That is not even my point, I never contended that JC/Ruel Reid should allow the boy to run, my point was simply that Reid handled the PR aspect rather poorly and exposed the student to ridicule, insult and embarrassment
Walker won't Run at Champs as JC takes the High Road
Originally posted by Sickko View PostThat is not even my point, I never contended that JC/Ruel Reid should allow the boy to run, my point was simply that Reid handled the PR aspect rather poorly and exposed the student to ridicule, insult and embarrassment
I am sorry for the kid, but right now I I focused on Wolmers. Our back is to the wall, we have no margin of error, if we drop the baton this year or pull a muscle then its going to cost us Boys champs. The last thing that we want to hear is that Calabar and KC pick up a few points because another school has withdrawn a student.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
As I also stated already, it was well known that the youth's book work since Primary School was never that great and some are asking how did he get to be placed at JC and how did he get to stay there so long if his book work was not improving.
True, some thing fishy, wonder if we can get KD Knights to ask Mr Reid some questions...Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
What questions is he going to ask him?
It appears to me that Mr Reid was very forthright in his comments, isn't that what reporters want? an honest answer?
And, if you are concerned about the youth's emotional state, why would you want to dig up his past? It doesn't take rocket-science to figure out that a. he was allowed to run while under-performing which might have led to an ultimatum for this year or b. he did have the academic credentials to participate in the past.
I don't see the rest of dunces who are running ridiculing the young man, they are more likely thanking their "lucky" stars that they attend a school that places no value on academic performance.
What the school and Mr Reid need to do, and I can't see why they wouldn't, is to give as much support to the young man as he needs to raise his academic performance, otherwise, the opportunities his athletic abilities give him may be lessened.Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostWhat questions is he going to ask him?
It appears to me that Mr Reid was very forthright in his comments, isn't that what reporters want? an honest answer?
And, if you are concerned about the youth's emotional state, why would you want to dig up his past? It doesn't take rocket-science to figure out that a. he was allowed to run while under-performing which might have led to an ultimatum for this year or b. he did have the academic credentials to participate in the past.
I don't see the rest of dunces who are running ridiculing the young man, they are more likely thanking their "lucky" stars that they attend a school that places no value on academic performance.
What the school and Mr Reid need to do, and I can't see why they wouldn't, is to give as much support to the young man as he needs to raise his academic performance, otherwise, the opportunities his athletic abilities give him may be lessened.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
if you don't know his situation last year you have no basis to hold that opinionLast edited by Don1; March 25, 2011, 06:04 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
you have a vivid imagination... one likkle Champs victory in 40 years(?) look like it gone to yuh head... if your favorite team doesn't win...who cares which other team does? The team that wins should be the best team..no?
If the JC Principal is asked about the athlete who has poor grades...he should mislead the public to believe that the kid is injured?
Mi expec betta dan dat nonsense fram yuhTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Peter R View PostWhat questions is he going to ask him?
What the school and Mr Reid need to do, and I can't see why they wouldn't, is to give as much support to the young man as he needs to raise his academic performance, otherwise, the opportunities his athletic abilities give him may be lessened.
bad mind ah kill dem... but JC used to datTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View Postyou have a vivid imagination... one likkle Champs victory in 40 years(?) look like it gone to yuh head... if your favorite team doesn't win...who cares which other team does? The team that wins should be the best team..no?
If the JC Principal is asked about the athlete who has poor grades...he should mislead the public to believe that the kid is injured?
Mi expec betta dan dat nonsense fram yuh
I don't know whether or not the principal was aware of the injury rumour and I never said that the principal should mislead the public (or lie to the public,) but I do understand your point. Just to be clear, I was suggesting that he could have refused to comment the matter.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Time View PostJust to be clear, I was suggesting that he could have refused to comment the matter.
It would be also unworthy of a fine leadership tradition the school enjoys and sees as a responsibility.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Sickko View PostSo Time it would not matter to you if Munro (no e) won Champs then?
However I have to be realistic, my 'non Wolmerian experts' have told me that JC is the team to beat this year and neither the Wolmerian or non Wolmerian experts have mentioned Munro, they all agree that the top four teams are Wolmer's, JC, Calabar and Kingston College. As usual its only we Wolmerians believe that Wolmers can win.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Really, saying nothing (publicly) would have denied the student an invaluable lesson regarding the primacy of eucation? The fact that he and his parents and the school knows that he was barred because he was unqualified to complete under ISSA rules would not be good enough?The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
no... we will not abdicate our leadership responsibilityTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE