Topic |
|
Diziah
Starting Member
USA
33 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 07:17:51 AM
|
The first is our midfield. Tappa and Andy just not cutting it as attacking midfielders. The occasional turn and spin by Andy or Tappa with a couple pretty shift is not helping our cause. We need players in the midfield who can dictate the pace and outcome of the game. We need playmakers and none of them fits the bill right now.
If you buy bargain basment products from a dollar store, expect to get bargain basment performance. Our TD is out of his league in this competition, and we will not make it under his guidance and coaching philosophy. A coach needs to know when his tactics are not working. He also needs to know to apply strategies to counter the opposing team's strategy.
If this is what de Oliveria brings to the table, we might be better off with Carl Brown in the position. |
|
Portia
Starting Member
USA
18 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 07:51:33 AM
|
Diziah, to add to your comments I have a problem with Clovis' sub timing. Why not start Ricardo Fuller and bring Burton off the bench. Since Burton is busy as hell, but not producing any shot at the goals, muchless goals, lets give a hungry fuller a chance nuh? We played our hearts out, but we were not cohesive as a team. Usually our defense is quite impressive, but last night we made a lot of blunders. Why did our defenders keep on allowing the CR to regain control of the ball after the goalie kick it out or we throw it in? Thats dangerous!! BTW>>How many yellow cards did we collect in total?
respect
Portia
|
|
|
Lyod
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 07:57:16 AM
|
Well, i think no matter how Tappa or Andy plays they are always gonna be lamed for the losses. I think they played a good game. The coach not making the right substitutions.
The problem is that our midfielders are Forwards, so the play up front. We have no defending midfielders. That's why the defense is breached so easily. In last nights match, you could spot the gaping holes in the defensive midfield time after time.
With all the cards accumulated lastnight, we should finallt see the TD make some changes.
|
|
|
Portia
Starting Member
USA
18 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 09:08:58 AM
|
True Lyod, maybe the yellow cards are a blessings in disguise. Now we WILL have to see some changes. How will we know who can generate goals for us, we dont try a change? I would rather fail trying new strategy, then fail with the same old tactics.
respect
Portia
|
|
|
Tillamawnin
USA
197 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 12:12:58 PM
|
quote:
Well, i think no matter how Tappa or Andy plays they are always gonna be lamed for the losses. I think they played a good game. The coach not making the right substitutions.
The problem is that our midfielders are Forwards, so the play up front. We have no defending midfielders. That's why the defense is breached so easily. In last nights match, you could spot the gaping holes in the defensive midfield time after time.
With all the cards accumulated lastnight, we should finallt see the TD make some changes.
Lyod: I agree with you that if we lose midfielders are always the ones to be blamed. The reason for this is the pivotal role that midfield play in the running of your offensive and defensive strategies.
I will agree with Diziah that Whitmore and Andy are not giving us the best type of service we can get form our attacking midfielders. As Diziah said, we only get a few fancy dribbles from Tappa, but no constructive play. This for one is what is killing our goal scoring chances, as our forwards are not getting the type of service consistently enough to put our opponents under pressure.
Also, good attacking mid-fielders, not only create opportunities for their teammates, but also create for themselves if given the opportunity. When was the last time you can remember Whitmore take a shot on goal which required any serious effort from the goalkeeper?
I will not even touch the Clovis and his shortcomings issue. He too has to take some of the blame for the spot we find ourselves in.
Respect, Tilla
__________________________________________________ An eye for an eye, would make the whole world blind.
Ghandi |
|
|
ShattaCleve
USA
73 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 1:31:32 PM
|
We have attacking midfielders that can take shots(Milton Griffiths) but it seems as if these guys are indespensable and since Milton was in Cargills doghouse from Harbor View he will never be called even to trials.
Memba when Jawge told us that we were regressing? We have JJ he kicks shots from outside and he attacks the defense where is Jermaine Johnson?
Of course we are going to hear the same lame excuses from the massive. Tilla allow me to do the honors "those guys have no experience blah blah blah" So how the hell do they get experience without playing? Well we can't play them in Qualifiers well what about friendlies and a damn B-Team? We don't have the money
and the fu&^%$ing excuses go on I am happy for the loss at least now we will see development and have people start asking questions. If we miss this world cup it will give us the opportunity to open our eyes and see things for what it is as I think that this world cup run has blinded us.
We need to stay home and build for the future
|
|
|
Portia
Starting Member
USA
18 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 4:09:51 PM
|
Shatta, even if we stay home, we will learn from it and start to build for the future?
respect
Portia
|
|
|
tsam
Starting Member
USA
3 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 6:23:04 PM
|
[Tappa, Andy and Coach deserve blame. The forwards are not getting the good balls from the midfield; and when the forwards are covered the midfielders are not attacking. We need Gardener in midfield to attack, he is doing it 9 months per year for his club. Think about this - in 5 games our forwards and midfielders combined have registered just 1 goal, the worst among the 6 teams. Coach! Coach! we need some changes - strategy, players, positions.] The first is our midfield. Tappa and Andy just not cutting it as attacking midfielders. The occasional turn and spin by Andy or Tappa with a couple pretty shift is not helping our cause. We need players in the midfield who can dictate the pace and outcome of the game. We need playmakers and none of them fits the bill right now.
If you buy bargain basment products from a dollar store, expect to get bargain basment performance. Our TD is out of his league in this competition, and we will not make it under his guidance and coaching philosophy. A coach needs to know when his tactics are not working. He also needs to know to apply strategies to counter the opposing team's strategy.
If this is what de Oliveria brings to the table, we might be better off with Carl Brown in the position. [/quote]
|
|
|
tsam
Starting Member
USA
3 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 6:23:36 PM
|
[Tappa, Andy and Coach deserve blame. The forwards are not getting the good balls from the midfield; and when the forwards are covered the midfielders are not attacking. We need Gardener in midfield to attack, he is doing it 9 months per year for his club. Think about this - in 5 games our forwards and midfielders combined have registered just 1 goal, the worst among the 6 teams. Coach! Coach! we need some changes - strategy, players, positions.] The first is our midfield. Tappa and Andy just not cutting it as attacking midfielders. The occasional turn and spin by Andy or Tappa with a couple pretty shift is not helping our cause. We need players in the midfield who can dictate the pace and outcome of the game. We need playmakers and none of them fits the bill right now.
If this is what de Oliveria brings to the table, we might be better off with Carl Brown in the position. [/quote]
|
|
|
pluto
Starting Member
USA
17 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 8:44:07 PM
|
Well, all we can do now, is hope and pray for the best.
But if I was the coach, I would implement the following changes.
- 1. Fuller should start
- 2. Hyde should start
- 3.bench Andy
- 4.Have a real soul searching discussion session with all the players. In an effort of trying to determine if they really want to go to the world cup and whether they are ready play as team.
- 6. Start Gardner in an Attacking midfielder position, with instruction to shoot at the slightess opening.
Did you all notice the behaviour of the Jamaican players during the power outage. They weren't stretching, not much talking to each. There was one clique here and another over there. They just seem very unprofessional. If I was in that situation I would be taking advantage of the break to find out what strategy to employ for an equalizer.
Anyway, it's time to break out the obeah Drums and all the other Oils. We will need all the help we can to quailify.
PLus, Withmore, obviously does not like playing with Andy in my opinion. I think he has much more respect for Hyde, afterall he plays in the English leagues.
Respeck
|
|
|
Portia
Starting Member
USA
18 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 10:08:06 PM
|
Pluto, I do not support the benching of Andy. He worked his tail off in both matches inspite of the results.
respect
|
|
|
Tillamawnin
USA
197 Posts |
Posted - Jun 21 2001 : 10:44:14 PM
|
quote:
Pluto, I do not support the benching of Andy. He worked his tail off in both matches inspite of the results.
respect
Portia, it is not just about working hard, it is also about working smartly. He and Whitmorre not providing us with the offensive spark we need. It might not be necessary to replace them both, but we need to try something different. We just cannot have two spark plugs in the same engine misfiring, one is bad enough.
Tilla |
|
|
pluto
Starting Member
USA
17 Posts |
Posted - Jun 22 2001 : 09:02:48 AM
|
Portia, Andy works hard, but he aint effective. He shows flashes of brilliance at times, but that's not good enough. We need discipline and highly professional player like Hyde to complement Withmore. Andy is apoor defender, he is short, and make too many wayward passes.
Did you notice how in the last fifteen minutes Withmore started to play wiht a lot more focus once Hyde came on? I think they have better understanding. Hyde is so much better of a defender than Andy.Hyde is more systematic player who know his role and his a lot more patient. Andy just wants to make big home run pass. We need patient and tactically sound midfield players.
The combination of Lowe, Fuller, Gardner, Whitmore and Hyde will create a lot more quality scoring chances in the Trinidad game.Also,Gardner should play just behind the forwards. Plus, Fuller is not substitute, this yout is too good to be coming off the bench. Inregard to Lowe, I think he had a Ok game. The only problem I have with him is the fact that he tries to score from too man y bad angles, plus too much argueing with the ref, he wasn't smart enough to try an refocus the team during the power outage, and He needs to be running much harder. If remember Lazaroni comments a few months back, he basically stated that one of our biggest problem is that we don't run hard enough, we don't work hard enough for the ball.
Regards
|
|
|
Portia
Starting Member
USA
18 Posts |
Posted - Jun 22 2001 : 11:01:23 AM
|
True, I see both of you and Tilla's point. I said the same about Burton, busy as a bee, but being productive. Cant work feh real.
respect
Portia
|
|
|
Portia
Starting Member
USA
18 Posts |
Posted - Jun 22 2001 : 11:02:02 AM
|
True, I see both of you and Tilla's point. I said the same about Burton, busy as a bee, but NOT being productive. Cant work feh real.
respect
Portia
|
|
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Jun 23 2001 : 10:25:14 AM
|
1. Lack of focus - a) Wasted energy and time concentrating on disputing referee's actions and or decisions. b) Did not focus on playing around 'personality of referee'. NB. Usually first five minutes of any game 'players' should have 'sorted out' how the particular referee will call the game...I said "USUALLY". The good/experienced players know how to use this to their advantage.
2. No visible leader on field. (I certainly did not see anyone encouraging any type of 'reaction' to any facet of the game...e.g. the defenders too often gave the ball (long kick)to Costa Rica - I did not see anyone encouraging against that waste (i.e. playing on the Costa Rican team :-) .. a wha yu woulda kaal dat?)
Karl |
|
|
tsam
Starting Member
USA
3 Posts |
Posted - Jun 23 2001 : 11:29:43 AM
|
[quote] 1. Lack of focus - a) Wasted energy and time concentrating on disputing referee's actions and or decisions. b) Did not focus on playing around 'personality of referee'. NB. Usually first five minutes of any game 'players' should have 'sorted out' how the particular referee will call the game...I said "USUALLY". The good/experienced players know how to use this to their advantage.
2. No visible leader on field. (I certainly did not see anyone encouraging any type of 'reaction' to any facet of the game...e.g. the defenders too often gave the ball (long kick)to Costa Rica - I did not see anyone encouraging against that waste (i.e. playing on the Costa Rican team :-) .. a wha yu woulda kaal dat?)
Karl [/Karl, Your points are exactly my thoughts. I have to assume that the coaching staff have recognised these shorting comings but the players are not responding.And to the numerous ineffective long ball over the top - I wonder, was that the instructions of the coach, he was there on the side line, there was a long break in play, there is half time break and yet it was done repeatedly throughout the game. If it was not in the game plan, then he need drastic actions. Also, picking stupid yellow cards is going to hurt the team big. What's going on, where are these guys heads - why pick up a yellow when your goal is not threaten - e.g. Gardener in Jamaica, Whitemore and Lowe in Costa Rica. Gardener missed Costa Rica, Marshall missed Honduras, all because of stupid yellows. With 6 yellows in Costa Rica 3 or 4 starters could be staying home by the time we meet Mexico at home. Maybe it is being done but just before the game, coaching staff should alert players carrying a yellow and emphaize - play hard but play smart.]
|
|
|
Diziah
Starting Member
USA
33 Posts |
Posted - Jun 24 2001 : 10:16:31 PM
|
tsam, one of the reasons i feel that the coaching staff have no clue is when you see that they did not take advantage of the long break to finetune our attack. They did not encourage our players to continue keeping warm, in the event that the game would restart. Everyone just stand looking like they do not have a clue.
I am not sure that clovis shure what he is doing. |
|
|
|
Topic |
|