Paul Marin, High school soccer

Never said high school should be the main development tool but for a 15/16 year old that 3 months can provide them with a totally different mindset in their footballing life.

1) They are competing against older kids which the club don't let them do.
    2) They are competing against some kids that play at the higher level
    3) High school soccer at least in my nick of the wood is more of a team than club soccer.
    4) In my conference we have 1 team rank in the top 10 of the US and 3 teams in Georia top ten. Our school play most teams rank in the top 20 in Georgia.

5) The High school does more fitness work with the kids than any of the clubs I have seen.

6) High school tape games and kids can cut highlights (Something the clubs should be doing).
    7) I watch the older players take my son under their wings and encourage him (something not done in club).

Now it is back to club for a tournament and summer league.
    Before high school he was hesitant to play with kids 3 years older but now he will take on adults. I can only talk about his experience and development.
    Motivation is the key and he is more motivated for club and next school year.

Did we say coaches shouldn't license and improve the credentials???

Does that take away from the fact that some of the best coaches or skill coaches do not have the highest credentials?

Did you say it back then when the debate was raging ? Glad you and the obfuscation crew finding a voice.

Imagine the credit and how intelligent ; blessed with foresight and credit given if you had made and defended the point.

Instead it all falls on my head and shoulders.

Clown 🤡

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

yes that was what I said. I was for coaches getting education but as I said then you find a lot of good coaches who don't necessarily have the license.

I said you find some VERY GOOD SKILL COACHES without a license but they are good at what they do.

You are a confused bredda.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

saw what you will. I have seen it in the field, not just paper talk.

Ask OJ why he laughed and said ..... I was watching a vlog the other day and someone ask who are the world class Jamaican coaches. I laugh till i drop

Yuh ead nuh good from mawning. If yuh naah promote a certain coaching standard required in the field of professional youth development, yuh a waste people time.

Jamaica a promote skilled coach with education for decades, the result is there for all to see .....nuff said. All Paul run guh get im Lic and a confess.

Good night Sah.
                Last edited by Sir X; May 17, 2021, 11:10 PM.

You have to promote a standard but you have to understand that some coaches have specialized skills and you have to take advantage of it.

Attaining the standard lic is a specialised skill in itself.

Enough of this,please you are being ridiculous.

X soccer is about developing individuals and team. That is something you are missing. Skill coaches are important and you find a lot of them not certified but are good at what they do.

You can't hold back a man because he is not certified, you encourage him to get certified but don't act like certification is the end all in development.

I am missing soccer/football is about developing individuals as a team, really ? If they arent certified or licensed whats stopping them from acquiring the skill of getting licenced ?

No one is holding back "a man" if the man cannot acquire the certification/licensure skill, more so he is holding himself back. No one said it is the end all,but it is key.

Do not misquote me please. "I am missing soccer/football is about developing individuals as a team"

I said "soccer is about developing individuals and team".

Do not misquote me please. "I am missing soccer/football is about developing individuals as a team"

I said "soccer is about developing individuals and team".

Lol.

Never said high school should be the main development tool but for a 15/16 year old that 3 months can provide them with a totally different mindset in their footballing life.

1) They are competing against older kids which the club don't let them do.
                              2) They are competing against some kids that play at the higher level
                              3) High school soccer at least in my nick of the wood is more of a team than club soccer.
                              4) In my conference we have 1 team rank in the top 10 of the US and 3 teams in Georia top ten. Our school play most teams rank in the top 20 in Georgia.

5) The High school does more fitness work with the kids than any of the clubs I have seen.

6) High school tape games and kids can cut highlights (Something the clubs should be doing).
                              7) I watch the older players take my son under their wings and encourage him (something not done in club).

Now it is back to club for a tournament and summer league.
                              Before high school he was hesitant to play with kids 3 years older but now he will take on adults. I can only talk about his experience and development.
                              Motivation is the key and he is more motivated for club and next school year.
                              I completely understand how your son benefited. But this is not the norm. So it is not a justifiable system for broad-based player development, so it will never produce enough top quality players to be a sound platform for player development, at least not in soccer. For every kid like your youth, there are 100 who are sitting on their ass at home not playing in the high school season. I have U18/19 in GPL next fall, interested to see the standard.

I am missing soccer/football is about developing individuals as a team, really ? If they arent certified or licensed whats stopping them from acquiring the skill of getting licenced ?

No one is holding back "a man" if the man cannot acquire the certification/licensure skill, more so he is holding himself back. No one said it is the end all,but it is key.
                                Actually - you are wrong (as usual). The system is messed up. The A license requirements are that the coach must be:

1. Coaching a National League or Regional level
                                2. Coaching a 20 game / 10 month season
                                3. Have 4x a week practices

In my club, we only have 2 teams from U13-U19 who play at a National League or Regional League level, none play 20 games a season because high school aged kids only play 1/2 a season in GA unless they are with an MLS Next team and even there, they allow H.S. So even if I wanted to, I wouldn't qualify based on those requirements. F-ry. I am stuck at USSF B for the foreseeable future even though I want to move on to the A.