Contrast - ISSA's approach with JFF's approach to garner sponsorship. Possible differences?

• Contrast - ISSA's approach with JFF's approach to garner sponsorship. Possible differences?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>GraceKennedy commits $42M to Champs</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>DANIA BOGLE, Observer staff reporter
    Friday, January 05, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=350 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>GraceKennedy chairman and CEO Douglas Orane (left) in conversation with ISSA president Clement Radcliffe (centre) and Wolmer's Boys' principal Dave Myrie yesterday. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Corporate giant GraceKennedy has come on board as the new title sponsor of the annual Boys' and Girls' Athletic Championships in a partnership worth US$200,000 (J$42 million) over three years.

GraceKennedy and the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) made the announcement yesterday, less than a week after long-time sponsor Victoria Mutual Building Society (VMBS) announced its withdrawal.

The GraceKennedy ISSA Boys' and Girls' Athletic Championships, as the event will be known, will be held from March 28-31 and will cost J$14 million per annum.

The three-month build-up to the event has been dubbed "The Road to Champs" and will feature a number of events showcasing products under the GraceKennedy banner.
    VMBS announced last week that it did not see the Championships as part of its new thrust and withdrew its title sponsorship, ending its 14-year partnership with ISSA, which began in 1992.

ISSA president Clement Radcliffe said it was a coincidence that the school sports governing body and VMBS had adjusted their strategy at the same time and made it necessary for the body to look at other outlets for sponsorship.

"We began to restructure our whole philosophy of this sponsorship, so therefore we look to the other companies that have interest that would be able to look at what we were asking,"he said.

Chairman and chief executive officer Douglas Orane told the Observer that he found ISSA to be a very professionally run body.

"... So when they (ISSA) approached us, we were delighted because we were looking for a way to give back to Jamaica, particularly the young people," he said.

"This event reaches out to young people right across Jamaica so it really is a very mutually beneficial synergistic relationship," Orane added.

GraceKennedy already sponsors the Corporate Area schoolboy cricket competition through the 'Grace Shield' and 'Jamaica International Insurance Company Knockout' competitions.

Meanwhile, Championships Chairman Dave Myrie, who also serves as principal of Wolmer's Boys' School, said security would again be high on this year's agenda.

Independence Park Limited (IPL), the company that manages the National Stadium which houses the event announced late last year that it would be taking over security at the facility by February 1 this year.

Myrie said ISSA and IPL had already held talks regarding the new security plans.

As many as four security companies were placed with the responsibility of last year's meet, and Myrie said most, if not all, measures used last year would again be in place.
    Radcliffe told the Observer that security costs last year had been between J$4-5 million.
    "It will be a separate negotiation and discussion with them (IPL) to cover Champs, over and above the framework that they put in place," he said.
    Meanwhile, GraceKennedy's marketing manager Noel Greenland said the company would be highlighting several of its brands in 14 of the 15 athletic meetings leading to the Championships.
    "Champs for us is not just an event, it's a process, and the process starts today, so we have to capitalise on that," he said.

Greenland told the Observer that fo

RE: Contrast - ISSA's approach with JFF's approach to garner sponsorship. Possible differences?

Even as ISSA seeks the funding it needs was there a concentration on needs of the sponsors?

Ability to reach world audiences/consumers of the sponsor's products given?

Emphasis on showcasing the sponsors products?

When the JFF approaches a sponsor is it; how can we work together to benefit you the sponsor?

I do not know what the JFF does as I have never been privy to any such negotiations for many, many years...but, looking on the 'end product' where publicity and other benefits valuable to the sponsor could have been 'upfront and in your face', as willthis ISSA/GraceKennedy partnership/sponsorship dealthrust on the consumers of GraceKennedy's products...

...I just cannot remember any JFF sponsor getting equivalent 'upfront and in your face' value? Have you?

If the JFF does not go out of its way to initiate offers ofsuch 'upfront and in your face value'/comparable value to its sponsors could that be a reason why the JFF and others such as Siccko'swear' there is no money 'out there'?

Well this Grace Kennedy sponsorship would be a mere drop in the bucket of funds needed by the JFF...but, can we say sponsors as like giving each 'main sponsor' and ear-marked co-sponsors 'a national team to call their own'?

Unnuh dun kno dat mi seh di money hout deh! di JFF mus 'just do it'!

FORWARD!

NB: The JFF has over the years approached the matter of having an international (transnational) sports goods manaufacturer outfitting our national teams.

How about a real good sponsorship deal from one of those 'guys', JFF?