Do casinos contribute to crime?

• Do casinos contribute to crime?

For years I have been trying to figure out why the Church has issues when it comes to casinos, as opposed to everything else that goes on in society and for years I have failed to come up with a plausible answer. They were at it again recently at the annual farce known as the National Prayer Breakfast.

Perhaps a spokesperson from the Church would care to open our eyes and let us into the light as to exactly why they have this collective meltdown when it comes to the legalisation of casinos.

For the past two years I had been living in St. Maarten, a tiny little island out in the eastern Caribbean. They have a pretty high standard of living, the minimum wage there is US$640 a month; that's approximately J$45,000 a month, there is very little major crime and they also have about 12 casinos.

Do casinos contribute to crime? I really don't know. In St. Maarten they have robbed a couple casinos and I am sure that if they were legalised here some would be robbed but what establishment isn't at risk where there is an abundance of criminals? What I do know is that on average each casino on the Antillean island generates profits of about US$10 million a month and they employ hundreds of people; waiters, dealers, floor bosses, accountants, you name it, the casinos employ them. And the pay is good.

Huge potential
    Now translate that scenario to Jamaica and what you have is a potentially huge industry employing thousands of people and generating a brand new revenue source for our cash-strapped government. There are taxes to be earned from the wages of the employed and from the potentially huge profits these casinos generate.

Certainly we cannot dismiss claims that people will throw away their money at these casinos and many families could be hard hit, but is that a reason not to create jobs, is that a reason not to create a brand new source of revenue for government and the potential to attract a brand new type of tourist here in Jamaica?

People will always be stupid that way. They will work hard for an entire week or month and then throw their money away in one night at the casino. They sure do it now at Caymanas Park, they do it now at the record number of bars across the island, and they do it now with the women and men they have on the side. Are casinos going to create a problem we're not already experiencing? No, they're not.

As for these claims about creating a culture of gambling, that's just a bunch of hogwash. Living in Jamaica these days is already a gamble. You roll the dice every time you step out your front door, every time you drive the highways, every time you go to a party, so what's the big deal if you take a gamble that could turn your life around in a positive way?

And besides, there is already the race track, the Pick 3, the Lottery, countless bingo games and there is talk of creating a city lottery to generate money to fix roads, so what's the big deal?

There is an ad that one casino here runs in the daily papers that said it paid out $465 million last year, that's US$6 million dollars. So, let's say there was a 15 per cent tax on those winnings, that's a million dollars right there that goes to government coffers.

Also, imagine how much money they have left over as profit that would attract the usual rates? Imagine what a couple dozen of these establishments could do to boost our economy and take a few thousand potential criminals off our streets by providing jobs for them and create a whole new industry that eventually would employ tens of thousands of people and you can see why legalising casinos is not something to be debated but something that should be done for the economic future of this island.

I implore the church leaders to get off their high horses and get real. God helps those who help themselves, or so I am told. Casinos would be a step in that direction.

Send comments to

shearer39@gmail.com
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Hope Jawge can learn something from this article. Like agree with this article totally!
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The whole Church/Casino thing is a sick joke.

It is a phobia that stuck in their minds.

We have the most heinous crimes perpetrated regularly in Jam and all the Churches are worried about is Casino?

Well, we already HAVE bandooloo casinos in Jam.

Dem churches need to go find something useful to do.

Work is burning in the fields as JC man dem luv seh!

The love of money!
        Surely Shearer's opinion on casinos depends on the answer to that question(does Casonos causes crime...?).
        The horse races and lotto games pale in comparison to casinos regarding people giving away their money. You will lose all of your pay cheque on the latter, not so with regard to Lotto or horse races.
        As to why the church would be concern, well first of all, I wonder if St. Maarten had a serious crime problem before they agreed to having casinos? The casinos getting rob may be the only crimes realated...that Shearer is aware of, it goes without saying, a rise in prostitution and drug activities should be expected.
        Perhaps that is why Bruce hoped the granting of rights to operate casinos would be seen as a PNP inititive, the sharing of the blame.
        I do not expect Bruce to change his mind, as what is now clear is he will likely agree with anything that promises an injection of cash into economy.
        I guessed that is why one can deduce from the TG incident that Bruce is reluctant to question the typical activities of his security officers on that infamous day for TG; the Chinese influence.
        It is a BIG shame if you ask me.

Blessed

Rocky if a so you look pon it Cruise ship contribute to prostitution as well and tourism as well. You know how many hookers security ketch a go a room sometimes hidden in cars going to the exclusive Halfmoon hotel when I use to work there?

You know how many people gamble away their pay pon horse racing? Don't for one think a everybody bet a dollar or two. As a matter of fact some people spend weekend at gambling house or play dominoes fi money.

There are many ways to approach the casino gambling but you don't hear about that. People trying to say casino gambling is the end, funny thing is I don't gamble except lotto once in a while but we need to look a the thing realistically.

If the churches nuh want it them must work on an alternative. Them talking about religious tourism, that is just a spur of the moment and they have no plans for it, just like how when them build the trelawny stadium you hear bout sport tourism etc.

I was told that the reason we Jakans are reluctant to vote for the third party is we rather settle with a two headed monster than one with three heads.
            Casinos are a completely different story, and those that are in the business of...have the cash to buy anyone, thereby subverting....
            Things will get even worse.

Blessed

third party is not the solution. The solution is to hold our politicians accountable. I give Bartlett credit at least he is putting the cards on the table unlike what has been happening with gambling machine over the last decade or so. We already have casino in Jamaica, believe it or not.

The people of Jamaica will vote for criminals if they are in the same party. Until we realise that can't work then things will remain. To Bruce credit he is putting a lot of things on the table, like it or not.

Frankly, I will not say Casinos cannot cause problems with people who are irresponsible enough to gamble away all their money. I do not see where this organized crime issue comes into play that the churches have been pushing for the past decades.

Casinos should be brought in with the sole intention of attracting more tourists, not as another gambling avenue for Jamaicans. By this, I am not saying that Jamaicans should not be allowed to participate, but people who decide to are responsible for their losses.

I do not think that Vegas has more crime because it is built on the casino industry. I do not think St Marten's crime problems are caused by casinos either. They have about five to 6 large casinos and a few small ones here in Kansas City and you never hear of them causing or contributing to crime. Moreover, Kansas City is ranked in the top 20 cities in the country with a high crime rate.

The way I see it, casinos are a means to provide well needed jobs for a lot of people. It will allow government to earn well need funds for its coffers. It will attract other tourists who may not look to Jamaica as they like casino gaming as a part of their vacation entertainment.

The gang mafia theory associated with casinos is tiried and folks need to come with better argument than that. There is a lot of evidence to the contrary that these things plague todays casinos more in the movies than in real life.

If we want to grow our tourism product, then casinos are a must, or we will stand to lose to the Cubas and other developing tourist markets in the short run.

Isn't it strange, we want to grow what isn't crying for growth(Tourism is the second largest money earner...)at the expense of what(moral decadence remains a HUGE problem) is glaringly in need of growth in a positive way.
                  The people that funds Cash Plus' scam do so because of desperation(the void needs to be filled)and not because they have money managing handicaps.
                  Bottom line, you do not gamble for good reasons.

Blessed

Rocky did you realise England just granted a license for their first Casino?
                    England nuh need to grow.

Jamaica has had 2 million tourist since since the 1980s and hotel rooms have been coming on line but not much more tourist and this has resulted in many small properties going outa business as the larger hotel can afford to lower their prices. In order to full up the rooms more tourists and attractions are needed.

As if England is the quintessence of anything desired, and why they took so looong?
                      Too early to determine success or failure , which is of the utmost importance.
                      Jamaica is unique, we have a corrupt way of doing things, and the agents of the state are for hire to the highest bidder.

Blessed

Well we need to solve our problem but nobody can yet show me a study that say Casino bring more violence and until then it is just something the church trying to do as they can influence the people without proper research data.

As if England is the quintessence of anything desired, and why they took so looong?
                          Too early to determine success or failure , which is of the utmost importance.
                          Jamaica is unique, we have a corrupt way of doing things, and the agents of the state are for hire to the highest bidder.

Blessed
                          Casino arguments are pure red herrings.

I dont give a darn either way, but its amusing to see the churches get into a hissy fit every time the topic comes up.

The hypocrisy is surreal.

Isn't it strange, we want to grow what isn't crying for growth(Tourism is the second largest money earner...)
                            Come on Rocky, you certainly are not serious. Am I reading you correctly that because tourism is the second largest foreign exchange earner, we should do nothing to increase its potential? We have to treat tourism as a business and as you may know if you are in business you have to be continually seek means of growing your business. You have to stay a step of the competition.

Bottom line, you do not gamble for good reasons.
                            I do not gamble because I just do not find it appealing. The fact remains however that there are millions of Americans and tourists from other countries who plan their vacation with casino gaming an important part of their plan. We cannot continue to turn our backs on a means to further enhance the tourism product.

Will casinos bring problems to Jamaica? I do not think it will not bring what is not already there. The fact is, the benefits could far outweigh the problems we think it may bring. Sometimes governments have to do what will bring the greater good. Currently the rate of unemployemnt is so high and casinos could provide jobs to some of those unemployed folks. Like a doctor who has to prescribe a medication, a particular medecine may have certain risks, but when the benefits outweigh the risks, they prescribe it anyway.

I say go with properly regulated casino. Like horse racing and lottery, it is no different and prople have to take responsibility for putting their hard earned funds in gambling.

but real nonetheless!!