'Youth for army' - Mandatory service proposed for ...

• 'Youth for army' - Mandatory service proposed for ...

'Youth for army' - Mandatory service proposed for 18-year-olds

A call for mandatory military training for young persons, particularly males, was issued on the weekend as an initiative to stem the nation's worrying crime problem.

The call to Government came from the president of the West Jamaica Conference of Seventh-day Adventist Churches, Pastor Glen Samuels, at a thanksgiving service in Montego Bay to mark the recovery of an Adventist pastor from an attack by gunmen last May.

Pastor Samuels said the idea "may have resistance, yes, but who can discount the fact that we are growing an indisciplined society ...?

"I ask the Government to consider a programme similar to that of countries where it is mandatory, particularly for young men to spend at least one year in the army."

Teach them a skill

According to Pastor Samuels, the year should address discipline and skills training.

"Proper processing of those who are so drafted would at least allow the system to teach them a skill, with which they can live later on, and they will emerge from the system more disciplined youngsters to impact those in their neighbour-hood," he proposed.

The clergyman was giving the charge at a 'Service in Praise and Thanksgiving for God's Miraculous Delivery of Pastor Egnal Grant', who was shot and injured by two gunmen in Irwin, St. James, on May 10. The service was hosted at the West Jamaica Conference Centre in Montego Bay on Saturday afternoon.

Pastor Samuels' proposal comes almost 10 months after businessman Mark Kerr-Jarrett, chairman of the St. James Parish Development Committee, told a Gleaner Editors' Forum in Montego Bay that the Jamaican Constitution should be reformed to make it mandatory for every person age 18-25 to be drafted into the military.

Merger

He said he believed in the merger of the National Youth Service and the Jamaica Defence Force, making them an army corps of engineers.

"Use them to replace and, if not, seriously augment the National Works Agency. Make it mandatory that all men and women age 18-25, who are not employed or in tertiary education, to give two to three years service in the military," Mr. Kerr-Jarrett had said.

"In this way we will be able to deal with hopeless youths and re-socialise them in a mandatory, disciplined and structured way."

Last week The Gleaner reported that an alarming trend has been developing among the youth as,

over just eight days, teenagers were implicated in at least four violence-related incidents including murder, a stabbing and illegal possession of a firearm.

On Saturday Pastor Samuels also used the occasion to call on the Church to increase its volunteerism in social services for the youth.

"This nation must now consider the value of social workers, even on a part-time basis because it is reaping the fruit of a breakdown of the Jamaican home life. Many of our youngsters who now source violent weapons are coming from homes where they were never properly socialised."

A special offering was also collected, during the function, towards the Grant's Thanksgiving Fund - aimed at uplifting inner-city youths.

"While I forgive the men (my attackers), I would like to baptize them," Pastor Grant shared with the congregation. "Thank you for all the support you've given to me during my ordeal; thanks for the prayers, many visits, telephone calls and cards."

nagra.plunkett@gleanerjm.com

... and being in the army is going to prvent them from committing crimes? I for one not into no mandatory nothing. If I joined the army, it should be my choice, not something forced upon me. Furthermore, how many criminal activities occurred because of police or soldiers?

They should be forced to do some skill training, community college, get a job or join the damn army after high school but the problem is there is no space in any of theses places.

In our position not everything can be what these kids want. Some have chosen to smoke the biggest spliff and join the roadside gang.

Soldiers have a much cleaner record than police, and I think that's why such a proposal is not new. Every bullet has to be accounted for and their actions are scrutinised and judged. Still, it gives me the shivers to know that maybe some gunmen would be given M-16s to protect us. I guess they wouldn't have to be given weapons. There a so many things that take place at Up Park Camp - mechanics, cooks, gardeners, etc. - that many of these recruits may learn some discipline without the population having to fear that they are roaming the streets with legal high-powered weapons.

They should be forced to do some skill training, community college, get a job or join the damn army after high school but the problem is there is no space in any of theses places.

In our position not everything can be what these kids want. Some have chosen to smoke the biggest spliff and join the roadside gang.
          How exactly will they be forced to do these things, especially "get a job"?

Mo that is what I am trying to say. There is no space in these places, that includes job.

If we had the training spaces, some more jobs, and more community colleges then we could talk and enforce this by law, but it is impossible right now.

the MAJOR plus would be the discipline....in an indisciplined society....it's like manna to a starving person...the logistics however are far from being optimal....it requires proper record keeping and i'm not sure there is the wherewithal to ensure strict compliance.....

But if you have more HEART Academy they could also learn the discipline, and a trade while living on campus as well and the good thing is them nuh get the GUN an only a small government allowance.

Who a go pay fi all them soldier deh?

Heart Academy won't teach anyone discipline more dan suh!

Jim Brown nephew went to school wit me and he was a uptown yute. Him start cause trouble and him old man send him go Newcastle to become a soldier. Di man had to run whe down the hill in the middle of the night cause di man dem used to beat him every night cause him come from uptown.

Soldiers have a much cleaner record than police, and I think that's why such a proposal is not new. Every bullet has to be accounted for and their actions are scrutinised and judged. Still, it gives me the shivers to know that maybe some gunmen would be given M-16s to protect us. I guess they wouldn't have to be given weapons. There a so many things that take place at Up Park Camp - mechanics, cooks, gardeners, etc. - that many of these recruits may learn some discipline without the population having to fear that they are roaming the streets with legal high-powered weapons.
                      And some may even join the Military band, learn an instrument and play some sweet music.

I went to Runaway Bay and you had to wake up 5:30 do exercises or sports training then go and get your dorm ready and then General assembly. You couldn't be late and then your dorms were inspected for neatly.

We had Etiquette training(pity a little more never rub off on me) Everything was structured and you had to be on time and dressed. You couldn't leave campus without a pass and you got one weekend pass a month for the first six months.

It was highly disciplined but I guess the boarding school maybe totally different from the day schools.

Aaah, that's the difference! Discipline at Munro is more than day schools too!

that was what I was thinking after I wrote this.

I think all kids especially the inner city and deep country kids all need to leave their environment for at least a year and go somewhere else in a boarding school to grow up and see the difference between their "community culture" and others.

it was a eye opening experience for me at HEART Runaway Bay and I cherish it until this day.

I can just imagine what it is like at Munro.
                            Last edited by Assasin; October 8, 2007, 11:05 AM.

Sass, yuh really trying to mess wid mi brain dis mawnin, nuh true. It is MUNRO! Thanks for not adding the "e" still!