• 411, a Julien Dunkley, American based

Jamaican athlete positive!
    ---
    Julien Dunkley tests positive!
    -----
    July 28
    Track & field- News

Sprinter Julien Dunkley is the athlete being fingered as testing positive for an unnamed performance enhancing substance at Jamaica’s National Championships in June.
    President of the Jamaica Olympic Association, (JOA) Mike Fennell has not given a name, but said he had pulled the athlete from the 53 member list that was submitted only last week.

Dunkley’s name is the only one deleted from Jamaica’s team posted on the JOA website. He finished sixth in the 100meters and was selected as an alternate for the 400metres relay.

Dunkley, 32, did not pass through the high school system in Jamaica and was never involved in the sport in the island. He is based in the United States where he attended East Carolina University (ECU) by way of Westbury, New York, and won the NCAA indoor 60metres title in his senior year, 2003. The title was stripped from him a few weeks later by the NCAA ‘for an unknown reason.’

Below are three paragraphs taken from the Bonesville.net, a fan site of the ECU which indicates that Dunkley has been a troublemaker in the sport before.

"The NCAA has ruled an ECU student-athlete ineligible for the 2003 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships," the statement said, adding: "This ruling mandates the forfeiture of this individual's first-place performance in the finals of the 60-meter dash." The ruling became official late last week.

Citing provisions in the Federal Privacy Act, an East Carolina official noted that the school could not disclose reasons for Dunkley's ineligibility.

Among potential infractions that could prompt the NCAA to strip away a title would be a belated discovery that the athlete was not academically eligible to compete when the event took place or a failure by the athlete to pass a drug test.

Interestingly, according to reports, Dunkley was coached by Trevor Graham each Wednesday before he went on to win the NCAA title in 6.54, only .02 outside of the record then. After the incident Dunkley turned professional and went on to be coached by Trevor Graham who is now banned from coaching anywhere in the United States because of his connections to athletes who have tested positive for performance enhancing substances. The now infamous pair of Marion Jones and Tim Montgomery was his training partners at the time. Dunkley is now listed as a member of Executive Track Club based in North Carolina.

Dunkley has bests of 10.07 done in Provo, Utah, in May this year and 20.63 done in 2003.
    Jamaica has attracted much criticism recently as there was no government-organised testing being done locally. The law to institute testing was passed only last week.
    This is the second positive coming from Olympic trials as Sprinter Steve Mullings, who won the 200 metres at the same meet in 2004, was banned for two years after testing positive for testosterone. Mullings was student of Mississippi State University at the time.

Earl Bailey
    Editor -
    www.JamaicaWin.com

Phew!!!! I was worried for a minute. I guess this justifies the FACT that our local-based athletes are clean. This ya bredda probably just is affiliated to Jamaica through his great grandparents. Me neva hear bout him yet. Imposter!!!
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Man tek drugs fi come 6th ??!

Sad...

Phew!!!! I was worried for a minute. I guess this justifies the FACT that our local-based athletes are clean. This ya bredda probably just is affiliated to Jamaica through his great grandparents. Me neva hear bout him yet. Imposter!!!
        Umm ... behaving like the Canadians now Jangle? If that youth had gone on to win a gold medal at the Olympics, would you label him an Imposter? By the way, Marlon King and the other UB40s are Imposters as well?

Good point, Maudib (LOL)!!

Man tek drugs fi come 6th ??!

Sad...
          Maudib, you have me laughing!! I suspect I'll be laughing all day whenever I remember your comment above!

Good one, bro!

How yuh suh wikid !

Cho..

All mi waan know is HOW wi pass di Marijuana test dem ???

then mi hear say a steriod that them use fi horse him use. The easiest form to detect.

Unnu sure a nuh something else him take if fah? Come on now BenJ you might know cause you say a viagra or Watermellon a lick.

Lazie the fact is the North American Media and British Media is searching for a Jamaican based ahtlete to taint so hence the phew!!!.

Yuh haffi check Mosiah fi dat one...

then mi hear say a steriod that them use fi horse him use. The easiest form to detect.

Unnu sure a nuh something else him take if fah? Come on now BenJ you might know cause you say a viagra or Watermellon a lick.
                      If I'm not mistaken, Ben Johnson's alleged steroid was also a type used on horses.

when he won he was canadian...when he was disgraced he was jamaican born..... WTF ..... fling it back at them yes! who hates who?!!!

at one time or another i used to have some dealings with a usa athlete who was involved in the atlanta olympics and fromher college days she would say (only half in jest) there are too many damn jamaicans on the college circuit .....lucky for me i wasn't on THAT college circuit....

dealings ??

dealings!

Rumor has it that when Steve Mullings came for that Trials in 2004, he had a big "werks" fe go up pon dat's why he took some horse tonic. Hey we have some champion horse inna JamDown weh need some tonic fe go up pon.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015