• Tourism, the reservoir of Low Skill Jobs

Translators, interpreters needed for conference industry

Associate language professor at the University of Technology, Jamaica, Dr Rohan Lewis has asserted that Jamaica needs a larger corps of translators and interpreters.

“One of the economic ministries is looking at the expansion of the tourism market into the area of conferencing. If you are marketing Jamaica as a destination for conferences and international meetings, one of the things that goes with that is a translation sector that is able to deal with meeting that need,” he said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...rence-industry
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

As mi say long time Tourism should be taught in school. Every student who get a good grade in Language Art should be taught other languages. This is a pathway to not only tourism but opportunities in other areas.

Wow! Translators & Interpreters!!!

Translators, interpreters needed for conference industry
      AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bwoooy mi affi wonda if dem mad ,cant blame this on the weed.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Cluelessness Abounds

Bwoooy mi affi wonda if dem mad ,cant blame this on the weed.
          Yuhseeit -- The fact that some consider the article significant just reflects a lack of understanding of 21st century realities

If this sub-sector gets off the ground what are we looking forward to... 2-3 dozen jobs for translators???

Yes one has to be well trained for this to do it well....but do evolved folks consider such jobs to be "high-level" 21st century occupations??

Are folks aware that they're hand-held translators for consumers now? And that conference translation will shortly be powered by AI?...Soon to be faster, more accurate and at a fraction of the cost of human services ?

Cluelessness abounds for sure...Jah help JA... which is becalmed in a Sea of Ignorance

Some people just comfortable with the same ole, same ole and putting it in a new box with a different name to sell it,is what they call progress.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

While the grass grows, the cow starves.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If you can speak 3 languages you triple your chance of finding a good job even if you are in technology or IT.

Don say 2 to 3 dozen jobs for translators if we embark on that madness,I say probably half a dozen,if wi lucky.

check out the conference industry and how translators are needed. Translators with a little education and willing to travel are not short of work.
                    https://www.jobmonkey.com/translatin...yment-outlook/

http://interpretertrain.com/student-...job-prospects/

Yuh a sample .

If you can speak 3 languages you triple your chance of finding a good job even if you are in technology or IT.
                        Woooiiieee 😂😂🤣 Mi spleen!!!

Man draw a US labor statistics and apply it to Jamaica,do we have Spanish immigrants flooding our borders in need of translators, do we have a school system ,health care or penal system in need of bilingual spanish translators. English is the language of business on the international scene,if we need translators that bad,grab one a dem Spanish manager from the Spanish hotel and gi im a smalls.

Kisssteeeeth.

check out the conference industry and how translators are needed. Translators with a little education and willing to travel are not short of work.
                            https://www.jobmonkey.com/translatin...yment-outlook/

http://interpretertrain.com/student-...job-prospects/
                            Yuteman the really important “foreign languages” it’s IMPERATIVE for 1000s of Jamaicans to master include C, C++, Java, Python and other software languages.

Coding is now virtually 21st Century literacy. You don’t appear to understand this reality

Since those languages are so critical of course one never hears the typical Jamaican like yourself speak of having our kids learn them en masse

This fascination with translators is a nonsensical sideshow by comparison. Cluelessness abounds 😱

Stem up ,mi say ! And Stem dem up.