• Reggae all a fame (Way to go sirs)

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...-Fame_19228079

Nice idea but like most things unless someone with a passion and some basic organization skill owns it and drives forward, it won't happen.

Please keep govt out of it as much as possible, unless you want it to be a home for madmen and tying out goats.

Money to construct the hall of fame could be sourced from the Diaspora.

"You could ask everybody to send US$10. But you have to have transparency and decent people handling the money and get an architect to design a nice place.
    This is the kind of idea that will get nuff "Likes" on Facebook......until its time to collect and then *******crickets*****

LOL!!! you see it too.

Yes...JC Ites are all about building lasting & valuable national institutions...not mere yappin, Babylon trinket-consuming or selfish money-making like most Jamaicans

More to come...so please stand by

Fervet Opus in Campis
        Last edited by Don1; September 10, 2015, 03:06 PM.

Nice idea but like most things unless someone with a passion and some basic organization skill owns it and drives forward, it won't happen.

Please keep govt out of it as much as possible, unless you want it to be a home for madmen and tying out goats.

This is the kind of idea that will get nuff "Likes" on Facebook......until its time to collect and then *******crickets*****
          I posted about a Reggae Hall of fame several years ago.

If it were even established--a big area of contention would be "who could be inducted".

Two close friend and i discussed this, and a consensus among us was not forth-coming.............

Yes, there are artists who would naturaly make the cut...like those listed by the Inner Circle Brothers.
          Last edited by HL; September 10, 2015, 04:51 PM.

it full arready .... derrick harriot, clancy eckles, bunny and scully, desmond dekker, the wailing wailers as a group and individually, bob andy, prince buster ... whew mi tiyad ... toots, millie small, the mighty diamonds, Jacob miller tinga and roman stewart (songwriters or artists), max romeo ... dang ...

FULLY agree with ALL your inductees.

Would you put Buju in the hall of Fame?

Selection would best be handled by a group like the Jamaica Federation of musicians, but they don't seem to be very active these days.

One of our big problems is continuity and sustainability. Jamaica Music awards lasted a few years, then nothing. If the hall of fame or museum can't sustain itself it will fold in a few years or end up being an embarassment.

HL, during my recent ATL visit I went to the Coca-Cola museum. You have to ask yourself how do these people manage to create a viable operation based on the history of a soft drink? It was a welll spent few hours but really, they are not working with a whole lot, they just found a way to make it interesting. They make such a big show out of the secret formula for example. Those people are experts at what they do, no question about it.

on the work he has done so far, no. shabba, yes. buju may yet make it though depending on what happens upon his release.

The same is done with tourist destinations like Stone Mountain, Pigeon Forge, Blue Ridge etc...etc...

Regular places but 'hyped' into something exciting!!

Beg to disagree Sir G. On the strength of Til Shiloh alone he should be there. If one wishes to factor in his current troubles as a factor I have no issue with that. But on the quality of his music I think he matches Shabba on the Dancehall side and trumps him him on the reggae/cultural side. Some man say the the coke thing diminishes his accomplishments and I understand that opinion.

Buju, Beenieman, Yellowman, Michigan n Smiley, Admiral Bailey, Ninjaman....whew me tyad....Peter Metro, Barrington Levy, Shaggy, Sean Paul, Maxi Priest, Bounty Killer, Black Uhuru, Steel Pulse, Third World, Jimmy Cliff....cho mek me stop
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Let me add a few: Byron Lee and the Dragonaires, Fab 5, Tomorrows Children. ZapPow, Max Romeo, Burning Spear, Augustus Pablo, SLy and Robbie, URoy, Ken Boothe, Big Youth, UB40.. whew mi tyad

Ken Lazarus?

Yes, we have mentioned this before. One ting this should not be managed by the Gov't. Most of the music from the old JBC has been looted & stolen years ago and gone forever. Butch Stewart is best able to take on this.