Bernard Lodge City

• Bernard Lodge City

The idea of developing Bernard Lodge, following the demise of king sugar, started under the previous Administration. The current Administration has taken the idea a bit farther to cover 4,677 acres, construction of 17,000 houses, as well as industrial, commercial and recreational complexes.

It is major projects like these that will make the difference in growing Jamaica and providing jobs. The argument that too much of Jamaica's best agricultural lands have been given over to real estate is short-sighted.

Jamaica is unlikely to ever be self-sufficient in food production because of its small size and growing population. We will therefore need to import some of what we consume. Naturally, we want to produce as much food as we can to support our farmers, reduce imports and foreign exchange expenditure, but there is a limit to how much we can do in that respect.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...1?profile=1100
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Build house on less than prime agri lands!

Start by knocking down the ramshackles along the coastline from NMA to Spanish Town.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015