• Private Sector finally sees peril in low-skill JA workforce

Mitchell: Low-Wage Trap, Outdated Skills Holding Back Ja

Published:Tuesday | February 12, 2019 | 12:21 AM

Jamaica’s dependence on traditional and failed methodologies to support growth and development have placed the country at a disadvantage and that needs to be addressed by the country’s leaders, says Howard Mitchell, president of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ).

Speaking at a luncheon hosted by the Rotary Club of Kingston last Thursday, Mitchell said that the country runs the risk of being left in the blocks as other countries get on board the so-called Fourth Industrial Revolution train.

“While developed countries such as the United States and Britain are seemingly struggling to keep pace with the Fourth Industrial Revolution driven by artificial intelligence, digital technology and biological advances, so-called Third World nations like Jamaica are caught in a low-wage trap with skills unsuitable for the 21st century,” Mitchell said.

Private Sector demands critical thinkers - not nuff subjects

Send Me Thinkers, Mitchell Charges Educators

Published:Thursday | March 21, 2019 | 12:05 AM

President of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), Howard Mitchell, gives a thought-provoking commentary on Jamaica’s governance structure which, he charges, was designed by the colonial masters to keep former slaves in bondage, a system of which the country’s policymakers have been very efficient guardians. The PSOJ boss was speaking yesterday at a HEART Trust/NTA forum in New Kingston.

President of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), Howard Mitchell, used yesterday’s ‘TVET in Action 2019’ forum, hosted by the HEART Trust/NTA, to send an unsettling message to the country’s educators.

“I have not come here today to tell teachers how to teach. or what to teach, but I can tell you not to send me any more learning by rote, inflexible graduates with 10 subjects who understandably believe that they have climbed the mountain top and now deserve a desk and nameplate, and that they are better than my supervisor who taught himself a trade.

“We need thinkers and doers who can adapt to circumstances, find knowledge on their own, and use data and information to create value,” he told the audience at The Knutsford Court Hotel in St Andrew.

Send Me Thinkers, Mitchell Charges Educators

Published:Thursday | March 21, 2019 | 12:05 AM

President of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), Howard Mitchell, gives a thought-provoking commentary on Jamaica’s governance structure which, he charges, was designed by the colonial masters to keep former slaves in bondage, a system of which the country’s policymakers have been very efficient guardians. The PSOJ boss was speaking yesterday at a HEART Trust/NTA forum in New Kingston.

President of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), Howard Mitchell, used yesterday’s ‘TVET in Action 2019’ forum, hosted by the HEART Trust/NTA, to send an unsettling message to the country’s educators.

“I have not come here today to tell teachers how to teach. or what to teach, but I can tell you not to send me any more learning by rote, inflexible graduates with 10 subjects who understandably believe that they have climbed the mountain top and now deserve a desk and nameplate, and that they are better than my supervisor who taught himself a trade.

“We need thinkers and doers who can adapt to circumstances, find knowledge on their own, and use data and information to create value,” he told the audience at The Knutsford Court Hotel in St Andrew.
      Fret not Private Sector - Help is on the wayyyy... TOOT!! TOOT!!!

PEP students to be first PISA cohort

THE first cohort of students sitting the Primary Exit Profile (PEP) this year will also be the first to take the Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) examinations in 2021.

“So, we will get to see how (our students perform) with the introduction of the new curriculum that is based on science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), critical thinking, communication and collaboration. We are definitely interested in seeing how our students are going to be performing against the 90 countries that are going to be participating, as well,” she said.

She noted that the STEM programme in schools remains a top priority and incorporation of the STEM methodology into the curriculum, from grades one to nine, is being implemented under the National Standards Curriculum.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...9?profile=1373
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lol!
          Last edited by Don1; March 28, 2019, 10:12 AM.

Yow, Don1...mi see di STGC bwoy dem a win Champion Bwoy prize for Robotics up at ICHS, where dem recently held a competition!

Noice.

Yow, Don1...mi see di STGC bwoy dem a win Champion Bwoy prize for Robotics up at ICHS, where dem recently held a competition!

Noice.
              Not familiar with that particular exercise...but di whole ah dem noice. The real deal is the just-launched National Robotics Championship This is a GAMECHANGER....NOT A DEMO

We started the revolution 10 years ago and it took a minute to get established as a development imperative in the (mostly backward) Yard consciousness..but it's now spreading like wildfire.

Currently 22 schools have our program at various stages...wid ongly bout 600 yute engaged. In a year that should be 40+ schools and ~2000 yute... 5 years out di ting supposed to gone metric to a Caribbean regional program.

It almost reach di point whe mi cyan leggo di secondary school ting cause it deh pon autopilot IF dem keep di pedal to di metal.. and start focus on primary school projects. Dats di real critical level. Get di yute dem pon a scitech track from early-early an wi kriss by 2030

Memba mi tole unnu from lang time.... ALL WILL BE ASSIMILATED....RESISTANCE IS FUTILE

TOOT!! TOOT!! AAAAALLLLL ABOARDDDDD
              Last edited by Don1; April 9, 2019, 11:19 AM.

Ardenne

We deh deh !

https://www.facebook.com/Ardenne-Hig...8400284252228/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

In the past few years our programs have changed the conversation re Jamaican education. Less veneration of YAPPING ...more recognition of DOING & MAKING

ALL WILL BE ASSIMILATED... Sooner for the more progressive...Later for the rest
                  Last edited by Don1; April 9, 2019, 11:55 PM.

Excellent move. All and sundry should be congratulating you for this including the usual suspects. They shouldn't wait until Anju big you up. As an aside forgive me if you have already posted but how do you go about funding? I may be able to hook you up with a conscious diaspora investment crew who would definitely be interested to support.

Noice.
                      Ok mi know bout di Cbar competition. Dem start dat last year. Anedda robotics pickney wi buss. It’s all good 😎
                      https://abnormalhouse.com/red-square...hd2webtvadj,2s
                      Last edited by Don1; April 10, 2019, 10:28 AM.

Give thanks Rudi. The great Fortis is on the case as well. We work well with your local KCOBA Prezzi. ✅

Re funding give thanks for any useful connections. Lots of schools struggle to find the dollars for equipment or even to prep a 300 sq ft+ space to host a modest robotics lab. So the need is big.

Will message you oneaway....

Blessup. Congrats again. Great work.

Don,why no go fund me page ? Some Schools dont have an old boy association, some old boy association are crooks, some administrators are crooks.To be honest they could say the same if you set up a go fund me page, but boss to truly tap into the diaspora, USA, U.K Canada,that would do it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That's a possibility but it presents some issues I can't be bothered with right yahnow.

Yuh ready fi letoff???