Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 A BRAZILIAN BY METAMORPHOSIS
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Mar 30 2005 :  7:42:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage  Reply with Quote
A BRAZILIAN BY METAMORPHOSIS

The midwife who delivered my brother (Antonio) and I (Junio) swore that we both spoke at birth. My brother reportedly exclaimed, “ Brazil ”, and I undoubtedly said, “Pele”. There and then, although born Jamaicans, naturalized Americans, we became Brazilians by metamorphosis.

We think Brazilian, and profess to have every Brazil World Cup game since the granddaddy of all World Cups, Mexico , 1970. Players were Gods, then. Edson Arantes Do Nascimento, Gerson, Revelino, Jairzino, Carlos Alberto, Tastao, Caldoaldo, and of course, Mario Zagalo.

We, my brother and I, are not just “Reggae Boyz”, we are “Samba Warriors”, and also proud members of the “Tartan Army”. We never thought that in our lifetime, we would see Jamaica qualify for the World Cup Finals, and play the Brazil senior team. Twice. Well, we have been there and done those. So what’s all the fuss about this November 17 must win game? It will come to pass, and it must happen because the most Reverent Miller prayed for it. Besides, there is a Brazilian at the control.

Today, we will wear our Reggae Boyz hat and pursue that pertinent question that Oral Tracy raised on his 30 seconds prime-time program recently. Ya mon, the same Oral Tracy whe tek whe mi friend work, and tun round dis de big man. A talk bout, “Boy’s Town, a gone lef yu”. To hear manager, coach, balla Tracy tell it, he would bench the whole team. Balla Tracy would bench “Tappa” because his legs gone, sit “Pepe” for being too slow, and pull Claude Davis because him too wild.

With the absence of Claudio Reyna from the US squad (injury), and the inclusion of Jason Euell to the Jamaican aggregation, the November 17 World Cup qualifier presents a glorious opportunity for Jamaica to score its first win over the “Tartan Army” at any level. Although Bruce Arena no doubt wants to maintain this ominous record, he may use this game to look at some new players as any good coach would. Of the players presently in camp in Ohio , only four played against Jamaica last August (Keller, McBride, Donovan, and Ching).

Not one to agree with balla Tracy on anything, he does have a point about Whitmore’s inability to play 90 minutes as a midfielder at the international level. As a tactical matter, playing 4-3-3 with “Tappa” as one of the three midfielders is very illogical considering his low work rate and lack of pace in that sector. With Euell added to midfield alongside Hyde, and most likely Andy Williams, the skipper could very well be the odd man out. Unless my fellow Brazilian decides to use “Tappa” up front with Fuller and King. After all, Whitmore has looked rather dangerous in attack lately, and has a history of scoring goals on big occasions.

Against the US last August at the “Office”, Jamaica played exceptionally well for the first half. The Reggae Boyz displayed patience, showed collective composure, and maintained possession very intelligently. The play was switched from side-to-side instinctively and logically, and the technique was of the highest order. That wonderful first half is the key to winning this crucial game. Study that tape and reproduce those special moments. Above all, make the necessary adjustments that led to the ugly second half.

Anyway my fellow Brazilian, Sabastio, Laza, a word to the very wise; Jamaicans regard qualifying for the World Cup Finals as their divine right, and will settle for nothing less. That’s why you are here for your second coming. But Laza, when you leave for Ohio on Monday morning, please, tek your toothbrush wid yu. For if you lose deh one ya, dawg nyam yu supper. - Emperor -

Karl
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.05 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000