White Man Time .....by the numbers

• White Man Time .....by the numbers

Productive and healthy New Year to all massive.

There has been much heat generated and very little light cast in some very shrill and superficial quarters here on the racial dimensions of Jamaica's recent political and socio-economic development ..... or perhaps the disappointing lack thereof.

I choose to take a longer historical view and offer the following timeline with respect to what I see as some of the major forces that shape Jamaica today:

1494 - 1865

Jamaica dominated by Europeans who slaughter the indigenous population and completely wipe them out.... clear genocide and a crime against humanity. Africans brought in (most die intransit) under a vicious chattel slavery and exploited to the hilt by the English..... another unrequited crime against humanity.

1865 - mid 1940's

The English continue their domination, brainwashing and exploitation of the majority, now "free" descendants of slaves now with the desperately needed and enthusiastically provided assistance of a mulatto and near-white elite administrative class. Africans gain ground only slowly and painfully blocked at every turn by the English and a developing local elite class.

1950's - 1972

Black Jamaicans continue to gain ground by dint of hard work and a focus on education but the English, now largely absent, give more ground to local mulatto and near-white elites who accumulate and assert more economic and political power operating a Jamaicanized and modernized version of the English exploitation model they learned and love so well.

1972 - 1980

The Manley years of well meaning social experimentation aimed at leveling the playing field and increasing the power of the black majority.

Thoroughly derailed by a potent mix of poor planning, immature and misguided policy execution and irrational exuberance regarding cold war rhetoric seen as incendiary to a largely unsophisticated and selfish elite class, destabilization by US and allied governments in concert with local elites and right wing political forces.

Resultant polarization and social, political and economic chaos set the country back 2 decades. Manley bravely goes against his class interests to try to advance the black majority but proves to be quite immature politically and clueless from an economic standpoint.
    He must be blamed for not forecasting the negative reaction of the local elites and foreign forces to his policies and given the Jamaican mindset, the extreme and destructive political divisions that resulted.

However, for the FIRST time in Jamaican history, large segments of black Jamaican majority feel a part of "society" ... a huge social gain but at too great a cost... a pyrrhic victory.

1980 - 1988

Structural reforms under Seaga. Local elites again empowered and come back to the fore and as ever continue a steady accumulation of wealth. No real progress for the majority either socially or economically.

1988 - 2007

Various PNP administrations with varying levels of ineptitude mostly under Patterson taking over from a neutered Manley. Through inattention and collusion Govt. allows a venal, greedy and corrupt financial sector run by local elites (some now visibly black but mostly not) to almost bankrupt the country and build debt to near world record levels - of course the majority bear the brunt of the burden through reduced services and increased taxation.

A thin coterie of politically favoured black businesspeople benefit from Patterson's largesse but adverse macro-economics severely limit progress of the majority. Trickle down capitalism at its worst compounded by the travails of globalization.

2007 - ?

The Golding years. After almost 2 decades of chafing the elites have their champion elevated to power by the thinnest of margins. That this margin is so wafer-like in the face of obvious PNP failure does not bode well for their longevity in office.

Near white elites and their assorted associates (some black) walk and talk with new found confidence and assertiveness..... minor examples of their garrulous ways exist for all to see on this forum.

Whither Jamaica in this new dispensation and especially the lot of the majority?

Only time will tell but I'm sure we all hope for the best however we choose to define it.

That's my take on things.

Selah

Apologies. Please move this to the appropriate forum..

Good Post DON1...

If you recalled that most of Jamaica economic achievements were under this Group,The 80's was not bad for Jamaica especially considering what
      we have lost during the 70s interms of Nationalism an the effect of our
      socio-economic institution.Please recalled that at one point Jamaica had
      the second lowest GDP in the Americas.
      On a personal note I have lived through the seaga years and remember a lower crime rate,better economic management,better education and health was beginning to improve at the end of his 2nd term in office.
      I know for a fact that Europe is going to spend money in Jamaica as a
      matter of fact it start a ready Spain,Germany and France are most likely
      to be our source of foreign exchange,taking up the slack where the americans left off.Please recall 2006-2007 when the ambassidor of Spain
      come out saying Spain is now Jamaicas number one direct investor...
      Crime was down for the Christmas(2007) is this a sign of something to come?.
      The PNP was in office and a New Brand of Patterson Nationalism was promoted with a capitalism outlook but manage primarily by the Non-Elite
      class,we have seen negative growth rate for sixteen straight years....
      Already since the JLP went into power our Socio-Economic outlook improve.

Strange how we got all the 'bad' White men.

Bermuda, Cayman, Barbados.. etc..

Oh if only Michael Manley was never born...

Oh, that's right.. Eddie Seaga would have us in 'slavery' under his 'near-white' friends..

You people are a pathetic joke.. imagine if unnuh did deh a China, how unnuh woulda manage ?

2008.. mek wi si how long di persecution complex gwine continue..

Originally posted by Pepsi View Post
          If you recalled that most of Jamaica economic achievements were under this Group,The 80's was not bad for Jamaica especially considering what
          On a personal note I have lived through the seaga years and remember a lower crime rate,better economic management,better education and health was beginning to improve at the end of his 2nd term in office.
          to be our source of foreign exchange,taking up the slack where the americans left off.Please recall 2006-2007 when the ambassidor of Spain
          The PNP was in office and a New Brand of Patterson Nationalism was promoted with a capitalism outlook but manage primarily by the Non-Elite

I respect your views but they raise some questions.

Why is it that the JLP has not enjoyed more confidence from the people (ie longer stints in office) if it is true that "most" of the country's economic achievements as well as consistent economic growth has occurred under their watch? This proposition of yours is highly questionable.
          Could it be that JLP policies promote growth while the PNP emphasizes social development?
          Does growth under the JLP "trickle down" sufficiently to the masses at the bottom? Is too much of the pie creamed off at the top by the owners of capital living the high life and disinvesting profits overseas?

Economic growth is important but development is supreme. Growth is a necessary component of development but is only one of many such necessary components. We discussed this a couple months ago.

The conundrum here is that even if so-called growth accelerates under the JLP their history suggests that their policies DO NOT lead to real development of the people who need it most.

The capitalist class makes money and develops itself under any administration. The challenge facing the JLP is not generating this superficial concept of "growth" that the uninitiated love to bandy about and that is currently all the rage in Jamaican circles including here. The main task is meeting the unmet basic needs of the masses. This misplaced emphasis on growth will not solve that problem.

If the JLP does not find a policy mix to achieve the aforementioned sooner rather than later, their tenure in office will be truncated.
          For the country's sake I hope that they find the correct policy prescriptions.

To successfully do the above Golding will have to find the political will to resist the demands of the monied elite that put him in office. Jamaica's elite are in the main short sighted, selfish and corrupt. They obviously will demand policies that increase their wealth, power and control of the economy. That often comes at the detriment of the majority who are poor and struggling.

Therein lies the problem.

You can laugh dreadyi and notice mi nuh seh rasta!.LOL!

To successfully do the above Golding will have to find the political will to resist the demands of the monied elite that put him in office. Jamaica's elite are in the main short sighted, selfish and corrupt. They obviously will demand policies that increase their wealth, power and control of the economy. That often comes at the detriment of the majority who are poor and struggling.

Therein lies the problem.

The political wills are already there,and his counter dealings with the elite
                must be assertive.The elite no doubt were successful in there bid to place
                Bruce in office.No doubt they will benifit in the long run,the same way the
                black middle class gained in the Patterson led PNP;The Question is will our
                or the jamaican society become more corrupt?.To make things a little worried is that we do not have a suitable opposition .
                Last edited by Pepsi; January 6, 2008, 02:05 PM.

Mosiah sometimes I am worried can you be trusted,can Karl be trusted,can gamma be trusted??? with so much info about the people
                  on this site.

Jamaicans in the main are short sighted, selfish and corrupt.

Period.

The political wills are already there,and his counter dealings with the elite
                      must be assertive.The elite no doubt were successful in there bid to place
                      Bruce in office.No doubt they will benifit in the long run,the same way the
                      black middle class gained in the Patterson led PNP;The Question is will our
                      or the jamaican society become more corrupt?.To make things a little worried is that we do not have a suitable opposition .
                      The elite in any society, including Jamaica, benefit in any run ..... long or short. That is the nature of capitalism, whether a country is successful at practising it or not. We should not be too concerned about the elite's welfare .... they will prosper regardless of the JLP's prescriptions.

You seem to see some political will on Golding's part to make hard decisions that will benefit the majority in the national interest. I have not seen that to date .... but we can always differ, plus it's early days yet so the jury is still out on that issue.

Corruption is important but again the real big issue in Jamaica is not corruption but the ability of the JLP administration to deliver sustainable benefits to the majority. Based on their history and the economic tightrope Jamaica is subject to, the prospects are not good.

Even if so called growth is achieved, I expect more and sharper income inequality and minimal progress for the mass of the people under the JLP regime.

That's their history and they have said or done nothing that would lead one to reasonably expect a different outcome.

Excellent! And honest. Some will find it very difficult to argue differently.

You r a clown.

.. what the fornication!!

yu a act you bettah,yu bettah?.