• Young Jamaica Footballer Lands Historic Nike Deal

Young Jamaica Footballer Lands Historic Nike Deal
    By Ryon Jones (Jamaica Gleaner)

History was yesterday created after 16-year-old Leon Butler became the first football player in the region to earn an endorsement contract from major sporting goods company Nike.

Butler inked a three-year deal with Nike which will see him don their apparel both on and off the pitch. The deal comes on the heels of the player, who came up through the Phoenix All Stars Football Academy ranks, signing to Dutch powerhouse Ajax.

"Nike has scouts all over the world and he (Leon) got into the Nike radar and then we did some investigations and started negotiations," Nike's regional director, Pedro Boyd, said during yesterday's press conference at Spanish Court Hotel. "We were interested in Leon because we knew he was talented and we got good reviews on him from our secret scouts.

"He is getting a historic deal and we are expecting him to have fun, to play football and do what he likes. He is going to have the whole Nike lifestyle,

Anyone know how is deal with Ajax is going to work if he's still only 16?

relax yuhself ....

...hope it is real...

but it is Craig Butler and his associates

Due to FIFA's rules on the international transfers of minors I'd guess that Ajax will leave him with his current team and invite him over to Holland for periodic training periods with the club until he turns 18 and can join them permanently.

Right!! contract stipulations tek care ah dat deh.

How do you know the family does not have EU passports?

We are coming very close to discussing a persona non grata on this Forum.

Tread carefully!

awww pish posh...

You bitter bad. Not even a congrats to the breddah and him youngster?

How do you know the family does not have EU passports?
                      Good point, I suppose it's a possibility. But I'm guessing it's a very small percentage of people born and raised in Jamaica who are eligible for an EU passport.

and?

If!

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                            Anyone know how is deal with Ajax is going to work if he's still only 16?
                            Ajax’s youth academy is world famous. The goal of Ajax is to form talented young players into top football players. Only the very best will reach the top after a difficult and often long road. Johan Cruijff, Marco van Basten, Frank Rijkaard, Wim Kieft, Dennis Bergkamp and Patrick Kluivert are but a few of the international stars that have successfully completed the training at the youth academy.

At AFC Ajax, the training of top football players takes centre stage. That is why the youth academy is also known as the breeding ground of Dutch football. The further you get, the harder it becomes to maintain your place and to reach the ultimate objective - to play in the Amsterdam Arena. Only one or two players make it to the first team each year.

Ajax is partly dependant on players from its own youth academy. The youth teams are trained in exactly the same way as the first team en these boys are therefore already accustomed to Ajax’s style of play.

Ajax Youth Academy http://english.ajax.nl/Youth-Academy.htm

Central within the club is the style of play (4-3-3), training, behaviour and house rules. Ajax strives to keep the way of playing football recognisable; attractive, offensive-minded, creative, fast, fair and preferably far away from the own goal on the opponents’ half.

Ajax has developed the so-called TIPS model, which stands for Technique, Insight, Personality and Speed. For each part there are ten criteria. P and S are generally innate properties, but I and S can always be developed further. The players own a special Ajax passport, in which all achievements are noted.

Please note:
                            Ajax’s youth academy cannot accept individual external applications. Ajax only extend invitations after a long and deliberate scouting process. Applications for the Ajax youth academy by mail and/or email will not be considered.

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
                              Ajax’s youth academy is world famous. The goal of Ajax is to form talented young players into top football players. Only the very best will reach the top after a difficult and often long road. Johan Cruijff, Marco van Basten, Frank Rijkaard, Wim Kieft, Dennis Bergkamp and Patrick Kluivert are but a few of the international stars that have successfully completed the training at the youth academy.

At AFC Ajax, the training of top football players takes centre stage. That is why the youth academy is also known as the breeding ground of Dutch football. The further you get, the harder it becomes to maintain your place and to reach the ultimate objective - to play in the Amsterdam Arena. Only one or two players make it to the first team each year.

Ajax is partly dependant on players from its own youth academy. The youth teams are trained in exactly the same way as the first team en these boys are therefore already accustomed to Ajax’s style of play.

Ajax Youth Academy http://english.ajax.nl/Youth-Academy.htm

Central within the club is the style of play (4-3-3), training, behaviour and house rules. Ajax strives to keep the way of playing football recognisable; attractive, offensive-minded, creative, fast, fair and preferably far away from the own goal on the opponents’ half.

Ajax has developed the so-called TIPS model, which stands for Technique, Insight, Personality and Speed. For each part there are ten criteria. P and S are generally innate properties, but I and S can always be developed further. The players own a special Ajax passport, in which all achievements are noted.

Please note:
                              Ajax’s youth academy cannot accept individual external applications. Ajax only extend invitations after a long and deliberate scouting process. Applications for the Ajax youth academy by mail and/or email will not be considered.
                              Yes, that I already knew about.

But I'm talking about FIFA's rule that prohibits the international transfer of minors.