Let's have Spanish as a second language

• Let's have Spanish as a second language

While patois is the language most widely spoken by Jamaicans, we must acknowledge that it is of no use for external communication, and we do need a second language for that purpose.

Some years ago, the Ministry of Education under the late Sir Florizel Glasspole declared Spanish Jamaica's second language. It is time that we really make it so. Why? Jamaica is located in the middle of the Western Hemisphere in which the vast majority of the population are Spanish-speaking.
    If only we could recognise the inanity of these statements. First, the writer recognises tha Patwah is "the language most widely spoken by Jamaicans". The writer wants us to declare Spanish as a seond language.

HUH?!!

So where does that leave English?!

I will say it again - until we recognise formally and officially that Patwah as a national and official language of Jamaica, and acknowledge it as our first language, we will never begin to master English. English needs to be recognised as an official language and also our SECOND language. Until this happens all other peoples of the world will continue to speak better English than we do, even though they were brought up speaking other native languages.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...guage_19229684

If only we could recognise the inanity of these statements. First, the writer recognises tha Patwah is "the language most widely spoken by Jamaicans". The writer wants us to declare Spanish as a seond language.

HUH?!!

So where does that leave English?!

I will say it again - until we recognise formally and officially that Patwah as a national and official language of Jamaica, and acknowledge it as our first language, we will never begin to master English. English needs to be recognised as an official language and also our SECOND language. Until this happens all other peoples of the world will continue to speak better English than we do, even though they were brought up speaking other native languages.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...guage_19229684
    So Patwa being the clear & unassailable #1.... English would be 3rd??

Not a backside!!!

Hinglish fi Numba 2 mi seh!!!!!!!

That's what I am saying. I couldn't care less where Spanish want to end up. But we must start by recognizing Patwah as No. 1, then English would be our No. 2. And then we will start to actually learn it as a foreign language and speak and write it better than we have been doing for the past 400 years!

What yuh seh, Porque no te calles?

Porque? Or por que?

Mandarin Chinese, Russian & Arabic. Spanish is old school second language.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Mandarin Chinese, Russian & Arabic. Spanish is old school second language.
              You may be onto something!

Porque no?

Cantonese taste better.

You're quite right. The article makes utmost sense but the writer lost his/her way in the last two paragraphs as you indicated.

English in Primary schools should be delivered as ESL and Spanish (or whichever other language) "they" deem another desirable language can also be added to the curriculum say at Grade 4 (arbitrary). The experts can figure out how and when is best. I suspect that part of the problem is that the instructors (of English as a subject) are not much more literate in the language than the students they teach. I could be wrong here... as i have no evidence to back up that statement.

All I know, all Jamaican who can should learn another language and mi nah talk Patois. If Patois is second language then make another language a third. Even just basic understanding and greetings

If we want to sell things, communicate with others, and for it is good for career.

All I know, all Jamaican who can should learn another language and mi nah talk Patois. If Patois is second language then make another language a third. Even just basic understanding and greetings

If we want to sell things, communicate with others, and for it is good for career.
                        How yuh get patwah to be a second language? Patwah is our first language, our native tongue, our mother tongue! Yuh cyaan rekagnize dat?!

Smh

I suspect that part of the problem is that the instructors (of English as a subject) are not much more literate in the language than the students they teach. I could be wrong here... as i have no evidence to back up that statement.
                          That is fact! Our teachers, many of them, need to learn English as a foreign language before them can even think of pedagogy in that field.

¿Por qué no te callas?... it should be!

If yuh haxin: "Wha mek yu nuh shet yu mout'?"

You see, Willi learned Spanish on the streets of Barcelona, while you and I studied the king's Spanish.