Tourism, the reservoir of Low Skill Jobs

I'm now convinced that you're an irredeemable dummy & liar not worth my time.

HEART is a very useful institution which helps many people to upgrade themselves. No doubt about that. But HEART mainly provides remedial training to people whom have not received adequate education at the K-12 stage.

As currently configured HEART is unable to drive the innovation and human capital upgrade required to TRANSFORM Jamaica's workforce to compete effectively in this 21st century.

To be effective at transformation education at the critical primary through high school level has to be reformed and resourced in alignment with and serving the requirements of a strategic industrial development policy of GOJ.

Nothing else will work effectively to transform Jamaica's workforce

Useful effort from HEART but it's too little and too late to enable the required workforce transformation and 21st century competitiveness - unfortunately

The big investment in education must be at K-12 to have ANY chance at a fundamental workforce upgrade. When a big percentage of kids are well prepared at 18-19 y.o. with basic future-proof skill sets - that's what lays the basis of workforce transformation via further education in key disciplines. Nothing else will work effectively

It's not complicated yuteman
        Last edited by Don1; October 20, 2019, 12:45 AM.

Wow! You received a computer disk?? Noice!! ..Sass is a coding genius.

Sass - your lie -again- was pretending you knew the current relevance of C - after dismissing it a few hours before as a 1990s relic which you "did".

Your big achievement in receiving a computer disk is completely irrelevant and of zero interest

Maybe you have difficulty with logic. Seems you have a hard time understanding an issue that's so obvious and which has also been broken down for you many times

It nuh matter what you think, there will always be the need for 2nd chance for trade skills and others. What are you talking about? This HEART school has been there since the late 90s. They have specialized in computer related courses and certification done by a former relative of mine Mrs. Monica Stimpson and Dr. Joyce Robinson. The only thing they have done is update their certifications. HEART have also partnered with other schools and institutions get training from experts in this and other field. You need to learn a little more about it, it may help you in your quest for transformation. Contact Dr. Janet Dyer she will help. Selah.

Do you comprehend English yute? I acknowledged that HEART is useful.

We have different perspectives. You're content with incremental upgrades via HEART etc. You're entitled to that outlook especially as it's what most Jamaicans understand and believe in. Jamaicans do not generally know or care what an innovation eco-system looks like

My interest is revolutionary transformation via core education reforms which would bring JA fully able to compete in the 21st century....say in 15-20 years.

I'm not merely theorizing about this - I'm doing what I can to enable it. Other than internet yappin I don't know or care what you and your disk do... as long as you cut out the lying
                Last edited by Don1; October 20, 2019, 10:45 AM.

Yes... Tourism being a low hanging economic fruit requiring primarily very low level workers is attractive to some capital investment. Jamaica has the right environment for such low level pursuits

Until the workforce is upgraded...low level tourism will continue to lead Jamaica's economy...nowhere

So sad
                  Very sad indeed and the leaders of the industry in Jamaica seem to want to keep it that way. Its better for them.

Absolutely correct. Tourism interests also have huge control and influence over the media and politicians so their viewpoint is ALWAYS widely parroted. Hotel press releases are routinely published as “news”. Especially so in the Observer

No wonder that there’s zero critical thinking regarding tourism— just lemmings following whatever propaganda is pushed at them

Jamaica readies for COP 25

JAMAICA has started preparations to participate in the 25th session of the Conference of Parties (COP) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change that will be held in Santiago, Chile in December.

A pre-COP consultation was held on Wednesday at the AC Hotel by Marriott in Kingston, where several stakeholders discussed some of the actions that are taking place in the country, and the Caribbean region, in preparation for negotiations in the wider international arena.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...1?profile=1373

For the first time, Chile will host this event, to which more than 25,000 participants are expected, and as hosts we are accepting all possible cooperation to help make this global meeting a historical moment for the country.

https://www.cop25.cl/en/volunteering/
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Graduates show pride in certification

More than 350 participants in the Jamaica Centre for Tourism Innovation (JCTI) training/certification programme travlled from the nooks and crannies of Jamaica beaming with pride, smiles, and a feeling of purpose to the Montego Bay Convention Centre for their recent graduation ceremony.

The applause grew louder, however, as the graduates collected their professional certificates of competence. This year’s graduation ceremony is the third of its kind since 2017, and just over 700 candidates participated in this year’s training exercise.

The objective of the programme forms part of a critical component of the Ministry of Tourism’s human capital-development strategy. It seeks to, in collaboration with international partners, provide professional training and certification to workers across various sectors in the tourism industry.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...-certification
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When I talk about diversifying and expanding Jamaica's tourism product, this is what I'm talking about. I've said on this forum that if the government invests in transforming Kingston into a cosmopolitan city, starting with the Kingston waterfront and work its way inward, using eminent domain to clear the many ghettos and shanties along the harbor, then the potential income earnings from foreign currency can outstrip and triple those from the three main tourist destination of Mobay, Negril and Ocho Rios.

Chile Scraps Asia-Pacific And Climate Summits Amid Protests

Chilean President Sebastián Piñera said Wednesday that he is cancelling two major international summits so he can respond to protracted nationwide protests over economic inequality that have left more than a dozen people dead, hundreds injured and businesses and infrastructure damaged.

The decision to call off the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation and UN global climate gatherings, planned for November and December, respectively, dealt a major blow to Chile’s image as a regional oasis of stability and economic development.

SCRAMBLE

Trade and climate negotiators scrambled to find new locations for their summits, aimed at resolving tariff-related conflicts between China and the US and finalising countries’ climate rules in advance of a bigger summit next year during which governments will be asked to commit to new emissions limits.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/w...-amid-protests

Boss it’s best you stick with a subject that you’re more familiar with....Weed. You obviously have no idea of just how big and lucrative the convention tourism market is. I’ve always said that Jamaicans like you and Don One have a very narrow view about tourists and tourism. You hear the word tourism and you automatically think about fat, white Americans lying on the beach being served by locals. As I’ve said before, STEM and tourism are not mutually exclusive. The convention tourism market and STEM go hand in hand.
                            Digital Transformation Will Enhance Tourism

Tourism is one of the leading industries in Jamaica, with the country welcoming more than three million visitors annually, according to the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB).

“We are playing on the same stage with our global counterparts, but for us to remain competitive, we ought to be using technology to enhance our services,” said Dwayne Russell, general manager of MC Systems.

“Using the latest technology will not ‘water down’ the Jamaican experience. The technology will handle the operational processes so that industry staff can focus on the true quality of Jamaican hospitality to woo guests.”

He noted that the tourism landscape is extremely competitive, therefore, hoteliers and tour operators need to find ways to overcome the challenges they face, to maintain customer engagement, facilitate electronic payments and optimise their internal system.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...nhance-tourism

Digital Transformation Will Enhance Tourism

Tourism is one of the leading industries in Jamaica, with the country welcoming more than three million visitors annually, according to the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB).

“We are playing on the same stage with our global counterparts, but for us to remain competitive, we ought to be using technology to enhance our services,” said Dwayne Russell, general manager of MC Systems.

“Using the latest technology will not ‘water down’ the Jamaican experience. The technology will handle the operational processes so that industry staff can focus on the true quality of Jamaican hospitality to woo guests.”

He noted that the tourism landscape is extremely competitive, therefore, hoteliers and tour operators need to find ways to overcome the challenges they face, to maintain customer engagement, facilitate electronic payments and optimise their internal system.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...nhance-tourism

Bartlett praises tourism workers
                                Tourism minister Edmund Bartlett has praised the more than 377,000 employees across the tourism sector for playing a vital role in Jamaica, which is now on track to secure more than a record four million visitors to Jamaica by year end.

“It is projected that by the end of this year, the island will welcome 4.303 million visitors and earn US$3.7 billion. That’s approximately 700,000 more visitors in the last three years and almost double the earnings in the same period,” Bartlett said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...ourism-workers