Bartlett wants big shopping malls for cruise market

• Bartlett wants big shopping malls for cruise market

Currently, the tourism minister said cruise brings in about US$200 million annually, or representing an average spend of US$100 per cruise passenger, which accounts for about one per cent of tourism revenues for Jamaica.

He wants to grow the average spend to US$250 per passenger, primarily by improving shopping experiences for tourists. Those ambitions are driven by market preferences as 67 per cent of visitors travel for shopping opportunities. Right now, Jamaica has limited products and is not positioned to entice that type of tourist.

“You will see that shopping, proportionally, will be in the region of one per cent. From extrapolation, it’s about US$200 million. We have to increase that significantly,” said Bartlett. “I want our cruise spend to move from where it is to US$500 million. That’s where the Bahamas is. That’s where St Croix is. That’s where St Martin and little Cayman is. “We are in the cellar, so to speak, of the shopping spend.”

Under the plans and programmes aimed to reposition Jamaica as a shopping destination, an artisan village is set to open in Falmouth in December. It is meant to encourage artisans to produce more items for the shopping /cruise market.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/b...future-jamaica
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Now is the time for him to strike,the Bahamas is out of business for 5 years,by then Kingston and its environs must be up and running.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Puerto Rico still reeling, Cayman rebuilding, DR shot, poor Bahamas, and Cuba "off limit". We are ripe.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Most of Grand Bahamas and Freeport are ok.

Cayman and Bahamas port been up and running will help us with more cruise in the northern Caribbean as these big ships need to stop at at least 3 ports.

Anyway with or without we should be good, just do our thing.

Now Jamaica is heavily involved in Hurricane rebuilding it means a lot of workers heading to Bahamas to assist and with Barlett Tourism center it means help to rebuild tourism.

X Nassau was not hit.. Bahamas still good .. again son see the trees from the forest.. you too eager...

Gwaan Bartlett!! Gwaan Dorian!!

Puerto Rico still reeling, Cayman rebuilding, DR shot, poor Bahamas, and Cuba "off limit". We are ripe.
            Tank God fi nuff hurricane & wi neighbor misfortune yes!!! Fat tourists tuh di whirl!!!
            Last edited by Don1; September 4, 2019, 05:06 PM.

Again yuh comprehension lacking did I specify Nassau, i said Bahamas,how the hell yuh can generalise that they are good speaks volumes of your ignorance,like yuh never know Tegat left Mobay,when it was shown to you by me on a youtube clip,with his name in lights.Like you dont understand what "imply: means until you "imply it " or the difference between a voice mail and an interview.

Yuh ead good ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ok mumma lashie I just pointed that the main tourist areas was not affected and matter of fact the minister of tourism made that point on CNN last night.

Good suh say dat and tek yuh lashing,if earthquake mash up kingston and Catherine ( the financial and industrial center ) yuh aguh say Mobay tourist industry would not be affected ?

Something wrong with you brethren,you are quick to judge and when your stupidity or ignorance is pointed out,you want to cry,why?

If yuh cant take it,why are you giving it out and you fail miserable of doing so.

I think you thought grand Bahamas is Nassau

Yes you would think so.

You have time. LOL!!!

cruise ship passengers aren't interested in artisan products...they want duty free diamonds..emeralds...rolex watches etc..

A next clown , coaching instructor to you means trainer.The literacy levels between you both,is a disgrace to any prep or primary school.

Sir X...to be right is over rated.

Let's give the bickering a break for now. Things will shake out.

In the mean while, let's help and rebuild our Island cousin.