Jamaican Judge Robinson elected to ICJ...

• Jamaican Judge Robinson elected to ICJ...

Jamaican Judge Robinson elected to ICJ ahead of Argentine
    Monday, November 17, 2014 | 5:42 PM

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Jamaican Judge Patrick Robinson was today elected to the panel of judges which will serve the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in The Hague starting February 25, next year, for a nine-year period.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs this afternoon said that the elections were marked until the final round by differing results in the United Nations’ 197-member General Assembly and the 15-member United Nations Security Council, both of which are required to record a majority vote for the winning candidate.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...d-of-Argentine

Jamaican Judge Robinson elected to ICJ ahead of Argentine
    Monday, November 17, 2014 | 5:42 PM

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Jamaican Judge Patrick Robinson was today elected to the panel of judges which will serve the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in The Hague starting February 25, next year, for a nine-year period.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs this afternoon said that the elections were marked until the final round by differing results in the United Nations’ 197-member General Assembly and the 15-member United Nations Security Council, both of which are required to record a majority vote for the winning candidate.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...d-of-Argentine
    Fervet Opus in Campis...When wi shoot wi neva miss

Very smart man.. btw..what school him son dem did guh again ?

Quite an achievement. Well done Judge Robinson!

Suh kis mi neck...? Gamma seh a nuh di Patrick Robinson who ran on our 4x1 team in di 1964 Olympics (WR holders for a few days and 4th place finishers - one bad change).

...an dat deh Patrick Robinson (Westmoreland man - Baddo head picney) di guh a JC tuh! ...an di pic-cha a dead ring=a fi di 4 x 1 man??? kis mek neck??? (scratch ead emoticon)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athleti...0_metres_relay

----

Interesting fact on the athlete Patrick Robinson as it was reported (Off the top of my head): He had no coach but self and did a lot of his training sessions on the hall dorm corridor and his room on the UWI campus.

----

Aside: Judge Patrick Robinson - Author: Jamaican Athletics - A model for the world

Source: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...5346#post25346
          Bio: - http://legal.un.org/avl/pdf/ls/Robinson_bio.pdf

Video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngMfji_c7oo
          Son of 'Baddo Head' sister of Judith Robinson (?)...(& Heather?). 'Baddo Head' was Principal of Grange Hill Elementary School. ...and at one time PNP representative for "Central Westmoreland"?
          Last edited by Karl; November 18, 2014, 09:59 AM.

Oooops! I am doing my searches...but help me Gamma did you

claim wrong Patrick Robinson (spoke off the top of my head on that) or do I owe you an apology?

Found this - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...323#post182323 - So now I am reminded that Don1 gave that info.

yuh asking ME if you owe me an apology? you must make that determination and be guided accordingly. i trust you will do the right thing.

Let me make it easy for you, Premier, QC and 100 yard record holder Norman Manley. Can still be done, but that is more to the individual. it is now more difficult to do both than over 100 years ago because training methods have been refined amongst a host of other innovations geared towards specialisation.

Campion still produces a few of these ... eg Theon O'connor and there is a current sudent athlete in represented jamaica in the recent world youth championships..i forget his name now.

The Robinson family is very accomplished.

Current Minister of State Julian Robinson is Judge Robinsons son i believe?Certainly a relative. Mrs Sonia Hayden is a sister as well.She taught at Mannings for a while and she was a manager at Jamaica Citizens Bank Head Office in the late 80s/early 90s. Then there is Rhodes Scholar Tracy Robinson, now Chairman of the Inter American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) who is also a member of that family.

BTW Karl small correction. The 1964 team was not the one that broke the 4x100 realy world record, that was the 1968 team. Both teams finished 4th in the finals.
                Last edited by Islandman; November 18, 2014, 11:53 AM.

Tracy (Immaculate) and Julian (Campion) are Patrick's kids. Patrick is JC, the only blot on his resume. LoL

I consider him a very good friend and a high quality person.

Well he also tried Slobodan, so is long time him have big profile...

yeah... big accomplishment dat... congrats to a son of de jamaican soil...

I listened to an interview with Judge Robinson yesterday evening. Very interesting, talking about the process involved in getting elected to the ICJ and the odds against someone from a small country like JA getting the nod. Also spoke about the challenges faced by an average Jamaican in the 1960s who wanted to study law, particularly international law.

We should all be very proud of what Judge Robinson has accomplished.

Ben: Campion fi rejoice especially!!!!!!!!!

Woooiiieee mi spleen!!

Election of Judge Robinson to ICJ a proud moment for all Jamaicans
                          Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Patrick Robinson

JAMAICAN jurist Patrick Robinson's election to serve as a judge in the International Court of Justice (ICJ), for a nine-year period beginning in February 2015, is a singular moment of pride for all Jamaicans.

Judge Robinson is the only Jamaican and the second Caribbean person to serve on the ICJ in its 70-year history. His election caps a distinguished legal career both on behalf of Jamaica and in hemispheric and international legal fora.

From 2008 to 2011, he was president of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, having served the Tribunal as a member from 1998. In 2004, he presided over the trial of Slobodan Milosevic, the former Yugoslav president and the first former head of state to be tried for war crimes.
                          Last edited by Don1; November 19, 2014, 09:19 AM.

Campion mussi nevah deh bout when him ah tek Common Entrance..

Too bad