Top 5 Ways JA can stop being a ShltHole Country in 20 years

Norman Manley airport divested

He said the aviation sector’s critical role to tourism and the services sector “made clear the need for [the] modernisation and development of our airports.”

“Through a thorough analysis, the Government decided that privatisation was the best available option for mobilising the considerable resources that would be required to achieve our objective,” the Minister noted.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...rport-divested
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The thing I like is that the government still own the airport but gives the company enough incentive to run it well.

Good move. Use some of the money on the other airport and ports.

GAP To Spend US$60m Over Three Years On NMIA

Airport operator Grupo Aeroportuario del Pacifico, GAP, announced plans to invest US$60 million in the first three years of operating the Norman Manley International Airport, NMIA, according to stock market filings.

Additionally, the Mexican company will pay the Jamaican Government US$7.1 million - J$950 million at current exchange rates - over a period of one year before officially taking control of the airport based in Kingston.

The details go beyond what was outlined at the local signing ceremony last week for the Government's award of the 30-year concession to GAP, which spoke to a commitment to upgrade the airport under a modernisation plan for more than US$100 million.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/b...ree-years-nmia
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jamaica to sign new air service agreements

Cabinet has given approval for the signing of new air-service agreements with the governments of Slovenia, the Kingdom of Morocco, The Bahamas and South Africa.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...ice-agreements

Jamaica needs more airports. The 2 major ones are at sea's edge and very very very vulnerable.

is there enough air traffic to support another international airport?

I suspect vernam field is the likely location

Reverse the question.

Jamaica should be having TONS more traffic. Passenger and Cargo.

Also one hurricane can take out BOTH Intl airports for months and what happen to the economy then.

We keep thinking small and short sighted.

“Our interest rates are at the lowest that they have ever been. Our unemployment is at the lowest that it has ever been. Our foreign reserves are in excess of US$3 billion. Jamaica has never had more visitor arrivals. We are the hottest destination in the English-speaking Caribbean and, I will say, this hemisphere,” Stewart said.

“We have more airlift than we have ever had before and more coming. We have more hotels coming into the country than we have ever had in history,” Stewart said, adding, “it has taken us 50 years to get to where we are and in the next 10 years we are going to literally add 50 per cent more to the economic impact of tourism in our country.”

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...3?profile=1056

😂 Mi belly! This is your response - as if it’s a solution to the fundamental problems I outlined???? I’m beginning to doubt your comprehension abilities

The guy says tourism will add a 50% increase in economic impact... in 10 years. That’s about a 3% compounded annual growth rate. Very noice. 😏

What’s 50% more of an inadequate and failed model in 10 years of extremely rapid global changes?? There will be moon bases and robots/AI running the planet by then. And JA’s leading enterprise will still be trying to find the best ways to serve fat tourists??

If Jamaica were your child I’d say you have very low ambitions and expectations for your offspring 😩

Bartlett says Jamaica on verge of recording 900,000 stopover visitors

ROSE HALL, St James — Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett says Jamaica is on the verge of recording a whopping 900,000 stopover visitors for this winter season, which ends next month.

“At the present ADRs [Average Daily Rate] for this winter, is heading up to give you nearly 900,000 stopover visitors in four months. This is unbelievable. We are over 600,000 already and we are only 10 weeks in the year,” stated an upbeat Bartlett.

“When you add cruise to that, you are well over the one million, of course,” he continued.

“At present, going for the year so far, Jamaica is in line to come away making five million visitors in one year,” Bartlett stressed.

The minister said that the tourism earnings for this year will be close to $4 billion.

Bartlett further stated that “the building out of inclusive tourism” has taken a new perspective, as the industry has grown from a fledgling activity into a mega industry, which now drives nine per cent of Jamaica's Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and contributes in revenue terms, 20 per cent of GDP.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...8?profile=1606

I see you’re heavily invested in Jamaica’s continued failure- by advocating more dependency on the same failed approaches i.e. an economy dominated into infinity by low skilled pursuits. You’re even on record as promoting legal prostitution to service tourists

Your opinions demonstrate a lack of respect for Black people and a lack of ambition for JA

Backward thinking is your right tho. Unfortunately the vast majority of Jamaicans share this pitiful backwardness 😎