Author |
Topic |
|
Charmin
Starting Member
40 Posts |
Posted - Jun 25 2001 : 1:32:45 PM
|
In our quest for a second consecutive appearance in the W/Cup finals, which is due to be played in Japan/Korea next year. Rene Simoes, our former Brasilian Technical Director, called our our effort, this time around, the "Orient Express". But yet still anyone who are deemed a non-committed supporter is labled to be a "Waggonist". Why?
Now, who is a "Waggonist" you may ask, and what does it mean? Truthfully, it means just about any and everything. And any and everyone could be labeled a "Waggonist".
But if it is an "Express" a train to be exact. What are the die hard supporters called? "Expressionist" or a "Trainist". But somehow that doesn't sound right. Does it?
If a non-committed supporter is a "Waggonist". Then what are the die hard supporters called?
And why the term "Waggonist" when it is a train and not a wagon.
Anyone out there, please tell me what are the "Soca Warriors" traveling on? Because at this moment I see this little fishing boat slowly sinking in the sea:-). But tan, I now feel the "Orient" shaking violently of late. And only a victory come Saturday will steady her has she goes on her merry way to Japan/Korea.
Good Luck Reggae Boyz, our best wishes are with you all. Both players and coahing staff.
Respect and irie ites! Charmin
|
|
Diziah
Starting Member
USA
33 Posts |
Posted - Jun 25 2001 : 7:08:34 PM
|
Charmin, dem have some likkle fool fool man who like big up themselves, who use forum fi show seh dem ah di biggest fan. As far as I am concerned, they are just self serving and just want to be in the spotlight. what does it matter if a man dont know the players by nicknames, or if a man dont go to training and coach know you by first name? every man will support the team in their own way, and most might be limited by economic, time constraint, distance and other means.
mam an man must encourage support and not be too quick to point finger as to who nuh support like me. in reality, it will never happen when every reggae boyz fan support in the same way. As a matter of fact, I challange any of them BIG SUPPORTER to show me a team where every fan support the team in the same way.
The finger pointing thing and name calling thing must stop, especially that those who perpetrate those actions are in the minority.
|
|
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Jun 26 2001 : 11:58:11 PM
|
Charmin: I get the point. :-)
Forums have persons with diferent views expressing themselves. Getting in a rage is a waste. We all have to just read and enjoy or move on.
Peace!
Does support mean saying everything is fine when it is and also when it is not?
To answer my own question...I don't think so!
If you encourage and praise when it is due...and also point out faults and suggest solutions when the situation demands it...contributing whatever you can to aid the cause or arrive at the goal...in my mind that is a true supporter.
But, support comes in different forms...and it is not about who provides more support...rather it is simply about providing (some) support.
Myself?
I am grateful for all the support shown. Those who want to quantify the level/degree of support of others? How do you do that?
Was it the "Good Book" that had a story about a widow's mite?
In my mind to question the support of individuals is showing a streak of ungratefulness.
We all want the Reggae Boyz to get to the big dance...and I believe we'll....notice "we'll"...be there!
Forward! Long Live Shorty!
Karl |
|
|
|
Topic |
|
|
|