The Pope

• The Pope

I grew up as a Catholic in Jamaica but had to give it up after I came here. My ribs still got the mark from my wife's elbow after I dropped asleep and started snoring loudly during one Good Friday mass. Mass here is certainly nothing like the drumming and singing in Jamaican masses. Why all the hype?? Every damn station carrying the mass. Them better not romp with me Shonda Rhymes tonight.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am surprised by the blanket coverage myself. Popey is a much bigger celebrity than I thought he was.

He is an extraordinary man. Much much different than all his predecessors.

I listened to his entire address to Congress. A simple commonsense bipartisan speech.
      Last edited by HL; September 24, 2015, 09:48 PM.

He seems like a down to earth guy. Yesterday he rejected lunch with Boehner & Pelosi and had lunch with the homeless. He lives in a small apartment, and anyone notice he was escorted in a small Fiat vehicle yesterday.

Mega preachers with their private jets & 10,000 sq ft mansions need a likkle lesson in humility.

not unlike them though he has a massive budget at his disposal.

Another outstanding speech to the UN General Assembly. (In progress).

US humans have the in born ability to do good and evil. My hope is that this Pope will serve as the 'enzyme ' that stimulates the world to do better. We have that potential.

Another outstanding speech to the UN General Assembly. (In progress).

US humans have the in born ability to do good and evil. My hope is that this Pope will serve as the 'enzyme ' that stimulates the world to do better. We have that potential.
              Fat chance!

Everyone's talking about emulating his kindness and humility. Makes me wonder how many will remember this next week. This is a man who has washed the feet of the poor. Hands up those of us who are prepared to do likewise!

At least there has been real change in NY where churches are being encouraged to provide meaningfully for the homeless, not just meal handouts.

Killing babies,same sex marriages,death penalty,and his disparaging views on capitalism,do you REALLY expect the Pope to be well met other than the mere symbolic gestures of a host?

Fat chance!

Everyone's talking about emulating his kindness and humility. Makes me wonder how many will remember this next week. This is a man who has washed the feet of the poor. Hands up those of us who are prepared to do likewise!

At least there has been real change in NY where churches are being encouraged to provide meaningfully for the homeless, not just meal handouts.
                  It could also be reasonable in asking...how many Syrian (and other refugees) have the Vatican (Italy) taken in.......?

Still, with the current status of this world, i hope he can influence some change.

BTW: I think he has. Cryface Boehner resigned.

http://mashable.com/2015/09/24/john-boehner-crying/

vatican took in 2 or 3 refugees I believe

So di ooman dem nuh haffi cova dem 'ead fi Mass? Times change!

Where the ~ahem- hell have you been?!