BCIC recommits to downtown roots

• BCIC recommits to downtown roots

After 56 years, general insurance company BCIC is betting that downtown Kingston is the place to be.

A $50 million renovation of one floor of BCIC’s Duke Street Head Office is just the first phase of a three- to four-year makeover for the company, according to Managing Director Peter Levy. The ribbon was cut on the renovated office space on Wednesday.

“We’ve been growing at 20-25 per cent over the last four years. What we see is that more people are buying cars since the finance cost is cheaper. There’s a lot of real estate activity, so more people will want to insure their houses. And with the good performance of the economy, we expect to ride that wave,” he said.

“We’re trying to make the space one that we can occupy well into the future. We’re happy to see that the rest of the business community is catching up to the idea that downtown is the place to be. Digicel started it and others are following,” he said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/b...downtown-roots
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015