How much to lease Puerto Seco?

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
    I thought the Gleaner article said they paid $3M per year and not 11.5M. So where is the other $8.5M annual lease payment?. Something doesn't add up. Needs further enquiry.
    When the lease was first talked about in 2016 the numbers were closer to what Bricktop said.

"Puerto Seco readies for makeover
    Gov’t company hopes to earn $11.4m per year from Puerto Seco lease"

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...co-lease_47885

it starts at $3 million & ramps up to 5% of the property value over the course of the lease...

it is starting at $3 million JMD because of the unplanned $2mil USD investment in the sewer system that had to be torn out & reinstalled...it will ramp up to 5% of the property value when that money is recouped...

it starts at $3 million & ramps up to 5% of the property value over the course of the lease...
          Ok. So it starts at 3M and then gets to 11.5M in 25 years.
          Isn't that a little on the cheap side. Now, I understand that in any lease, the annual increases are usually quite low, but the problem I have is the baseline amount. Three M seems unreasonably low. It sounds like a RIP off of the Jamaican people. Now if the starting point was 11.5M and ramps up at 5% per annul over a certain period, after which it remains fixed then I see more people would be more accepting. This sounds like a clear giveaway to friends and cronies. Corny capitalism is not real capitalism. One man's opinion.

the project was initially projected at $3mil USD...once work started they realised that there were 19 sewage tanks dumping raw sewage into the bay...they had to rip out the existing tanks & put in a new $2.5 USD million sewage system...that is why the lease amount was reduced for the first couple of years...the leaseholder has to recoup his $5.5 mil USD investment correct? you also realise that the GOJ now owns a state of the art beach park costing $5.5 mil USD and they didn't have to spend a dime? guardsman doesn't own the park...GOJ does...
            Last edited by Bricktop; August 9, 2018, 12:32 PM.

the project was initially projected at $3mil USD...once work started they realised that there were 19 sewage tanks dumping raw sewage into the bay...they had to rip out the existing tanks & put in a new $2.5 USD million sewage system...that is why the lease amount was reduced for the first couple of years...the leaseholder has to recoup his $5.5 mil USD investment correct? you also realise that the GOJ now owns a state of the art beach park costing $5.5 mil USD and they didn't have to spend a dime? guardsman doesn't own the park...GOJ does...
              The idiot government of Jamaica should be developing the beaches and green spaces for the people of Jamaica
              and not rely on private enterprises to do their jobs for them. Plain and simple. Why don't the just outsource the army and JCF while they are at it. Maybe the Chinese might do a better job at patrolling Rockfort and then they could just hand over Gunboat beach to Benjamin.

GOJ is developing beaches & attractions...Puerto Seco Beach Club is owned lock stock & barrel by Jamaica through a PPP with another jamaican Kenny Benjamin...Ocho Rios Fisherman's village is also owned by Jamaica & is for Jamaicans...you are stuck in a socialist time warp...snap outta it prosperity time for Jamaica...

https://www.facebook.com/PortAuthori...3897351350903/

Porto Seco was always a paid beach. The Minister say he want to do a free beach in all Parish. Good to see one done in Annotto Bay, two will be done in Portland and one in St.Thomas and Dump up Beach in Mobay.

Hope the people take care of this and it don't have to be rebuild in two years time as people break it down and take out the toilets etc. and dutty it up. We also have a responsibility too.

This money is coming directly from the Tourism Enhancement Fund which is collected from a tax on tourist. So you see the policies we set can benefit us and that includes tourism.

GOJ is developing beaches & attractions...Puerto Seco Beach Club is owned lock stock & barrel by Jamaica through a PPP with another jamaican Kenny Benjamin...Ocho Rios Fisherman's village is also owned by Jamaica & is for Jamaicans...you are stuck in a socialist time warp...snap outta it prosperity time for Jamaica...

https://www.facebook.com/PortAuthori...3897351350903/
                    Wow wow wow wow. The last time I went to South Beach Florida it was free, the last time I went to Coney Island Beach, Rockwaway beach, Panama Beach, Hilton Head, Myrtle Beach, Long Beach and I could go on and on, they were all free and all located in the great socialist country of the USA. So where is the socialism. I am not saying that they should charge people to recover maintainance cost, but to hand it over to some crony capitalist to not only recover their investment but also to make a profit off ordinary working Jamaicans should be considered criminal. By the way, what's wrong with a government providing recreational spaces free of charge for it's people. Government is not a business my friend though some would try to make it seem that way. If the idiot's want to run government like a business why don't they just close the JCF and have an open bid for a police force, then hand it to the lowest bidder. The Chinese could send some of the sad, hungry masses from the rural provinces to provide policing in Flankers for pennies on the dollar. I am not about to let these or any other empty suits occupying the seats of government or the opposition of the hook. It's not about party politics, it's about what's reasonably for ordinary Jamaicans and Cooper is mostly correct.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                      Cooper is mostly correct.
                      i was going to respond to your post...then i saw this & realised that would be an exercise in futility

Whether you respond or not, the facts are the facts. Your response or nonresponse doesn't change that.

it sure doesn't...carolyn cooper has been thoroughly discredited...as for your "facts"...when last have you been to trunk bay ($5 USD pp)...cape cod seashore ($15USD per car)...canaveral seashore ($10 USD pp) and the list goes on & on all in the good ole USA...so what was that you were saying again?

Look man. Nobody is saying costs of maintainance and even development of these areas should not be recovered. It is when the cost to the public contains recovery of development, and maintain + PROFIT being made on public property is when I have a problem. No one expects a private enterprise to not make a profit, especially as it pertains to Jamaica's greedy crony capitalists(yes I did say that).That is why the lazy, licki lick idiot Jamaican politicians need to develop and maintain these spaces in the interest of the people and not allow them to be developed for profit by private Jamaica, Chiney, Indian, Anerica or anybody else.What, you think Benjamin or whoever is going to do this because he or she loves ordinary Jamaican people?.

where exactly should the government go to get the money to run hundreds of public beaches around the island? cmon man use common sense...before guardsman took over puerto seco beach had no weekday traffic...little weekend traffic & huge crowds on holidays...the previous licencee had to abandon the lease...now the beach club ram all the time...with the black jamaicans unnuh always feel don't have resources for some strange reason...you think kenny benjamin is making money at hope gardens? so why him spend millions of USD upgrading it?

He is spending money but he isn't or will not make money?.
                                If the beaches were developed by the government, it wouldn't be ram all the time, just like when it is developed by private enterprise?. In fact it would be more ram, given that it would be less expensive for the public.
                                You seem to think that black Jamaicans can afford things but black Jamaican government cant afford anything when it comes to spending on things to make the life of black Jamaicans better. Its always "let's outsource it to the local or foreign cronies" because "we can't afford it". Benjamin wealthier than the Jamaican government?. If he is, then the government should just stop collecting taxes and fees from poor people, and collect taxes only from Benjamin.