New Parliament building could be country's most iconic edifi

• New Parliament building could be country's most iconic edifi

Jamaica's new Parliament building has the potential to become the country's most iconic edifice, according to the project's adviser and patron, Gordon Gill.

"This could really be Jamaica's 'Dubai' moment. I think this new Parliament building, whichever of the designs actually wins, has the potential to become significant, our own iconic building, a postcard-type edifice that captures the spirit of the people and the direction in which the country is heading," he said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...c-edifice-says
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Waste of money.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How??
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Given the rampant poverty I see no reason to waste tax payers dollars on a new leather chair and wooded desks with a microphone in a new AC building when it would cost a fraction of the price to renovate the old building , of which nothing is wrong with.

https://www.google.com/search?q=gord...h=750&dpr=1.25

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Journalism at its best. I have read the headline on two newspaper but I see no pictures of the designs.. Am I missing something?

Waste of money.
            Total waste.

True. The statues in Emancipation Park in New Kingston and also by the stadium were a waste of money too. They should also stop the renovation of the historical Ward Theatre downtown too. They can use that money to feed the number of poor people in the surrounding ghettos.

Stop chat fawttt ! Emancipation park is about cultural upliftment of oppressed jamaican people,Ward theatre renovation has to do with a delapidated building that has historical and cultural significance which can make a profit to sustain itself and uplift the people with entertainment.

What tearing down a maintained building ,pumping billlions to build a new one will achieve besides politicians entertaining themselves ?

If they feel it isnt modern enough, renovate the building .

Within your narrow mindedness you answered your own question. If Kingston is to be redeveloped and become the driving economic force of Jamaica then tearing down or renovating the old and building the new is part and parcel of that vision. Sometimes it’s cheaper to tear down and rebuild new than it is to renovate. In your narrow mindedness you only see this as something to benefit the politicians instead of the people of Jamaica and the country as a whole. Question- Why do millions of Americans travel to Washington DC annually to visit the the Lincoln Memorial and the many museums?

https://www.ourjaparliament.com/submissions/

Stop chat fawttt ! Emancipation park is about cultural upliftment of oppressed jamaican people,Ward theatre renovation has to do with a delapidated building that has historical and cultural significance which can make a profit to sustain itself and uplift the people with entertainment.

What tearing down a maintained building ,pumping billlions to build a new one will achieve besides politicians entertaining themselves ?

If they feel it isnt modern enough, renovate the building .
                      Ward theatre should be rebuilt as a music hall like Radio City Music Hall in NYC. Like Mutabaruka says there is no suitable place in Jamaica for the expression of of our musical heritage.

I saw what you did there jangle ... gammaesque

Renovate and retrofit .....

We have not done things that needed to be done for years and it has cost us over time.

Investing in infrastructure is not cheap and needs to be done otherwise we will continue to look to short term solutions.

I agree that all this road work taking place at the same time is a major inconvenience and could have been planned better.

Seems this government is hurrying up with all of this with one eye on an election

Within your narrow mindedness you answered your own question. If Kingston is to be redeveloped and become the driving economic force of Jamaica then tearing down or renovating the old and building the new is part and parcel of that vision. Sometimes it’s cheaper to tear down and rebuild new than it is to renovate. In your narrow mindedness you only see this as something to benefit the politicians instead of the people of Jamaica and the country as a whole. Question- Why do millions of Americans travel to Washington DC annually to visit the the Lincoln Memorial and the many museums?
                            I like submission #3.

Runner-up #5

There is something about 'symbols". We as Black people need to establish permanent symbols to represent us , our potential and our abilities. Future generations must look at these symbols and be proud of their ancestors.

As to feeding poor people. Large scale efforts must be in place to improve employment so poor people can fed themselves.

I like submission #3.

Runner-up #5

There is something about 'symbols". We as Black people need to establish permanent symbols to represent us , our potential and our abilities. Future generations must look at these symbols and be proud of their ancestors.

As to feeding poor people. Large scale efforts must be in place to improve employment so poor people can fed themselves.
                              Change is hard. A government that invests millions into the country’s infrastructure will always encounter strong resistance especially when the other social services within the country are weak and underdeveloped. It’s not easy for the poor populace to see nor understand the long term benefits of these major investments.

I visited Panama and Cartagena, Columbia over the summer. I was surprised to see so many skyscrapers, modern highways and and spanking new and ultra modern subway system in this little Third World country of Panama. The locals informed me that all this newness occurred within the last 15 years. What I learned was that Panamanians as a whole do not have a strong desire to migrate to the USA as they are relatively comfortable living in Panama.