole hout no ope dat Bricktop & Gamma will ever get hit! Dem man deh and others tink delivery of educational instruction his a joke!Let than professional delivery for them is what schools are all about.
God help Jamaica with that type thinking and attitude!!!
...but we fight on in the face of that thinking/those obstacles!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Assasin View PostKids also graduate younger. You are not going to see many 19 year old kids playing for school and especially ones with real talent. They talent is usually invovled in the club game by the lastes 17.
Something Dcup needs to look into.
When is it that 19+ was being allowed to play schoolboy football in JA?
When I attended high school in the 50s & 60s...any 19+ at those 2 schools I attended had to 'watch' the games. No way! No how! Could they play."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Jangle View PostDCup and Manning Cup do not need to look into nor change anything. High school football and a football academy can coexist.
Thank you very much!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Peter R View PostKarl,
What say you to this?
"But I think there remains a lack of tactical appreciation, because I think it’s too focused on team and not individual development. What we’re able to do is work with the player on his individual attributes and his needs, and in that way we think we can help them improve more quickly.â€
...follows the "Psychology course" I took in teachers college. ...and "Methods course" taught as stand alone subject and that taught by "Freddie" Green on Phy. Ed.
Aside:
Early-childhood through adolescence follows a predicted course save rate of progress/at which each child matures differing. The hard part of teaching lies in having a class of kids each unique and thus having unique needs. The teacher's job is to satisfy each need. That requires great focus - attention to details - and physical effort as preparation to fit needs of each member of the class is nuff-nuff work. Have to admit when 'the teacher is on' there is a feeling of tremendous satisfaction as each child's progress is observed. - Vicarious pleasure is knowing...feeling you have impacted and shaped rate of development...assisted on 'this new human's development' ...the flip side is, the work-load at times gets you down. You slacken off. ...later followed by tremendous sense of guilt knowing you short-changed some... Some teachers...too many...hide behind the lousy pay and less than desired teaching environs.
...but back to football:
Development is more than 'kicking a ball properly'...just think football is played with 'the head'.
There must be professional attitude by the teacher/coach. It means careful attention to stages of development as per the psychological and physical...challenging the student/the young footballer as per his/her stage of maturity/development demands.
PS: Strike one for another reason why in JA's case where the teachers are professionally trained on psychology and methods, there is that cost benefit of no additional outlay in those areas...it is addition of improved knowledge in subject area that should be provided by JFF assistance and the teacher's/coach's own quest for self-development within the discipline - teaching of football."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostHas not done anything to me.
Why Bricktop would like to compare I do not know. What I do know is, currently in JA we need...desperately need to:-
- i) improve our school's football to professional status (=has nothing to do with salaries & wages...rather attitude and commitment to excellence);
- ii) create at least 4 academies that on structure and teaching/coaching development is comparable to the best in the world.
End of story!
Gaddammit man Karl, yuh seriously need to get rid of your dial-up internet. Gas price is now averaging under $3 and they are now selling pasteurized milk......in the supermarket at thatHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015