Iceland: Jamaicas' Guide to sucess

• Iceland: Jamaicas' Guide to sucess

Even more remarkable has been the coaching revolution in Iceland. Under the guidance of Sigurdur Ragnar Eyjolfsson, who started working as director of education at the Icelandic FA (KSI) in 2002, hundreds of specialists got UEFA coaching licences.

Quite incredibly, in 2010 alone, no fewer than 630 coaches attended different UEFA courses, which works out as 0.2 percent of Iceland's population.

http://www.espnfc.us/team/iceland/47...-qualification

Since 2002, Iceland's football association (KSI) has overhauled the country's infrastructure and coaching methods. Previously, coaches had to travel to England in order to get their UEFA licenses, but that has changed, with the focus now on increasing the home-grown coaching talent pool.
    Nowadays, UEFA courses are being run locally in the Icelandic capital, Reykjavik. The result is more than 800 coaches with UEFA licenses - and 185 of those hold the prestigious A license. In a country of 330,000, this means a ratio of one A-licensed coach per 1,793 people. In contrast, England, who has lost to Iceland in Tuesday's last-16 match, has an A licensed coach for every 44,537 people.

http://www.dw.com/en/euro-2016-the-n...ess/a-19361967

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A Refresher:

An Xamination of Don 1 proposal for Jamaicas football development

First let me state we agree that Jamaicas football development must be unique or specific to our situation ,be it cultural and economic.2nd we agree that any development of Jamaicas football must be about- the increase of knowledge on how to play the game across all facets of Jamaica from juniors to seniors, with an extreme bias on youth.

Don calls on the P.M to be the leader of this venture to call the JAAA and JFF to form cooperative relationships, I call on the JFF to call a meeting of all steakholders.To me not much difference in the philosophy of having stakeholders involved be it seeking cooperatives or partnerships as I have referenced. While Don sees two of our main sporting bodies as essential to launch his plan, I disagree that it should be limited to just two, I call on all stakeholders because what’s essential for any plan to work is funding – the financial .Corporate Jamaica must be involved in this process, given the economic climate that Jamaica is in, especially with sporting bodies across the Island competing for that scarce financial funding.
    The pitch about setting up a government to government exchange for knowledge (football) is excellent, but that offer, that is proposed to Brazil in Dons’ reference, could be proposed to any top footballing nation, why not the U.K, France, Germany, Holland, Argentinia.I acknowledge we have a rich history with Brazil that we can tap on, but it shouldn’t be that we close other avenues that could do same for our football development, probably more eager.

The key to this or any plan taking off in Jamaica is the finances, I see Don proposes that Brazil picks up “more of any financial outlay” but what if they don’t want to? This is why it’s essential to me that Jamaica sources and try to develop its own program within its own corporate and government funding structure.

I proposed a plan where the best way to develop Jamaican football is by spreading knowledge by having certified coaches dispatched across the land by implementing an accredited coaching program through our institutions where individuals get their badges. This to me would be the most feasible cost effective practical move. Individuals paying out of their pocket or

• The JFF could present a funding proposal to FIFA of setting up said program where 14 certified coaches are developed in our institutions annually to be dispatched to each of the 14 parishes annually as part of its unique way of setting up its national program. How those coaches would be used in those parishes would be similar to how our T & F coaches are used, where they spread their knowledge to communities, schools and institutions and inspire other individuals to seek said knowledge and inspire others.
    • Corporate Jamaica could also sponsor scholarships for said badges. Where the goal is 14 corporations sponsoring 14 individuals to complete a course.
    • The spinoff would be the quality in youth talent, would increase across the land and of course so would the quality and quantity of coaches.
    How we identify and prepare talent to compete at the youth level, would have to be designed where education for the youths are a priority, which would mean that the cost of commute, housing and nutrition is at its practical financial best. To me that would be close to one or a number of our higher institutions of learning where that can be accessed.

Exactly where do stakeholders fit in, each would be asked what they can contribute to this national program i.e. clubs would be asked how can they better develop their youths , sponsors would be asked how can they sponsor, government would be asked how can they contribute , schools-colleges- universities would be asked same. A common consensus on how they can all be tied in to help each other would be designed where specific mandates can be delegated or allocated.

I agree with Dons B & C suggestions on how to partake in competitions and identify talent, to me it’s essential to have competition but the crux of all that competition is how we go about developing it, others I am sure would put forth other suggestions on how we can maximize our competitions for development, from schools to clubs but the meat and bones of it to me is imparting on the youths a good football education along with a primary, secondary and higher education. I have no doubt that with the dispatching of knowledge across the Island, our youth talent will rise in much the same way our T&F talent has risen.

So to conclude Dons Xamaniation ,My rationale is not any different from his, its emphasized on youth and education, it is unique to our situation.

The questions presented to me about fields, facilities, pro staff, good expertise, development, national players, play school or club ball and expecting a good answer before giving my plan a good look, is a joke, It has been addressed with my emphases being heavy on spreading knowledge across the land to youth. His cooperative is similar to my view of stakeholders, not as holistic but it is a step in the right direction. My plan involves a meeting of stakeholders, having an agreement of like minds to implement a local program specific to our paradigm, heavily bias on youth, involving the spread of knowledge to rise the level of football and most of all financially practical.

Why the spread of knowledge, because if all else fails, knowledge will reign supreme. Now If I can ask Don again what is my plan and why it cannot work?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The Joke : They started this investment in knowledge at the turn of the centrury, yuh ear mi , Y2 K, YUH NUH EAR MI , 2 years post WC 98 ,now yuh ear mi...hehe.

Knowledge reigns supreme.Burrel fi run whey !

Correction in 2002,they started the educational revolution,Burrell fi run whey !

If you notice,none of the articles mentioned a national academy?..... aaaaaaaah hhh sahhh,more so to spread knowledge through licensure throughout the land,Jamaica could get way more out of that system given our infrastructure of sport colleges and clubs .

Where is the meeting of the stakeholders,Burell a frig imself.

Talent will keep coming through because Iceland provides kids with phenomenal training facilities and heavily invests in youth coaching.
            The installation of the 5G pitches greatly supported their ACADEMY SET-UP, too. It allowed their youth sides to play regularly which, of-course, aided their development. The youngsters could join clubs as early as seven years old, and the difference there, in comparison to England, is that you can see the pathway to the first team from an early age.
            Manning Cup to di worl'

Thank you!

Xcellent

=Sir X;561374]A Refresher:

An Xamination of Don 1 proposal for Jamaicas football development

First let me state we agree that Jamaicas football development must be unique or specific to our situation ,be it cultural and economic.2nd we agree that any development of Jamaicas football must be about- the increase of knowledge on how to play the game across all facets of Jamaica from juniors to seniors, with an extreme bias on youth.
                Super
                Don calls on the P.M to be the leader of this venture to call the JAAA and JFF to form cooperative relationships, I call on the JFF to call a meeting of all steakholders.To me not much difference in the philosophy of having stakeholders involved be it seeking cooperatives or partnerships as I have referenced. While Don sees two of our main sporting bodies as essential to launch his plan, I disagree that it should be limited to just two, I call on all stakeholders because what’s essential for any plan to work is funding – the financial .Corporate Jamaica must be involved in this process, given the economic climate that Jamaica is in, especially with sporting bodies across the Island competing for that scarce financial funding.
                I just outlined some ideas focused on the cooperation needed to move football down a development path. Nothing is written in stone.
                Whoever leads is not really important as long as the plan is effective. And of course ALL stakeholders must be involved.... including the private sector
                The pitch about setting up a government to government exchange for knowledge (football) is excellent, but that offer, that is proposed to Brazil in Dons’ reference, could be proposed to any top footballing nation, why not the U.K, France, Germany, Holland, Argentinia.I acknowledge we have a rich history with Brazil that we can tap on, but it shouldn’t be that we close other avenues that could do same for our football development, probably more eager.
                Yep ...wherever we can get the required help...just not the UK. They don't play (or coach) good football imho. Would not be the best model for us
                I mentioned Brazil because we have a big, successful history with them. The HUGE emotional ties would get public buy-in big time...

Plus @ the time I was leveraging the Bolt impact via the Rio Olympics to get the thing moving FAST

The key to this or any plan taking off in Jamaica is the finances, I see Don proposes that Brazil picks up “more of any financial outlay” but what if they don’t want to? This is why it’s essential to me that Jamaica sources and try to develop its own program within its own corporate and government funding structure.
                Financing is a key of course. My proposal re coaching was a technical exchange of our track expertise for football coaching expertise. That would reduce our financial outlay. But I'd support any effective plan
                I proposed a plan where the best way to develop Jamaican football is by spreading knowledge by having certified coaches dispatched across the land by implementing an accredited coaching program through our institutions where individuals get their badges. This to me would be the most feasible cost effective practical move. Individuals paying out of their pocket or

• The JFF could present a funding proposal to FIFA of setting up said program where 14 certified coaches are developed in our institutions annually to be dispatched to each of the 14 parishes annually as part of its unique way of setting up its national program. How those coaches would be used in those parishes would be similar to how our T & F coaches are used, where they spread their knowledge to communities, schools and institutions and inspire other individuals to seek said knowledge and inspire others.
                • Corporate Jamaica could also sponsor scholarships for said badges. Where the goal is 14 corporations sponsoring 14 individuals to complete a course.
                • The spinoff would be the quality in youth talent, would increase across the land and of course so would the quality and quantity of coaches.
                How we identify and prepare talent to compete at the youth level, would have to be designed where education for the youths are a priority, which would mean that the cost of commute, housing and nutrition is at its practical financial best. To me that would be close to one or a number of our higher institutions of learning where that can be accessed.
                Noice. But we've seen the shambolic display by the JFF in attempting to implement programs with FIFA funding. Based on the JFF's track record I have low confidence in their project execution capabilities

So to me the JFF needs adult supervision... from a foreign partner...e.g. A foreign FA we have a strategic partnership with
                Exactly where do stakeholders fit in, each would be asked what they can contribute to this national program i.e. clubs would be asked how can they better develop their youths , sponsors would be asked how can they sponsor, government would be asked how can they contribute , schools-colleges- universities would be asked same. A common consensus on how they can all be tied in to help each other would be designed where specific mandates can be delegated or allocated

Yep a football social contract
                I agree with Dons B & C suggestions on how to partake in competitions and identify talent, to me it’s essential to have competition but the crux of all that competition is how we go about developing it, others I am sure would put forth other suggestions on how we can maximize our competitions for development, from schools to clubs but the meat and bones of it to me is imparting on the youths a good football education along with a primary, secondary and higher education. I have no doubt that with the dispatching of knowledge across the Island, our youth talent will rise in much the same way our T&F talent has risen.
                Seeit deh

So to conclude Dons Xamaniation ,My rationale is not any different from his, its emphasized on youth and education, it is unique to our situation.

The questions presented to me about fields, facilities, pro staff, good expertise, development, national players, play school or club ball and expecting a good answer before giving my plan a good look, is a joke, It has been addressed with my emphases being heavy on spreading knowledge across the land to youth. His cooperative is similar to my view of stakeholders, not as holistic but it is a step in the right direction. My plan involves a meeting of stakeholders, having an agreement of like minds to implement a local program specific to our paradigm, heavily bias on youth, involving the spread of knowledge to rise the level of football and most of all financially practical.
                On the money

Why the spread of knowledge, because if all else fails, knowledge will reign supreme. Now If I can ask Don again what is my plan and why it cannot work?
                We're on the same page. Not sure where I said your plan direction could not work. Maybe there were some elements I didn't see being effective in the backward JA environment....but ah nuh nutten...There would be some elements of mine that would flop as well.

In suggesting programs we should be mindful of the JA environment.
                I try not to underestimate how the backward, instant gratification-focused Jamaican brain malfunctions....especially with the leadership/educated class.

Big reasons explaining the pathetic state of the country
                Last edited by Don1; July 5, 2016, 12:13 PM.

Yuh nuh get it,Iceland model is unique to its culture,youths going to club academies at 7.y.o would not work in JA ,our prep,primary school system of football is our academy to impart knowledge.The JFF or clubs sure as hell can't build from that level by building a specific academy for u 13 youths.Maybe one or two clubs can but that's not even scratching the surface of development.

The key is to get the knowledge in there,manning and Dacosta is another layer,Iceland would die to have that infrastructure,I would bet money on that ,all it needs is a little fine tuning to impart the knowledge.

The U.K not only has youth club academies or a national academies,to recruit and impart knowledge from,they have schools.We would be idiots if we don't develop what we already have in place.

We need a holistic campaign that's unique to JA,wi bruk !and it must,i repeat must start with knowledge being spread getting coaches certified and exporting them all over the land is the best and only way!
                  Cc: Iceland.!
                  Last edited by Sir X; July 5, 2016, 03:30 PM.

Yuh nuh get it,Iceland model is unique to its culture,youths going to club academies at 7.y.o would not work in JA ,our prep,primary school system of football is our academy to impart knowledge.The JFF or clubs sure as hell can't build from that level by building a specific academy for u 13 youths.Maybe one or two clubs can but that's not even scratching the surface of development.

The key is to get the knowledge in there,manning and Dacosta is another layer,Iceland would die to have that infrastructure,I would be money on that ,all it needs is a little fine tuning to impart the knowledge.

The U.K not only has youth club academies or a national academies,to recruit and impart knowledge from,they have schools.We would be idiots if we don't develop what we already have in place.

We need a holistic campaign that's unique to JA,wi bruk !and it must,i repeat must start with knowledge being spread getting coaches certified and exporting them all over the land is the best and only way!
                    Cc: Iceland.!
                    Okay ... X ... when you have time define insanity?

Culture ?

Explain what is Yard culture.. recreational football ?

Is only Jamaica dem play football inna primary and high school ?

lol ! Woiie !

You.

No but we have cultural competitions from prep,primary,secoundary and high schools where youths are taught bad habits.Are we going to let it continue because we aren't the only cultural nation that has organized recreational football letting youths going to waste in these competitions.

You.
                            Good try, but if you think I'm the reason St. Lucia can beat our juniors 2-0 .. then ....

I don't blame you for that as Ben suggested and the Icelandic manifesto declared,its a lack of knowledge,what is your beef,that the model cannot work because of ?
                              # We Bruk
                              #We Fool
                              # We can build a real academy like they have @ United

Please be as detailed as possible as to why it's insane an offer an alternative?