SIGN IN >>                                                                                                 Forgot Pasword?
Delroy Wallace Real Estate

Jamaica 1 : 0 Costa Rica   [+]

Final

More
Home
More
About the RBSC
More
Events Calender
More
Contact Us
More
RBSC Chapter and Dues
Reggae Boyz
More
Senior Squad
More
Under-23 Squad
More
Under-20 Squad
More
Under-17 Squad
More
Past Players
More
Game Statistics
More
Jamaica's football history
Interactive
More
RBSC Forum
More
Reggae Boyz Forum
More
Chat
More
Reggae Mail
More
Polls Archive

A Talk With A Rising Star - Fabian Malcolm
Saturday, October 25, 2003

Based on reports from many who have seen Fabian Malcolm of Tivoli Gardens F.C in action, he is one destined to go places and should be a fixture in the national team in the not-too-distant future. In an effort to answer the call of the many fans who have been requesting information on this talented player, RBSC's Mosiah Marshall 'sat' down recently with the upcoming football sensation. We are pleased to now bring you this exclusive interview.

BIO FOR FABIAN MALCOLM

Name: Fabian Teddy Malcolm

Date of Birth: November 11, 1979

Position: Midfielder (Left & Right)

Caps: 0

High School: Old Harbour High School

Current Club: Tivoli Gardens FC

Previous Clubs: Division 1 - Rivoli United & Old Harbour United; 'A' League - Rivoli United

Achievements: Division 1 Champions Old Harbour United, went to Super League; Division 1 Champions with Rivoli United, went to 'A' League. 'A' League Champions with Rivoli.

Weight: 154 lbs

Height: 5'-10'

INTERVIEW

MM: When did you start playing organized football?

FM: We were playing a system in high school but you know, we were young and nuh really… you understand? But since I left school and went to Old Harbour United, the coach taught me a lot about formations and we took it from there.

MM: How well did Old Harbour High do in the daCosta Cup then?

FM: From I was playing, every year we went to the second round and we usually were a point away from reaching the semifinals. One year we tied on points but goal difference eliminated us from the competition.

MM: These days Old Harbour High is one of the top teams in the daCosta cup. Do you think you became a role model for them?

FM: Yeah. The guys they look up to were me and a youth named Christopher Cummings and Sheldon Campbell, as three of the youths who play the bigger set of ball game in the school, and they respected us. And more time we go back and give them a little coaching.

MM: Who was your role model when you were younger?

FM: Those days we use to look up to a youth name Delroy Morgan. He got called for the Under 23. He never really took it serious. He started to work and left football after a while.

MM: What about Linval Dixon, isn't he from Old Harbour High?

FM: He went to Old Harbour Secondary. The year when it became a high school, he went to Clarendon College.

MM: You knew of him as a player back in those days?

FM: Yes, but because his role is different then you, he is a very good defender. But since I am not a defender, I did not really admire defenders, so to speak. He is a very good player, not taking anything from him, but the midfielders, you would normally watch them mostly, and from they are doing well, you watch them and try to do well too.

MM: What about internationally, which player you like?

FM: I like the youth named Gilberto da Silva from Brazil.

MM: Which team did you support?

FM: When they were named Hazard, I really liked them. I use to go training a couple of times but I never really took it seriously because the coach at Old Harbour use to say that they usually look mostly for national players, so the coach said that I should continue to learn what I can at Old Harbour and then I can take it to another level.

MM: Of the players you left behind in your Old Harbour United team, which ones do you think are ready to buss like you did?

FM: A youth named Errol Wilkey (sp), they call him Yellow, very good player. So far, it's just me and him performing well right now.

MM: How did you get the nickname Daadi?

FM: From 'Daadi Porgie, pudding and pie' and it just stuck on me, because we loved those ring games, yuh understand?

MM: How did you end up at Tivoli Gardens?

FM: Last year, in their last ten games, the team was struggling. Jeffrey Maxwell was there. My brother knew him a little bit, he is an easy person to talk to, and he told him that he had a brother who can play, and he (Maxwell) asked how old and my brother said 23. So Maxwell told my brother to invite me to training so he could see me, and I probably impressed him, because he said he liked how I played. He said I could continue to come to training and I took it from there and I am in the system now.

MM: Do you think that up to that time you were kinda overlooked by the JFF?

Yeah, I was playing good ball from Rivoli and Old Harbour from those days, but they weren't really scouting the parish those days. They were really just thinking mostly about the corporate area, yuh understand?

MM: What kind of contract you have with Tivoli?

FM: It's a 3-year contract.

MM: Did you start out playing midfield?

FM: Yes.

MM: Have you patterned your style off any particular player?

FM: At the time, in school, me and Christopher Cummings, we adapted styles from each other. We were the best players on the team so he would show me things and I would show him things. We took moves from each other and we helped each other. I really liked him as a player and he checked for me as a player too.

MM: What do you think are your strongest assets and weaknesses?

FM: Passing ability is my strongest asset. The coach says I need more aggression.

MM: What would you say was your proudest moment as a footballer?

FM: I think that was when I won Division 1 with Rivoli. That was my first achievement at a higher level to go to the 'A' League, and then we won the 'A' League. Felt proud of myself then.

MM: Patrick Beech used to play dem time deh?

FM: Yeah, 'A' League and Division 1.

MM: Who has been your favourite coach up to now?

FM: Bill Martin, otherwise called Big Johnny. He taught me a lot about the game. He coached Old Harbour in Division 1 and he coaches the high school team now and has taken them very far.

MM: What are the biggest differences between Division 1 football and the NPL?

FM: Well, Division 1, they call it a bush league, and the Premier League is the highest level of football in the island, so you get exposed to more things, so you learn a lot more.

MM: What are Tivoli's chances in the NPL this year?

FM: Tivoli has a strong team overall, but what is failing us is the poor finishing. But we think we can win the league this year, and we hope to win it.

MM: What do you think are your chances for being called to the national side?

FM: My chances? About 70%, that I will get a try, because of my performances so far and I am hearing a lot from the media.

MM: Did you expect to be called for the recent Brazil game?

FM: No, I never really expected a call because the league just started up and they never really saw me all that much. But after that, they have seen me and I think they have me in consideration.

MM: What were your feelings on the Brazil game?

FM: Our team played a very good game. When you are playing against the world champions and they can only score one, then I think they played a very good game.

MM: Who is your favourite player on the national side?

FM: Theodore Whitmore, because of his passing ability and he moves the ball around.

MM: What are your feelings on the UB-40 players?

FM: I don't really have a problem with it still because when they are added into our team they make the game play more pacy, more speed in the game, and they bring the urgency in the game. So, I think they uplift the team overall.

MM: You don't think it keeps down the local players?

FM: It doesn't really keep down the local players because it invites them to work more, because if you not performing you won't get the break.

MM: What are your goals in football?

FM: I have not achieved a lot out of the game yet, but in the future I want to reach the highest level, which is to play a World Cup game.

MM: Where would you like to ply your trade eventually (meaning EPL, SPL, MLS, Spain, etc.)? Which one would suit you best?

FM: Right now, it's nice in Italy but wherever it comes from I will take it.

MM: (After telling him a little about the RBSC, I asked Fabian) - What are your views on the RBSC?

FM: I think it's a good idea because if it helps to expose players to the coach then that is good.

MM: Does Tivoli have a supporters club?

FM: I don't know about one.

MM: Why do you think Tivoli does not have the type of support that Arnett Gardens has, in terms of numbers?

FM: We are performing well so I don't know why. Maybe it's the sponsorship that Arnett Gardens gets that makes them have more supporters.

MM: How does Fabian Malcolm chill out?

FM: We live in Old Harbour, so we like to go to the beach, eat roast fish and steam fish, y'know. But my aim is to play football, all other things come after.

MM: What would you like your fans to know about you that they don't yet know?

FM: That I am a good player, humble, I want to play football to the best of my ability. I respect people and want respect from people.

MM: After football, what do you see yourself doing?

FM: Some kinda business to help my family and friends.

MM: You are not interesting in coaching later on?

FM: No, my mind is not set on that as yet.

MM: Okay, well, Daadi, I want to thank you on behalf of the Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club for giving us this opportunity to talk to you. All the best to you in the future.

FM: Yeah man, thank you for the opportunity also. Guidance.

Captain Horace Burrell
Newton Sterling
Wendell Downswell
Luton Shelton
William “Bill” Moravek
Sebastiao Lazaroni
Keith Kelly
Damani Ralph
Bradley Thomas
Simeon Howell
Nicholas Addlery
Richard Langley
Rick Figueiredo(II)
Rick Figueiredo
Carl Brown (Part 5)
Carl Brown (Part 4)
Carl Brown (Part 3)
Carl Brown (Part 2)

© 2010. All rights reserved.
Send questions and comments to Web Master.
Site best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 5+ and Netscape 7.0 at screen resolution. 1024 by 768
-----
web design and programming by molefoot.com
-----