Outvoted in the Selection Room.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 11 2001 :  2:11:50 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
My vote has aways been for Tappa, Andy, Neon, Bibi and Goodinson...cannot dream of taking the field without them. Lawrence or Ricketts? My preference and vote Lawrence.

Marshall must play. Jamie must play. Nandi must play a part...but, as he presently works with his teammates a little subing is in order. OK! Who to partner Neon up front? It must be Barry Hayles if fit. Yes! Hayles!

The defence must have Frank...and Shavar. Surprised about Shavar? I believe he has the maturity, strength - physical and mental - and pace. Yes! Shavar is my man in the heart of the defense with Goodison.

Subs - I'll select only five...Ricketts, 'Nandi, Fuller, Powell and the young playmaker Kelly. Kelly? I expected you to question me about him. Do not be fooled by his humility. Ah! You say! He will not seek to unnecessarily confront the larger opponents in 'attack mode', rather his intelligence will dictate the options exercised. He, if used, will support and pass, support and pass....and deliver the killer pass unceasingly while on the field. The opposition will recognize his worth and that in itself will put them on their heels. In 'defense mode' he will be a terror. Closing down avenues and lanes and picking the ball from his foes. Yes! I leave it to the other selectors to round out the bench. 4-4-2 you say! OK! I would expect this bunch to be fluid....movement and support....passes and shots....4-4-2 to 4-3-3 to 4-2-4 to.... just flowing like an amoeba to the consternation of the opponents....GOALS!!!

Long Live Shorty!
Forward! Forward to WC 2002! VICTORY!!!

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Aug 11 2001 14:18:08

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2001 :  4:25:05 PM  Show Profile
quote:

My vote has aways been for Tappa, Andy, Neon, Bibi and Goodinson...cannot dream of taking the field without them. Lawrence or Ricketts? My preference and vote Lawrence.

Marshall must play. Jamie must play. Nandi must play a part...but, as he presently works with his teammates a little subing is in order. OK! Who to partner Neon up front? It must be Barry Hayles if fit. Yes! Hayles!

The defence must have Frank...and Shavar. Surprised about Shavar? I believe he has the maturity, strength - physical and mental - and pace. Yes! Shavar is my man in the heart of the defense with Goodison.

Subs - I'll select only five...Ricketts, 'Nandi, Fuller, Powell and the young playmaker Kelly. Kelly? I expected you to question me about him. Do not be fooled by his humility. Ah! You say! He will not seek to unnecessarily confront the larger opponents in 'attack mode', rather his intelligence will dictate the options exercised. He, if used, will support and pass, support and pass....and deliver the killer pass unceasingly while on the field. The opposition will recognize his worth and that in itself will put them on their heels. In 'defense mode' he will be a terror. Closing down avenues and lanes and picking the ball from his foes. Yes! I leave it to the other selectors to round out the bench. 4-4-2 you say! OK! I would expect this bunch to be fluid....movement and support....passes and shots....4-4-2 to 4-3-3 to 4-2-4 to.... just flowing like an amoeba to the consternation of the opponents....GOALS!!!

Long Live Shorty!

Karl

is this your team for the mexico game?

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2001 :  8:49:11 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
quote:

is this your team for the mexico game?

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Yes, I! Step forth with yours? :-)

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Aug 14 2001 20:50:27
Go to Top of Page

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2001 :  08:41:15 AM  Show Profile
quote:

[quote]

Long Live Shorty!

Karl

Well Karl allow me to make a small comment regarding your team before I select mine. Of your 11 starters one is ineligible due to successive yellow cards (Goodison). It is beyond me how at such a crucial time and in such a crucial game you name our most lethal striker as a sub. However, your squad nor mine will not necessarily be Clovis¡¦ or should I say¡K ok let¡¦s not go there.

My goalkeeper is Lawrence, undoubtedly the best we¡¦ve got.

Marshall will hold down the right back, he has the ability to create some problems for the opposing defense with his forward forays and is by some means a scoring threat.

Bibi will continue to hold the left back for this game because I believe the intensity of the midfield that is needed for this game (strong hard clean tackles) is the part of his game that is yet to materialize. We need his offensive arsenal however, so he will always play.

Although many might argue that the captain may be over the hill and lacking in speed (well so too is Garcia Aspe). We definitely need his experience in the center of defense even more so now since we will be without Pepe.

This is the hardest of them all (even harder than that star studded midfield) for me, Frank. I would probably prefer Marco but Frank was always ahead on experience, he is rougher and now for what got him the nod more than anything else, his mistakes have decreased to an acceptable level.

Well with Frank (who can slip without warning) and Rudi who is not the fastest we are going to need cover. Shavar is good but Dawes is better. He is more composed (though Shavar is very calm) he is a better passer and has far much more experience and hardly if ever makes a mistake. Dawes will sweep.

I have gotten past Frank so this shouldn¡¦t be so hard. I will go with Jaime, Fitzy and Tappa in midfield. Jaime and Fitzy¡¦s tackles are firm and sure and their passing has variety and precision. Tappa seems to have recollected himself and when he is himself not even Deschamps nor Lebeouff (sp) can stop him. Daryl still seems to be fighting for fitness, Micah hasn¡¦t found the right blend (probably lack of quality playing time) experience (and the intensity of which I spoke earlier) giving Keith and Jermaine a fight and Andy just lost his place because of that same intensity. I like what he brought in his last game as a substitute though and if he brings that again I will look like a great tacticianƒº.

Up front is easy, Nandi is scoring Neon seems to have regain confidence- A B C (bat up and ketch as mi ithren would say).

Bench would see Marco, Shavar, Micah, Andy, Jermaine, Barry, Boo and Tall P.

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Editors note: The Emperor is by no means affiliated with the JFF or its associates the information contained in his article are purely is opinion and does not necessarily reflect the views of the JFF, its associates or its employees.

Go to Top of Page

Tillamawnin

USA
197 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2001 :  12:40:11 AM  Show Profile
Emperor, I like your very reasoned comments on the team. There is only one thing I cannot agree with you on, and that is Frank Sinclair. I think that Frank might be our best defender presently wearing a Reggae Boyz uniform. Players make mistake, but that does not mean that we should allow such mistakes to follow them forever? I think that since coming into the team, Frank has performed creditably, and we should look beyond the man's past mistakes.

I do not hear people saying that Dixon caused us the game at the Azteca? But if you watch the tape again, you will see that it was two crucial errors which resulted in our defeat at the hands of Mexico. I would love to see Marco McDonald in the side, but not at the expence of Frank. I think he would make a perfect replacement for Dixon.

I think it is more than obvious, Dixon has not just lost a step, it is more like a few steps.

Respect,
Tilla

Ghandi
Go to Top of Page

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2001 :  07:37:55 AM  Show Profile
quote:

Emperor, I like your very reasoned comments on the team. There is only one thing I cannot agree with you on, and that is Frank Sinclair. I think that Frank might be our best defender presently wearing a Reggae Boyz uniform. Players make mistake, but that does not mean that we should allow such mistakes to follow them forever? I think that since coming into the team, Frank has performed creditably, and we should look beyond the man's past mistakes.

I do not hear people saying that Dixon caused us the game at the Azteca? But if you watch the tape again, you will see that it was two crucial errors which resulted in our defeat at the hands of Mexico. I would love to see Marco McDonald in the side, but not at the expence of Frank. I think he would make a perfect replacement for Dixon.

I think it is more than obvious, Dixon has not just lost a step, it is more like a few steps.

Respect,
Tilla

Ghandi

True, very true- i would really love to put Franks past behind us. he is playing really well and i know that once a forward attacks him for the first time and feel his wrath he will be scared for the rest of the 90. let's just hope TK's "past behavior is the greatest indicator of future actions" does not apply here:-).

Marco i think will do exceptionally well. he's got pace, skills and i am sure a burning desire, just not sure if i would want to shove him to the "wolves" in this crucial encounter. eventually he will have to be dixon's replacement though.

Long live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2001 :  08:19:52 AM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
quote:

I do not hear people saying that Dixon caused us the game at the Azteca? But if you watch the tape again, you will see that it was two crucial errors which resulted in our defeat at the hands of Mexico. .....I think it is more than obvious, Dixon has not just lost a step, it is more like a few steps.

Tilla/Emperor: It is not only that Dixon has lost a step that is his problem. For some reason our defenders have reverted to the "Billy Perkins" era.

Bibi stands above the rest as do all great defenders in this respect. I'll explain as follows - When long passes are coming in - take the example of a corner (a corner is an example of a long pass) defenders must meet the ball. Where possible they should always try to meet the ball above and before...yes, before it arrives at the position where the forward /ball meets...or should I say would have met. Bibi always attempts to meet the ball. The number of passes he cuts out averting danger - and in a flash transforms into an attack - is astounding. The man is a vertitable 'complete defense' - (just for emphasis...no one can be defense on his own) - on his own.

One of a defender's primary aim, on 'defense mode,' is to prevent the ball...the ball...the ball from entering his goal. If as is often the case 'stepping up' means the ball will be meet by the defender, it makes no sense to engage in the nonsense of 'jockeying' -('jockeying'? Where did this stupid term originate?) - the forward.

Too often our defenders allow our opponents a 'free' shot at our goal when meeting the ball is the option.

Based on our showing so far our defense is not as strong as '98. In spite of the dearth of goals it is our defense I'm worried about.

Hence, Shavar...HE DEFINATELY STEPS UP! Greatness on the horizon?

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Aug 16 2001 08:22:30

Edited by - Karl on Aug 16 2001 08:23:50
Go to Top of Page

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2001 :  12:59:39 PM  Show Profile
quote:

Tilla/Emperor: It is not only that Dixon has lost a step that is his problem. For some reason our defenders have reverted to the "Billy Perkins" era.

Bibi stands above the rest as do all great defenders in this respect. I'll explain as follows - When long passes are coming in - take the example of a corner (a corner is an example of a long pass) defenders must meet the ball. Where possible they should always try to meet the ball above and before...yes, before it arrives at the position where the forward /ball meets...or should I say would have met. Bibi always attempts to meet the ball. The number of passes he cuts out averting danger - and in a flash transforms into an attack - is astounding. The man is a vertitable 'complete defense' - (just for emphasis...no one can be defense on his own) - on his own.

One of a defender's primary aim, on 'defense mode,' is to prevent the ball...the ball...the ball from entering his goal. If as is often the case 'stepping up' means the ball will be meet by the defender, it makes no sense to engage in the nonsense of 'jockeying' -('jockeying'? Where did this stupid term originate?) - the forward.

Too often our defenders allow our opponents a 'free' shot at our goal when meeting the ball is the option.

Based on our showing so far our defense is not as strong as '98. In spite of the dearth of goals it is our defense I'm worried about.

Hence, Shavar...HE DEFINATELY STEPS UP! Greatness on the horizon?

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Aug 16 2001 08:22:30

Edited by - Karl on Aug 16 2001 08:23:50

I agree to an extent Karl. Defenders should always try and meet the ball and do so before the attacker. The first question you ask yourself as a defender is “can I intercept” (a ball in flight- not necessarily airborne). If yes, you step up and do so, if no you have to check (or jockey if you wish) not just aimlessly but in such a way to prevent the forward from turning if his back is to goal or from going by you and getting off a shot if he is facing goal. A good defender should force the forward to turn on his strong side and get in his tackle as the turn is being completed (if there is no coverage and there is a possibility that the attacker will turn). If there is coverage he should be forced into the cover the cover has to position himself based on the stance of the first defender applying the pressure. If the attacker is already facing goal the defender should play him to his advantage, force a one v one on your strong side, or force him to make a pass that is less dangerous or where you would have coverage. Defense is all about principles and technique and while Gardner may have the first part down how well does he cope if indeed the player reaches ball before him? Also there are talented attackers who improvise well to get themselves out of good tactical and technically sound defense. The defenders have to improvise too for those skilled attackers. Bibi still have a far way to go in my opinion as far as defending is concerned. Defenders have to be able to head the ball too and make that unattractive clearance when necessary. After Croatia one would think that Bibi would not repeat such a silly mistake but Mexico was almost the replay. Love him still and as you say he is bordering on greatness.

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2001 :  10:44:58 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
quote:

I agree to an extent Karl. Defenders should always try and meet the ball and do so before the attacker. The first question you ask yourself as a defender is “can I intercept” (a ball in flight- not necessarily airborne). If yes, you step up and do so, if no you have to check (or jockey if you wish) not just aimlessly but in such a way to prevent the forward from turning if his back is to goal or from going by you and getting off a shot if he is facing goal. A good defender should force the forward to turn on his strong side and get in his tackle as the turn is being completed (if there is no coverage and there is a possibility that the attacker will turn). If there is coverage he should be forced into the cover the cover has to position himself based on the stance of the first defender applying the pressure. If the attacker is already facing goal the defender should play him to his advantage, force a one v one on your strong side, or force him to make a pass that is less dangerous or where you would have coverage. Defense is all about principles and technique and while Gardner may have the first part down how well does he cope if indeed the player reaches ball before him? Also there are talented attackers who improvise well to get themselves out of good tactical and technically sound defense. The defenders have to improvise too for those skilled attackers. Bibi still have a far way to go in my opinion as far as defending is concerned. Defenders have to be able to head the ball too and make that unattractive clearance when necessary. After Croatia one would think that Bibi would not repeat such a silly mistake but Mexico was almost the replay. Love him still and as you say he is bordering on greatness.

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Suh yu are up pan de defense ting? :-) But yu nuh pretender/defender :-)

Yes! You are right. The defender will often have to, on play, out think his opponent and force that opponent into less threatening positions and options. My contention is Bibi is up on all that and more.

Still respect the professor's, eh! hem! Emperor's view.

Forward!
Long Live Shorty!

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Aug 16 2001 22:48:08
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.05 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000