Jamaica's eclectic taste in non-Reggae music?!

• Jamaica's eclectic taste in non-Reggae music?!

http://www.theguardian.com/music/201...ion-air-supply

Good read! I remember a few years ago being at The Jungle in Negril with some Americans. Sky Juice was the selector and he was juggling some hardcore dancehall for the crowd.

Then he changed pace and put on Celine's The Power of Love followed by some other love songs and the place mash up. They were totally amazed at the sight of Jamaicans bussing shot over Celine, lol.

Bdl, good visual on that I-man.

I recall in the 70's Winston Williams (the Whip) used to open his show with Chuck Mangione " We could do this all night"....from his Album Chase the Clouds Away.

This was my first real exposure to this great jazz musician. I have since then, purchased some of his Albums over the years.

On each trip to Jamaica, I am sure that I will hear songs that I will NEVER hear on radio stations here.

Example; Isaac Hayes 'I Stand Accused" [full version]...or songs by Ace Cannon, Skeeta Davis, Brook Benton, The Dells etc etc....

Few years ago I had the greatest culture shock ever. Just arrived from the airport and my friend took me to a dead yaad he called it. (9night?). The speakers were stacked up as described in the piece. Can you imagine they were blasting Bill Haley &His Comets Rock around the Clock !!!! among lots of other eclectic music.

Same is true for classical music. I recall ( as a kid) on sunday evenings my Dad listened to Mario Lanza, Ray Conniffs singers and group like these. This kind of music were were staples on Jamaican radio.

Very good original post.

not to mention our love of country music ......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-qK-9eIF2yI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMll6TNnTs4

and the granddaddy of them all ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=999RqGZatPs

Crystal Gayle was a big in Jamaica in the 80s! And rightly so!

That is what I miss in good music up here. Stations just play one form of music. Sometimes a little mixture is good. Now if you notice all the cool Jazz stations disappeared off your dial.

We use to rinse so many country, R and B and Jazz back in the days.

So you experience the nine night culture. It was a culture shock to me at my grandmother funeral as the dead yard I know back in the days was nice but totally different.

I know! You could select, say, RJR as your favourite station and just leave the dial right there. You hear a little of everything, even that god-awful soca music!

I listen to this station in T&T... live DJs, not pre-recorded...http://www.1077musicforlife.com/live/

Gamma, blup, blup on Marty Robbins, that is actually one LP I actually as a teen back in the days, something very haunting, very real, very visual in the way he sings, like you are there in real time seeing and feeling it. Especially so on El Paso.

Now, this is country music, not the rock crap they give us these days!

One of the last good country artist

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Se6tPt34mRI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RCyYuLQ7_Ws

the granddaddy of them all... wouldn't even argue dat... pawdie, some would say 'el paso'... we had the album (red vinyl disc) and it played everytime that stereo turned on... don't know how it managed to not get scratched...😃

I really loved Marty Robbins.

I hadn't heard his songs for year , then when I got into the series Breaking Bad the very final episode started off with the song El Paso:

I saddled up and away I did go,
                            Riding alone in the daaaaaaaaaark.
                            Maybe tomorrow a bullet may find me.
                            Tonight nothing's worse than this pain in my heart
                            I listened to Marty Robbins for about a week after that. What a unique style he had!

Well Country & Western music was well loved by Jamaicans and was a heavy influence on our music. Every DJ worth his salt from back in the 70's and early 80's wanted to use a bada$$ western moniker - Dilinger & Jose Wales comes readily to mind. Jamaicans have always been fascinated with the gun and the donmanship of those wild wild western movies and songs.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015