Kingston experiencing tourism renaissance

• Kingston experiencing tourism renaissance

Although Kingston is officially listed by the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) as one of the island’s six resort areas, the city has not always enjoyed first-call status as it relates to tourist arrivals. This, however, seems to be rapidly changing as the nation’s capital has been gaining traction as a cultural and musical destination and is now being given a second look by travellers, mainly the millennials.

“Jamaica’s tourism product is getting more diverse by the day. Our arrival figures are now at a stratospheric level where, for the first time in history, we welcomed some two million visitors in the first five months of the year and earned US$1.7 billion in revenue,” he notes.

He praises the owners for outfitting the hotel with Jamaica-made furnishings and promoting local culture and food through the establishment’s Gene Pearson Gallery and Redbones Blues Café.

For his part, R Hotel Director Joe Bogdanovich says that with the establishment’s opening come new possibilities for the expansion of Brand Jamaica through business tourism in the capital.

“Kingston has enormous potential for both business and conventional tourism, and we in the industry must continue to innovate in order to make Kingston the premier city to conduct business in the Caribbean,” he points out.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...sance-bartlett
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

" one of the island’s six resort areas"

Had to search to see which was the 6th. They listed the "South Coast" but completely ignored the destinations in Trelawny.

That aside, the numbers have certainly continued to improve. I am curious how things will play out when Puerto Rico is fully recovered from the storm and is a tourist destination again.

Storm in Puerto Rico doesn't have a lot of effect on Jamaica. We just have to continue doing what we are doing and we will be good. Building Port Royal, Kingston, and Trelawny getting major hotels. Update the free beaches islandwide and take care of the little things while getting local manufacturers, farmers and other local entrepreneurs more involved.

Totally agree, just continue the Kingston build out and we'll get there. Plus we should position ourselves to absorb the DR fallout.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We have to make sure our standard are kept and what happen in DR. stay there. Top quality product.

Now imagine with exporting mango and the new hotels building. Imagine what we can do with the old cane lands and supply produces that are of high value. Just need to plan accordingly.