STEM school announced for Norwood

• STEM school announced for Norwood

Member of parliament for St James North West, Dr Horace Chang, has announced plans for the construction of a science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) school in Norwood, which is located in his constituency.

The school may initially enrol boys exclusively, partly because young Jamaican males are marginalised in the education system, he said.

“While we have a lot of activities involving young men, we have an education system which is designed to suppress our young, humble, male society, and that means 99 per cent young black males.

“The entire system is designed to put them at the bottom of the socio-economic ladder; that is, the education system we have inherited, and we have not done enough to transform and change it,” said Chang.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...ounced-norwood
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Teach Garveyism inna di school maybe that can help.We have enough all boys school struggling in mathematics and the sciences ,you think building one for that exclusive need will be a game changer.

Young men failing is more a psycho social problem.Fix that 1st.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Maybe if the fathers play a positive role in the lives of the boys we will have a better grades. That comes first, I am all for teaching Garveyism and the STEM school but it have to start a YAARD and community.

On point Assasin!

Address the root cause.

Garveyism encompasses fatherhood and more,infact it is about the family.
          Last edited by Sir X; January 11, 2020, 01:21 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

yes but the immediate generation of parents have to buy in.

Thats why its taught,like most subjects.Students dont grasp the value until they are in it,in some cases after completing it.Yes you do have some who are eager to learn before its taught,but thats not the majority.

Example, english,math and comprehension classes.