PM convinced Ja can manufacture vaccines, but...

• PM convinced Ja can manufacture vaccines, but...

Prime Minister Andrew Holness says he is committed to giving more focus to research and development as he's convinced that Jamaicans have the capacity to manufacture pharmaceutical drugs, such as vaccines, in much the same way as other countries in this region and further afield.

“Jamaica has the human capacity to do it. The question is one of economics — do we have the scale to do it,” Holness argued in an interview with the Jamaica Observer on April 8 at Jamaica House.

“Then there is the issue of, have we the history and social capital and entrepreneurial capital invested in doing these kinds of developments... we have made drugs in Jamaica before, but it has not been elevated to the level where it has become an economic enterprise,” he noted.

He added, though, that if his Government were to give top priority to that type of investment at this time he was sure the Administration would be criticised. “You'd hear 'Why is Jamaica going to look about that when people ah starve?'” he said.

“I have to deal with that every day, because we have an intellectual class that has misled this country for decades to get our people seeing themselves as lesser than they are, as if we could not achieve the highest standards…We can, but it's as if we don't believe in ourselves,” the prime minister said.

He pointed to the inadequacy of the current Parliament building to emphasise his point about the country operating and providing services at a higher level.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...2?profile=1373
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015