My two favorite reggaeboyz & Objectivity
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2002 :  2:18:44 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Are we fickle minded? Of course we are! We scream for objectivity and claim that we are and that we are balance and report the facts. Do we ever stop to think that presenting half the facts isn’t exactly being objective. Neither is presenting selective portions of the fact.

Lets look at this author’s two favorite Reggaeboyz, Stephen “Shorty” Malcolm and Onandi “The Big Man” Lowe. Lets look at the popular views of these two players among fans of the reggaeboyz. Aside from the sentiments being poured out now because of his untimely passing most people think that Shorty never belong on the reggaeboyz team. Those who accept his being there do so because they thought he made up for is deficiencies with his strengths, however limited they may have been. They accepted his game for what they know it is. That is all well and good, after all, parts make up a whole and you have to organize the parts of that whole so that they function to achieve the desired result, based on your knowledge of the functionality of the parts correct?

Now lets look at Onandi. A player who unlike Malcolm has been lauded with accolades from his days representing the age group teams to his eventual rise to the senior team. Along this journey everyone who ever saw him play can agree on a number of things, that he is an exceptional talent that performs creditably well wherever he is asked to perform on the field and that he is a very temperamental human being. Well who isn’t? Though some may be in control of their emotions under most circumstances, fact is there are some (including Onandi) who aren’t and are likely to explode at any given moment. For quite some time now he has assumed the role of center forward for both country and club where he has been very successful, banging in goals at a very high rate.

Despite his prolific scoring exploits there are those who don’t think or don’t whish to make that the highlight of this point in his career. Some people can only picture the temperamental Nandi, even though they have nothing to support that for close to or over a year. Others think that he can be much better and should be. Ok, true, but does that take away from how he is being now? Should praises for his current exploits be put on hold until he reaches his full potential or should they be tarnished by “him can duh betta man”? While there are those who simply play down his exploits as been under achievement because of where he plays.

The amount of excuses some people make for other players and members of staff of the Reggaeboyz makes you wonder why those same people never make an excuse for Onandi. Lets say Shorty jumped to head a ball and missed (as an example of making an excuse for a player), you might hear people say “sorry Shorty a chue yu short y’nuh my youth”. You may never hear anyone ask why didn’t he back off or turn and run to try to get in a better position knowing that he is so short. However, if Onandi took a shot to goal and it went high, wide or to the goalkeeper most people will point out five other Reggaeboyz who he could have passed to instead of saying good try or get it on target next time or any encouraging chant along those lines. If he scored one goal in a match he should have scored three, if he didn’t score he caused us to lose or not to win because he was selfish and stopped everybody else from scoring (he must be defending for the other team).

Romario at the height of his career faced Warren Barret and got no less that six clear chances at goal. He managed to tuck one past him and before people ridicule him like they would Lowe for only scoring one of six they praised Barrett for good goalkeeping. Yes, Barrett deserved all the praise for good goalkeeping but why cant we be the same when the forward involve is Onandi Lowe.

I may be overlooking something, please point it out to me if I am, but it seems to me that Onandi can do nothing that is worthy of praise for that particular thing by many of us. It has to be preempted by “what he could be if” and even being a center forward who might score a goal or two in a match does not absolve him from taking the blame if the team loses 2-1 or 3-2. Ok well yes it is a team and all should shoulder the blame if the team loses but I am saying that is not the case with some of us, for some of us the reason we lose is Onandi Lowe- even if he was our only scorer.

We need to stop!

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

ItalJockey
Starting Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2002 :  7:43:11 PM  Show Profile  Visit ItalJockey's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Emperor, i just cannot understand man like you who like to paint Nandi as a saint. the man do the occasional good for the side yes, but he also offset what is done with his irresponsible and selfish behavior on the field. To write off his antics as just been temperemental is just falling short of comical! Do you remember how he head butted that player in Honduras and got sent off?

Also, to compare him with Romario just another act of comedy on your part! Emperor, i usually see you as a sensible and grounded individual, not one who jumps on bandwagon just for the sake of it.

Nandi can be a world class player if he so desires. Presently he is not and is nowhere near that category. A player like nandi until he starts commiting his game to the Reggaeboyz and not playing for himself, he will just not get the ratings in my book.

Reggaeboyz have a lot of individual talent. We however need players who will play for the team and do their all for the success of the team. And yes, I mean Fuller too.

Respect,
IJ

Edited by - ItalJockey on Aug 16 2002 20:55:00
Go to Top of Page

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2002 :  12:50:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:

Emperor, i just cannot understand man like you who like to paint Nandi as a saint. the man do the occasional good for the side yes, but he also offset what is done with his irresponsible and selfish behavior on the field. To write off his antics as just been temperemental is just falling short of comical! Do you remember how he head butted that player in Honduras and got sent off?

Also, to compare him with Romario just another act of comedy on your part! Emperor, i usually see you as a sensible and grounded individual, not one who jumps on bandwagon just for the sake of it.

Nandi can be a world class player if he so desires. Presently he is not and is nowhere near that category. A player like nandi until he starts commiting his game to the Reggaeboyz and not playing for himself, he will just not get the retings in my book.

Reggaeboyz have a lot of individual talent. We however need players who will play for the team and do their all for the success of the team. And yes, I mean Fuller too.

Respect,
IJ

try and overstand what i am saying before you reply with such emotions king. BTW thanks for thinking of me as such a person.

I am not trying to say that Nandi is a saint or imply that, if you read that in my article i may have done a poor job because i never intend for its readers to draw that conclusion. i am simply saying that the man is definitely doing a whole lot of good now that in itself is worthy of positive recognition. however, there are a lot of people like you rider, who can't bring yourselves to saying well done Nandi because of things he may have done in the past. question, how long before you forgive him for his past behavior? another, when last he behaved in way worthy of punishment and or ridicule? by all indications he seems to be a changing person but that was not the center of my debate. it simply is, say well done Nandi when he does well.

I think i may have really done a bad job if you saw me comparing Nandi to Romario. I was simply saying when another forward miss a ton a goal (i just happen to choose Romario here) instead of crucifying him we big up the goalie for the saves (which is all good). however, had that forward been Nandi instead of bigging up the goalie we cuss him and say all manner of evil about him.

i hope that clear it up some for the I.

Nandi a saint- please! and I am an ancient Pharoh

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2002 :  3:01:19 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:

however, there are a lot of people like you rider, who can't bring yourselves to saying well done Nandi

But, Emperor what you just said is not correct. Read ItalJockey's article again and you will see that he criticizes and praises 'Nandi.

Importantly he emphasises 'Nandi can be much better if he works at that "becoming much better". A necessary encouragement to 'Nandi to utilize his talent to the fullest! That exhortation to 'Nandi tells that ItalJockey has seen the potential for greater playing ability and suggests work hard to make it happen.

So the reponse from ItalJockey Criticizes, Praises and Encourages!

When the Emperor, and others, respond to "sayings" such as ItalJockey's by ignoring the "praise" and "encouragement" and attempt to foster the impression that there is no "praise" it detracts from an attempt(s) to have "reasoned" debate.

Karl
Go to Top of Page

ItalJockey
Starting Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2002 :  9:28:53 PM  Show Profile  Visit ItalJockey's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Karl thanks for opening the eyes of the emperor to my thinking.

Emperor, take a read at what Craig Brown had to say about Fuller the other day.

FOOTBALL: BOSS CAN'T GIVE FULLER PASS MARK Aug 15 2002

GREEDY Ricardo Fuller has been warned by Preston boss Craig Brown to start playing for the team.

Brown said: "I've told Fuller he might be the man of the match and all that crap but that he's playing for Preston, not Fuller."

Ex-Hearts loan star Fuller, an £800,000 summer signing from Jamaican outfit Tivoli Gardens, hasn't fallen out with the former Scotland boss, though.

Brown said: "Ricardo is a lovely guy - he takes it on the chin. He said, `I'm sorry coach, sorry - okay coach.'

"Then I pointed out that Jambos new boy Mark de Vries had scored four goals against Hibs and that Hearts had turned the corner since they got rid of him!

"Ricardo described the de Vries goals as tap-ins. He's a wonderful character - he just needs to release the ball more."

Imagine what he would say to a Nandi. All I am saying is Nandi needs to learn that he is doing things for the team, just as CB remind Fuller that he plays for PNE, not Fuller.

Fuller and Nandi are great players. They only need to learn to put their team first. at least fuller is working with brown who will tell him like it is.

Emperor i am sure you can overstan why nuff man nuh big up nandi recent exploits? Would you be going overboard if your son was overachieving at a level well below his capability? Nandi should be a 6th former, but he is tearing it up in 3rd form. What is there to cheer about?

We haffi raise the bar brethren.

IJ

Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.08 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000