New Parliament building could be country's most iconic edifi

plus it's more than a parliament building...it will have centralised government services...green space...retail...etc...it is part of the regeneration of downtown...myopic minds can't see further than their noses

Where will the funds come from,and will it make Parliament more efficient?
      Can't wait to hear every yute can build den state of the art Parliament building.

it's a PPP...so money will be from government & private investors...

I like the functionality of Finalist#2 and the architectural statement of Finalist #5
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Time Come! - PM Defends Plan To Build New Parliament Building

I want to pause here a bit because there is a sense in the country that we mustn't spend anything on government. There is a sense that if you are going to invest in making the symbols of government reflective of the hopes, dreams, ambitions, aspirations of the people, that you are wasting money because there is this great distrust of the State, and indeed a separation of the State from the people.

Investing in a Parliament [building] is not wasting the people's money. It is because we have not, as a country, made the investments in the symbols of our sovereignty why we have the fundamental issues with respect for the rule of law and fairness and dignity of the State, and until we break that and show that the Jamaican State is not a kleptocracy, enriching itself for a certain class or sector of the society, but is making an investment for everyone to be able to access and benefit from it, then we will continue as we are.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...ament-building
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It would be better if he did not say anything, I am now totally against that venture.
              Jamaica was much more prosperous during Norman Manley era, the project was on the backburner because it was seen as a misuse of public funds,referencing Norman Manley is a lame attempt to, at best, to get socialist to acquiesce..
              Same thing he did by claiming the diaspora will be given a seat at the table..., he is trying to quell the objections..
              MP's behaving themselves,lol!
              I feel like I had an encounter with a three card man.

Bite the bullet and get it done

Renovate and retrofit .....

We have not done things that needed to be done for years and it has cost us over time.

Investing in infrastructure is not cheap and needs to be done otherwise we will continue to look to short term solutions.

I agree that all this road work taking place at the same time is a major inconvenience and could have been planned better.

Seems this government is hurrying up with all of this with one eye on an election
                  Working with the hope of getting re-elected .... isn't that how it is supposed to go?

New Parliament building construction moves closer

Saturday, March 20, 2021
                    BY ALPHEA SAUNDERS
                    Senior staff reporter
                    saundersa@jamaicaobserver.com
                    CONSTRUCTION of a new Parliament building is to begin early in the next financial year, with detailed designs and drawings of the structure already done.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness made the announcement on Thursday as he made his contribution to the 2021/22 budget debate.

He said building approvals have been granted by the various authorities and the project is now undergoing the public investment process, to be followed by the contract procurement phase. The building is estimated to cost just over US$50 million.

“There is serious work to be done, and the Parliament as it is now structured is just not sufficient to carry out the level of work that is required. With 16 sessional committees and several ad hoc committees, this building doesn't have the facility to fully accommodate the Parliamentary committee system,” Holness told the House of Representatives.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...5?profile=1606

Vote dem out,waste of money !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Give you some time.

Few years to come, you will be visiting this building and viewing it with pride.

There is something to learn from traveling. Other cultures build to created symbols. Those buildings last for generations! A salute to the forward thinking of their race and culture.

Let the construction begin!

Try cleaning the streets,paving the roads painting buildings ,ticketing owners and pedestrians and tearing down eye sores,makes no sense you build a building for people to **** on it for it to become an eye sore.

Take a leaf from Singapore!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

new montego bay bypass...new south coast highway...new highway from wiiliamsfield to mandeville...new public beach park in montego bay...new 17-mile linear park from Ocean Boulevard in downtown Kingston to Port Royal...work anju a work...nuh chicken him a jerk...

Kudos to that much needed infrastructure, wasting money on a new parlimentarian building for people to Sh**,Pi** around and throw trash around it makes no sense. Quality of life is a billion dollar industry, when Anju figure dat out mek I know, cc Signapore.

people sh!t & p!ss & throw garbage in emancipation park? what you know bout jamaica anyway?