Port Royal : Spoke to Mum

• Port Royal : Spoke to Mum

About the cruises in the carribbean and central America,she goes on alot of them.1st panama is a dump,Linon Costa Rica is trying ,none of the ports in the carribbean have anything on our ports of calling. With one in mexico being a little decent.Now to Port Royal the little restaurant they have there beat everything she has experienced given the tranquility of the environment and the attraction of the Fort,is secound to none.

The only thing she is worried about is criminal elements creeping and taking over,which should not happen given port Royal is a dead end where there is one way in and out,so the security forces shouldn't have a problem keeping them out.To put the nail in the competition's coffin,imagine when they finished developing the product.

To sum it up,sellllll offffffffffffff!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Maudib, as a man who have the Drivah's number programmed in your celly, give him a call and bring this to his attention nuh? I have been promoting Port Royal as a major tourist destination in Jamaica for years on this forum. Here is another golden opportunity being presented. The Pirates of the Caribbean is a billion dollar franchise, and the producers, Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer has decided not to film the latest episode in the Caribbean because of the high cost. This is a perfect opportunity for the GOJ to step in and make all sort of concessions and offer to have them film in Port Royal. The history of pirating in the Caribbean revolves around Port Royal. The windfall from having such a global franchise is immeasurable. This past week, HBO literally took over the little town that I work in to film some 1920's movie with a big named star. They were literally filming right outside my office. The town itself earned a good chunk of money and the police department licked their fingers. Since I have been here, this is about the fourth or fifth major film being shot in the town. The biggest one was with Richard Gere and some big name actress whose name I forget. The after-effect of a major blockbuster movie can be extremely profitable. Since week, I saw the Hobbittown from the Lord of the Rings trilogy being featured on America's Next Top Model. Pick up the phone and give your friend a call. Tell him to sic Ed Bartlett and JAMPRO on this.

04 May 2010 16:40
    Pirates Of The Caribbean - Disney Boss Orders Pirates Budget Cut

The fourth installment of the PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN franchise is facing steep budget cuts - the new boss of Disney has ordered the movie's production to be "mean and lean".
    Johnny Depp will return to the big screen as Captain Jack Sparrow in the latest high-seas adventure, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides.
    The last movie, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, was one of the most expensive productions in film history, costing a staggering $300 million (£200,000) to make.
    And despite the series taking in a huge $2.68 billion at the global box office so far, Disney chairman Rich Ross has ordered producer Jerry Bruckheimer to cut costs by $100 million (£67 million) through a combination of cheaper locations and fewer takes.
    The moviemaker tells the Los Angeles Times, "He (Ross) wants to be mean and lean and make these movies very entertaining but also very cost effective.
    "The hard thing is you have to make painful decisions that cut into some very entertaining sequences. You have to figure out how to keep the movie very entertaining and give the audience more than what they expect and yet be cost-effective about it."
    It was reported last year (09) that the shooting of the film would be moved from the usual locations around the Caribbean and Los Angeles, to Hawaii and off the coast of England in a bid to save money.

Glad to finally see some action.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Its embarrassing when you can have so much wealth and opportunities and sit on it ,clueless,not knowing what to do with it.The only cities that can rival our entertainment/ tourist product is NYC.

Where are you going to find hot spots,food,music,sports and history on offer in such a small location.Soon to be advertised on a global scale from 3 direct international media angles.Cricket- CPL ,Track and Field - Racers Grand Prix and Cruises - Port Royal.This product is global to be beamed around the world,monthly in terms of cruises, annually in terms of sports,all televised at critical vacation or holidays calendar times.

That's to build on the musical history which brings in its tourist.The next step is the renovation of kingston, all these thoroughfares and garrison which tourist have to travel through in some cases visit,,in order to full fill their iteniary, have to be cleaned up. That's the residual effect, the money flowing in to rehab Kingston will be done with conditions from local and international investors that corruption be dealt with.New industries, technologically driven ( stem) will be needed and developed, along with building on the low hanging fruit to drive Kingston forward. THAT IS WHERE THE REAL MONEY IS,REAL ESTATE 101.Paint or renovate the house from the outside 1st with shiny ornaments and the world knows,its going up for sale,while you renovate the inside .The trick is,its sold before the job is done. FYI houses are now being built stem ready...lol.

Anyone thinking the the mecca will be reduced to a service whore house ,have another thing coming to them.This generation will not be left behind in this stem revolution.
      Last edited by Sir X; January 28, 2020, 06:42 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Covering all of your bases I see. The DonMaster is gonna give you a big fat F for that diatribe when he reads it.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Consistently, they are all intrinsically linked if the Mecca is to see its potential, unlike some who couldn't see the value of a GrandPrix/ Diamond league meet beaming live from the Mecca.

The grandprix attracts a different type of tourist than your average joe.These are middle to upper middle class ,one or two millionaires based mainly in europe who love track and field.
          IMAGINE A 5 K RACE THROUGH KINGSTON.

Imagine what skill set and investment they bring to the Mecca.

LOL!!! you see it.

One minute Tourism is a scorn of the earth and low level earning and not worth it. Next post tourism is been under develop? which is it.

Jangle I know you and I are simply saying increase the number, develop in fave or local communities and small business. Change the way how the money is distributed by policies so Jamaicans can benefit. How can tourism be bad when you have a country of 2.5 million and a market of 4 million people coming to your shore who can purchase goods and service without paying to export them?

New owner takes control of Morgan’s Harbour hotel

Morgan’s Harbour Hotel now has a new owner, a Malta-based company that took possession last month following a court ruling ordering the former operator to *vacate the property.

The sale price to Grand Hotel Excelsior Limited has not been disclosed.

In December, the Court of Appeal gave Lashmont Financial Services a month to vacate the hotel, an order which upheld a February 2018 Supreme Court decision made by Justice Carol Edwards in favour of the receiver-*managers for Morgan’s Harbour, Wildred Baghaloo and Caydion Campbell.

The sale comes more than four years into the receivership.

Since Lashmont Financial Services appointed them in September 2015 to recover a debt, the joint receivers have been trying to dispose of the Morgan’s Harbour Hotel, which included approximately 24 acres of leased lands.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/b...-harbour-hotel