Resist anti-China ruckus

• Resist anti-China ruckus

Tempting as it is to indulge in geopolitical scaremongering, we urge Jamaicans not to give traction to the myopic, nativist, and xenophobic instincts that some hope will trigger backlash against, and the retreat of, the Chinese.

And that is why the alarmism that BBC journalist Jonny Dymond, and others, peddle is misplaced and dangerous as it pours cold water on the significant economic support the Chinese government and allied agencies and companies have offered the Jamaican people for more than a decade.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...i-china-ruckus
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Our population isn't educated enough to discern fact from fiction. And now with the advent of Facebook we have fallen prey to conspiracy theories. Jamaica has absolutely nothing to fear from Chinese investment. The facts are that Chinese loans are only 3.9% of our debt burden & these loans are locked in at 2-3% which is the lowest interest rate loans we have. Not to mention that CHEC built the North South highway with their own funds. They even repaid $100 million that the GOJ had paid to the French company who abandoned the project. The Chinese were compensated with land bordering the highway that they will develop to recoup their construction costs. They are mandated to develop the lands within 7 years or the land reverts to the GOJ. The GOJ didn't have to take any additional loans to complete the highway.

We’ve been indoctrinated with western propaganda for decades that we distrust anyone who’s not white who wants to invest in our country. The Brits have sucked us dry for centuries and discarded us and the Yanks have kept us in our places after through the IMF and the World Bank.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hope I find the time to read up on the history of Peru.

But Perus' presidents have been Japanese. The country is run by Japan.

Jamaica will have a Chinese PM before long.

BTW:

If you are living in a market place
        And you're no buyer or seller.
        You'll find yourself left in space
        Subject to be bought or sold.
        If you are living in a tenant yard
        And you are not the land owner.
        You'll get a notice from your landlord
        To leave sooner or later.

--Bunny Wailer

Sorry...one more:

"Land is power--without it life has no worth."

--Mutabaruka

Jamaican government need to do a lot more to make all the "investments" list some of it on the local stock market, have local partners or workers get some form of ownership. You can't have these investors just come take everything and leave.

List some of the Petrojam stock on the local market when you take it back so local Jamaicans can feel some benefits. Use some of that NIS money and teachers/police money under a good investors to buy some of these stocks so they can benefit and value what it means to run these entities and make a profit instead of saying a "a so the thing run".

The problem is having land without proper development becomes wasteland.

good talk. The role of government and civil society is to find a medium that investors can make a money, government and the people of Jamaica make some too.

Tempting as it is to indulge in geopolitical scaremongering, we urge Jamaicans not to give traction to the myopic, nativist, and xenophobic instincts that some hope will trigger backlash against, and the retreat of, the Chinese.

And that is why the alarmism that BBC journalist Jonny Dymond, and others, peddle is misplaced and dangerous as it pours cold water on the significant economic support the Chinese government and allied agencies and companies have offered the Jamaican people for more than a decade.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...i-china-ruckus
                China must use policies that makes
                Jamaica A success story.jamaicans
                are always caught the attention
                Of the world.We are trail blazers.
                We lead.Thats good if china make
                Us successful.
                Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                Probably forthcoming...

Come to think of Chinese in ja.We are the only black nation of
                  A significant size and population they invest and hire some of
                  Our people.
                  Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                  United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                  happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                  Probably forthcoming...

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
                    China must use policies that makes
                    Jamaica A success story.jamaicans
                    are always caught the attention
                    Of the world.We are trail blazers.
                    We lead.Thats good if china make
                    Us successful.
                    LOL! So China must make JA successful?

The only folks able to make a success of Jamaica are Jamaicans. Looking to foreigners to do that is pathetic...and moreover will NEVER occur

JA, to be successful must invest much more in education. Not the slop served up by CXC/CSEC etc. That's stuff is lame considering that it's 2020...Suited more for 1990 - 3 generations past. Not useless...just inadequate for 21st century workforce requirements. Perfect though for low level pursuits like the Plantation Warehouse Tourism JA has and depends on for "progress" and "prosperity". For whom? Those already rich

For the key focus and eventual solution for JA...check Marcus' advice below. JA has never heeded Garvey's call but has allowed itself to be guided mainly by self-serving morons and manipulators in the public and private sectors. Just look at the state of the people