Curbing the Indiscipline in Jamaica

• Curbing the Indiscipline in Jamaica

I have said this before, to curb the level of indiscipline that permeates throughout Jamaica, it's got to start by enforcing the laws on the book.

With the new Road Traffic Act a matter of weeks away from being passed into law, the Transport Authority (TA) has a unique role to play. That includes enforcement of the regulations, something the Authority's Chairman, Joseph Shoucair, seems to be anticipating with relish.

"Government has put on the table a radical reform of the sector, [and] we are leading a public discussion on the proposals. We know that out of these discussions will come a dramatic reform of the sector, and we are looking forward to playing our role in that process," he told The Gleaner at yesterday's anniversary reception and awards luncheon, held at The Jamaica Pegasus hotel.

"I wish the public to understand that the Transport Authority has limited operational responsibility under the law. It can only deal with breaches of the Transport Authority Act. It cannot deal with speeding, it cannot deal with dangerous overtaking, and it cannot deal with bad driving," Shoucair said.

"The broader function belongs with the police, but we have to work together to curb the level of indiscipline in the public transportation sector and the undisciplined driving that is leading to the loss of lives," he said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...-says-shoucair
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Behavior modification and deconfliction classes need to be taught from kindergarten to the 1st year of college.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

when you try & enforce the laws the activists come out of the woodwork & yuh hear that you fighting against poor people blah blah blah blah...

Jamaica right now needs heavy-handedness and draconian measures to enforce the laws on the books regardless of people's rights. The beast that is crime AND violence cannot be tamed and killed without using force.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

do that and you get voted out...

Education Ministry Rolls Out Behaviour Change Programme In Denham Town ZoSO

Schools located in the Denham Town Zone of Special Operations (ZOSO) in west Kingston will benefit from the implementation of a School-Wide Positive Behaviour Intervention and Support (SWPBIS) framework, when the 2018/19 academic year starts in September.

The SWPBIS, spearheaded by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information, is a proactive, team-based initiative tailored to create and sustain safe and effective schools, by fostering a disciplined and structured environment to deal with challenges such as student violence.

It will, among other things, target issues such truancy, and behaviour modification among youth and adolescents.

The framework will place emphasis on preventing/solving behavioural challenges through a data-driven approach; and developing pro-social skills.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...nham-town-zoso

Yuh hear mi deconfliction and behavior modification classes need to be taught from kingdergarten to college .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...letes-training

This is needed in the short term in other places. Keep the youngsters in class, give them a trade and some encouragement.

Cops partner with stakeholders to clean up Half-Way Tree

The Public Safety and Traffic Enforcement Branch (PSTEB) of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) partnered with several stakeholders in a clean-up operation in Half-Way Tree on Friday. That exercise is a start to what, the PSTEB said, will be an ongoing strategy to enforce and maintain law and order in public spaces.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...-half-way-tree

Quality of life ticketing is a billion dollar business.

I know Shoucair ,he is a decent man, and is very good organizing pretty much anything.
                      Probably the greatest strategist I know from Jamaica.
                      Kept relevant some of the biggest money brokers(top richest family) in Jamaica.
                      We are in good hands.