• Bricktop gone pon a prayer misson?

Maradona will review position after Uruguay match

Under-fire Argentina coach Diego Maradona, unhappy with interference in his job, says he will review his position after their final World Cup qualifier away to Uruguay in Montevideo next week.

GettyImages
    Maradona has struggled so far in World Cup qualifying.

Maradona said his appointment a year ago had made him "the happiest guy in the world, but then things happened that I didn't like."
    "If I carry on, it will be on my terms," Maradona told reporters after a squad practice, adding he would discuss the job with Argentine Football Association president Julio Grondona.
    Local media said Maradona, whose team are in danger of failing to qualify for the 2010 finals in South Africa, was unhappy that technical director Carlos Bilardo had taken decisions without consulting him. Bilardo, coach when Argentina won the World Cup in 1986, reportedly publicised a squad list of home-based players for a friendly against Ghana last week without consulting Maradona.
    Maradona returned from a 10-day break in Italy and told reporters he was in sole charge and "no-one imposes players on me".
    Maradona's anger came to the surface when asked about a muscle injury to Manchester City defender Pablo Zabaleta, who arrived in Buenos Aires on Tuesday morning with striker Carlos Tevez after they played in a Premier League match on Monday. He had wanted the pair not to play the match against Aston Villa to avoid injuries.
    "We missed the boat. Someone should have travelled (to England) to bring them. We have two very important matches and it hurts me a lot, but we have to live with it," he said.
    Meanwhile, the war of words that often precedes critical matches took a twist on Tuesday when striker Carlos Tevez hit out at Argentines who question the players' commitment to the national team.
    "Do they think that when I go out to play for the national team I'm thinking of the millions I have in the bank? I don't need to be given money to play in the national team," Tevez said.
    Speaking to reporters on arrival in Buenos Aires from England, Tevez said the Argentina players gave everything when they turned out for their country.
    Maradona has been under pressure since his team faltered in the qualifiers, going down to three successive defeats against Ecuador, Brazil and Paraguay.
    Argentina face Peru in Buenos Aires on Saturday and Uruguay away on Wednesday of next week. They are currently fifth in the South American group, a position valid for a play-off with the team finishing fourth in the CONCACAF region; but could miss out on the tournament completely - for the first time since 1970 - if they slip-up against either side.

I wonder how he will "manage" without his earrings?

Interference? Burrell gone a Argentina now?