Lazie, I'm sure you have heard about the numerous murders

• Lazie, I'm sure you have heard about the numerous murders

over the last 48 hours or so. The silence from the govt. is deafening. PJ used to show up when hurricanes approached. Portia used to boast how much she love poor people. Can we have a prime minister who not only places the reduction of crime on the front burner but also appears concerned?

At least 12 people have been murdered between Rockfort and Clarendon. A 4 month old child, a 70 year old grandmother. A 29 year old father and his daughter. Her child was spared. Yes, I said this 29 year old had a grandchild!

Yes, we need to have economic growth and jobs and all the rest of it, but in the meantime we need to do something to get the guns off the street and to stop the importation of more of them. We need to bring some sanity to our inner city residents, most of whom, as hard as it is to elieve sometimes, are good people. Dem cyaan tek it anymore, and me tiyad of it too.

Time for the prime minister to look like him care. Not just care, but committed to do something about it. NOW!

Like what ?

Wave a magic wand and bring peace and unity to all ?

Cry eyewater on TV ?

Hover a extremely high powered magnet over inner city communities to root out all the guns ?

Yuh had to come wid yuh friggery. Tek whey yuhself Maudib, mi a beg yuh. Cyaan bodda wid yuh political drivel right now.

Drivel like this:

"Time for the prime minister to look like him care. Not just care, but committed to do something about it. NOW!"

Is juss now di people tyad of it ??

Di new Govt gone 30 days yet ?

Do something about it NOW ! ? Heh, heh....

Got any ideas ?

See wah mi a talk bout the divide and rule syndrome. Now look at us uh? We can't even find common ground to talk about saving the youths and restoring respect for the elders.

Look what we come to now? We slaughter our elders like animals. The Elders are supposed to be the vanguard of our collective oral knowledge so when all that gone what we ago have left?

Granny sayings from TV?

No one seems to see what is happening right in front of us.

Wow! In the meantime the EU slaps us in the face on sugar and tourism and we still no get it. I went and picked up the Walter Rodney's book "How Europe Underdeveloped Africa" today and passed it on to a Guyanese friend as we reason on the black power movement that had a couple people run away from the states to Guyana.

The brethrin was telling me that these Americans found the going so hard in Guyana that they cut deals to go to prison in America so that they could see their kids as opposed to staying in Guyana and fighting.

They called and begged the Massa to return to the great house on the plantation. When it gets down to it and the giddeon gets rough a few people really ready fi "march out" pon dem.

At some time or the other we have to get to the point where we believe that its not going to get better until we make it better.

Dem say we won't know ourselves until our backs are against the wall and look from when we back deh gainst the wall and still we distracted.

A full time we run out pon dem now! The guns dem point the wrong way and a full time we redirect them as a only one thing dem understand

music or the bullet? thats the choice we are giving them these days

Ras Shatta
          Chief servant to the streets

It will tek a long time to effect changes in Jamaica. There are no quick solutions.

over the last 48 hours or so. The silence from the govt. is deafening. PJ used to show up when hurricanes approached. Portia used to boast how much she love poor people. Can we have a prime minister who not only places the reduction of crime on the front burner but also appears concerned?

At least 12 people have been murdered between Rockfort and Clarendon. A 4 month old child, a 70 year old grandmother. A 29 year old father and his daughter. Her child was spared. Yes, I said this 29 year old had a grandchild!

Yes, we need to have economic growth and jobs and all the rest of it, but in the meantime we need to do something to get the guns off the street and to stop the importation of more of them. We need to bring some sanity to our inner city residents, most of whom, as hard as it is to elieve sometimes, are good people. Dem cyaan tek it anymore, and me tiyad of it too.

Time for the prime minister to look like him care. Not just care, but committed to do something about it. NOW!
              Yeah, to me the murders seemed to take off since September 3rd. Derrick Smith mentioned last week about some moves they're going to make, what dem waiting on? They should have hit the ground running on the crime front.

As many have pointed out here and elsewhere neither parties were sufficiently lucid about their plans to tackle crime.

No wonder we have to keep hiring the white man dem to come here and point the way forward..you think we can get a British man to be our Minister of National Security?

After all being a citizen of the Commonwealth all he needs to do is to live here for a year and the deal done..nuh suh it go?