What if the top tourism-dependent countries disappeared??

• What if the top tourism-dependent countries disappeared??

Ans: Since none of the Top 20 is of any global economic or political consequence they would not be missed from the global economy in the least..

Their collective GDP is ~.002% of the world economy which is less than the annual revenue of the 15th largest technology company

This is the result of being dependent on a low-skill enterprise

What is contribution of travel and tourism to GDP (% of GDP)?

Only tiny, weak and inconsequential countries are "dependent" on tourism

34% of GDP ,its crazy to depend on an industry that is so fickle to outside pressure.

This should not be up for debate.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is your point?????

This was May 5
      https://www.cnbc.com/2020/05/06/coro...-5-charts.html

In the United States, the new epicenter of the pandemic, the negative ramifications of the coronavirus on the travel industry are also increasing by the day. Due to the recently imposed travel ban for European visitors, the country estimated a visitor loss of around 850,000 and a visitor spending loss of 3.4 billion U.S. dollars for the month of March alone. Depending on the percentage drop in occupancy, the hotel industry might lose up to 500 billion U.S. dollars in GDP contribution in 2020 and a loss of 6.5 million jobs in the hotel sector, respectively.
      https://www.statista.com/topics/6224...rism-industry/

hold that till later when mi draw fi the big dubplate.

Wow a measly 500 billion lost in the US economy, Apple ,one stem company is worth 1.5 trillion, yes one company and it can survive ,the rise in oil prices,hurricanes and pandemics

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

In the United States, the new epicenter of the pandemic, the negative ramifications of the coronavirus on the travel industry are also increasing by the day. Due to the recently imposed travel ban for European visitors, the country estimated a visitor loss of around 850,000 and a visitor spending loss of 3.4 billion U.S. dollars for the month of March alone. Depending on the percentage drop in occupancy, the hotel industry might lose up to 500 billion U.S. dollars in GDP contribution in 2020 and a loss of 6.5 million jobs in the hotel sector, respectively.
          LOL!

The US economy is ~$20 Trillion. Americans spend far more than $3.4B to celebrate Mother's Day. $500 Billion is 2.5% of GDP.

Anyway the point of the article is regarding countries MOST DEPENDENT on tourism...including JA. Such tourism-dependent countries are of little consequence
          Last edited by Don1; June 25, 2020, 03:41 PM.

He is about to draw his dub plate....lol.

DumbPlate The guy doesn't comprehend that the post is about the most tourism-dependent countries by % GDP

This lack of English comprehension leads him to quote USA data. Such illogical people should be left in ignorance
              Last edited by Don1; June 25, 2020, 03:39 PM.

you realize Apple is an international company right? 1.5 billion is the worth and not the the profit or loss??

How the hell you can compare loss with total capital??? Remember this was a survey done in March.

you realize this was don in March right? When the US wasn't fully in lockdown.

I realise you dont understand the ramifications of such a silly question.

you realize this was don in March right? When the US wasn't fully in lockdown.
                      LOL! Who cares. The data I posted has NOTHING to do with the USA

Your lack of English comprehension and logic is stunning

The data confirms what's now obvious to most....

Originally posted by Don1
                        Ans: Since none of the Top 20 is of any global economic or political consequence they would not be missed from the global economy in the least..

Their collective GDP is ~.002% of the world economy which is less than the annual revenue of the 15th largest technology company

Only weak and inconsequential countries are "dependent" on tourism
                        Tourism is a very useful industry BUT...based on the conclusive data, countries dependent on tourism are inconsequential in global affairs. Why? Such countries make virtually no 21st century-ready physical or digital product.

So tourism offers mainly low value adding elements in a world dominated by KNOWLEDGE APPLICATIONS as humanity pursues the Fourth Industrial Revolution.

But they're excellent for vacationing, sightseeing and observing the quaint ways of the natives for visitors from more advanced countries while dependent on those countries to create 21st century products for them to buy

Based on recent themes mentioned re JA we can add observing goats, cows, pigs and other tame animals to the list of tourism leisure activities some get very excited about

What a set of progressive people
                        Last edited by Don1; June 28, 2020, 07:29 AM.

LOL!!! you wake up with the same thing again? I though we moved onto technology.

“We moved moved on to technology?”

Mi move anywhere wid yuh Johnny??

Originally posted by Don1

Only tiny, weak and inconsequential countries are "dependent" on tourism
                              If one looks at Western Europe alone, the poorest, more backward countries are the ones most dependent on tourism i.e Portugal, Spain, Italy, Greece and to some extent France, although France continues to steal from Africa so it appears relevant. If Spain, Italy, Portugal and Greece and to some extent France disappear from the earth today I hardly think they would be missed. They contribute little or nothing to current world development and could easily be considered third world or like some would say $#!tholes in my opinion.