• Sandals considering EP hotel investment

Kingston and nearby areas like Portmore, Spanish Town and St. Thomas need more medium sized hotels and motels to help drive visitors arrivals.
    Sandals Resorts International is considering developing a boutique hotel, possibly on the north-eastern side of Jamaica, which incorporates Portland and St Mary.

The hotel would be operated as a European Plan or EP property, which, in concept, offers lodgings or accommodations, but not meals.

Sandals Resorts’ speciality is the all-inclusive package, which covers food, hotel rooms and activities.

“Being the largest all-inclusive hotel in the country and Caribbean, I can say that there is a ripe opportunity for non-all-inclusive hotels,” said Sandals Executive Chairman Adam Stewart at the weekly Mayberry Investor Forum on Wednesday.

“Jamaica needs more EP hotels. I myself will be looking in that direction to balance out our portfolio in Jamaica,” he said, in response to a query on the best area to invest in the tourism recovery.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...tel-investment
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good idea.. I sense the East cost St Mary, St Thomas Portland should be mandated for EP so we don't force people to stay in and we have a more diverse tourism product. I don't think we need all super exclusive in portland... Let the people get out and enjoy the restaurants and sites..

How about fixing up Dragon Bay hotel. One of the most beautiful little hotel in Portland.

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...land-residents
      https://www.jamaicascene.com/hotels/...ach_resort.php