Waterhouse cant afford Tegat either

• Waterhouse cant afford Tegat either

TVJ news tonight said that Waterhouse has decided not to employ Tegat as coach as they cant afford what he is asking.

They had contacted Tegat last week to fill their vacant coaching position but decided they cant foot the bill. This from a club which many think is one of the richest in the DPL.

Earlier this season Village's decision not to take him back was met with criticism from many quarters.

He was also contacted by Arnett, another club with deep pockets but never asked back for a second interview...wonder why?

Wonder if he has priced himself out of a job.

There is not questioin he is a good coach but maybe he nees to be more realistic.

I wonder what he is asking for as I have it on good sources there are coaches in the Manning and daCosta Cup making more than $100,000 a month and up to $200,000 for the season!

the fact is we need to be more realistic with what we pay coaches. US$1200 per month for Tappa is madness! yes, he may have priced himself out of a job, but he kept his dignity.

You mean thats what the JFF paying Tappa to coach the Boyz? Or is that for his coaching role at Seba?
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

guess

maybe dem give nandi all of di money?

My gues is Seba.
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

wrong!

Tegat? Dignity? Hmmmm what am I missing here?

JFF paying Whitmore less than US$10K per month to coach the boyz?

what did they pay simoes?

he is getting at least US$5000 per match though, as are the players.

I agree with Tegat. Do NOT sell yourself short. He is a quality coach; one of the best among the former ReggaeBoyz-turned-coaches. Furthermore, he has proven himself from William Knibb to Village Utd to the other Trelawny club which he took to the NPL a couple years ago.

The Waterhouse top brass are denying themselves of a quality individual! Mr Bicknell et al need to summon their executive skills and get added corporate sponsorship to cover their coaching needs. They could also consider purchasing a house in the Havendale/Arlene Garden/Meadowbrook/Queensbury/Meadowvale or Tree Oaks area. This house cousld be set aside to be the residence (if needed) of the contracted coach. That would help to offset a significant chunk of the pay package which a negotiating coach may ask for.

Bottom line is that they must be prepared to pay comparatively fair market price for any good coach for our top football league. They need to stop the foolishness and give Tegat a second phone call! Respect is due!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Very interesting post!
                        Wonder what the coaches at the various levels are being paid?
                        TD - JA?
                        Assistant to the TD - i.e. Tappa?
                        U-17 - Men?
                        U-17 - Women?
                        U-20 - Men...and the Women equivalent coach?
                        National Senior Women?

NPL coaches salary ranges + Bonuses + Perks (What are the perks?)
                        Assistant NPL coaches + Perks, etc.

Manning Cup Coaches?
                        D'cup coaches?

Prep school coaches?

Those figures you quote appear 'pepper corn' like!
                        *J$200,000.00 month = $615.38 per week or U$31,999.76...but 'the season' could be xxxx weeks? = JA$xxxxx per week???

Help?

*U$1.00 = JA$75.00

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                          They could also consider purchasing a house in the Havendale/Arlene Garden/Meadowbrook/Queensbury/Meadowvale or Tree Oaks area. This house cousld be set aside to be the residence (if needed) of the contracted coach. That would help to offset a significant chunk of the pay package which a negotiating coach may ask for.

Bottom line is that they must be prepared to pay comparatively fair market price for any good coach for our top football league. They need to stop the foolishness and give Tegat a second phone call! Respect is due!
                          Mi ear seh Tree Oaks area tun bad area? A tru?

karl..why do you bother to convert it to US? in the context of jamaica and what the jamaican market can take it is not relevant....e.g. although panama uses usd as the officially currency yuh cannot compare panamanian salaries to BVI (which also uses usd) simply because of the cost of living...

karl..why do you bother to convert it to US? in the context of jamaica and what the jamaican market can take it is not relevant...
                              thank you gamma... sometimes i wonder about people who love to convert jamaica salary structure to the usa in dollar terms without taking into consideration the cost of living requirements...

excellent point gamma...