Here is the story that appeared in Tuesday's Observer

Son of university professor on wounding charge

Tuesday, October 02, 2007

NETO Meeks, son of Amina Blackwood-Meeks and university professor Brian Meeks, is now facing several charges after a dispute between himself and his spouse's sister allegedly turned ugly.
    The woman who Meeks allegedly attacked was also charged with unlawful wounding by the police after Meeks was bitten during the reported dispute.
    The case will be brought to the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on October 9.
    The Grants Pen police yesterday confirmed that Meeks, a poet, was slapped with charges of unlawful wounding, malicious destruction of property and possession of marijuana on Saturday after a report was made by the 23-year-old woman who Meeks had allegedly attacked and wounded last Friday night.
    "They were fighting and he beat her," a cop at the Grants Pen Police Station told the Observer yesterday.
    Allegations against Meeks are that he was at a premises on Shortwood Road when the woman entered. The police said they got reports that Meeks allegedly attacked the woman and held her in a 'choke hold' while pressing his knee into her lower back. He is also accused of inflicting several bite wounds and cuts to the woman, in addition to kicking in a door to a bedroom where the woman had locked herself in.
    Meeks also allegedly stabbed his accuser in the face, the police said. He was allegedly found with ganja in his possession when he was picked up.

Oh ok.. I understand now.

I should have picked up on the last name.

How do your get your teeth pass the Occipital Orbit ????

What the hell !?

Him deh pon more than ganja!!

i wonder if the victim's sister, neto's spouse, can shed some light on this?

Neto is married ??

Thought it was his girlfriend ?

from the news paper report.

"NETO Meeks, son of Amina Blackwood-Meeks and university professor Brian Meeks, is now facing several charges after a dispute between himself and his spouse's sister allegedly turned ugly."

This must be the most incomprehensible piece of writing since Gutenberg!

klaat... this is horrific... i read about this in the observer but it was nothing like this account... one of the most gruesome case of attempted murder, torture i have read about...

if a woman can get $11m US for sexual harrasment... charrah needs to get double that... further, the police needs to be investigated for their role in handling this case... the lawyers present at her questioning should come under scrutiny for attempting to pervert the course of justice...

she needs a lawyer to aggressively go after everybody connected to this and ensure that justice prevails...

he needs at the minimum 20 yrs to think about his actions on that day...

i am just stunned in disbelief...

Baddaz this why mi an yuh
                      ah go sit an reason bredrin. Dem tings in Ja's society for a reason.

mosiah... where is ms gomez... has the jfj come out in support of this poor girl... if there is ever a case where the jfj is needed, its NOW...

jawge... mi comrade bredrin... soon wi a guh sit an reason king son... i am stunned with this accounting of events from this girl charrah...

and the gall of the police fi charge the girl who is obviously acting in self defense...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                            klaat... this is horrific... i read about this in the observer but it was nothing like this account... one of the most gruesome case of attempted murder, torture i have read about...

if a woman can get $11m US for sexual harrasment... charrah needs to get double that... further, the police needs to be investigated for their role in handling this case... the lawyers present at her questioning should come under scrutiny for attempting to pervert the course of justice...

she needs a lawyer to aggressively go after everybody connected to this and ensure that justice prevails...

he needs at the minimum 20 yrs to think about his actions on that day...

i am just stunned in disbelief...

I was thinking 20 years as well, this goes beyond a man just beating up a woman this was a case of a brutally attempted murder.

The bigger issues though is how true it is of J'can society where just having a certain last name brings so much priviledge.

gamma, yuh nuh have nuh lawyer friend who can provide assistance to this girl pro bono... this is an outrage...

scaly, iz not just in jamaica certain people enjoy more privilege than others... jamaica is so small and the privileged class has so much control that they act with impunity, thumbing their noses at the law... they are out of control...

this girl should not settle until neto meeks spend at least 20 yrs in prison and his family and attorneys as well as the jcf held liable for over 850 mil jamaican... instead of acting to protect her they exposed her to further trauma by placing her in vicinity of her attacker... he could have attacked her again... krise...

sounds like a billion dollar case...