Gov’t considers casinos as tourist attractions

• Gov’t considers casinos as tourist attractions

The government is not ruling out casino gambling as a major attraction to boost Jamaica's economy, but has not said whether it will be looking at its implementation in the short-term.

When asked Wednesday whether it will be an area of focus, Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett noted that casino gambling represents one of the many attractions that can bring value to the tourism product.

He said the Government is looking at several options to attract more visitors to the island.

"We will be pursuing that with great energy, the whole issue of whether casino gaming is going to be an immediate situation, we haven't reached that point. What we do know is that it is one on a menu of large and important attractions which are open to Jamaica," said Mr. Bartlett.

Players in the cruise shipping industry have been lobbying for casino gambling to be introduced to lure more visitors.

Why did I believe that a JLP govt. would just stop the hypocrisy and allow casinos?

Oh well! Staying the course here, I see.

true true but them fraid a the fraud christian them.

I don't support casino gambling but it is time for a government to come out on one side of this issue once and for all. From Eddie to PJ all took the same whimp attitude on this and now Golding.

If the govt. does not support it then they need to close the ones that are currently in operation. If not, then stop mucking around and fly di gate!

True sah!

That is the real issue.

Since I have been dubbed Rev Exile, you boys should know that gambling is a vice that destroys the family, encourages waste and sloth, go hand in hand with prostitution, money laundering, entertainment, provides employment......wine, women, song....hmmm...
            Seriously though in TT the PM tried to lock down Casinos here which came under the guise of Private Clubs (loophole)...the workers formed a group and got him to back off for 5 years while they are being 'retrained'.

We already Have gambling. Casino, lotto, drop pan, etc....

We just doing it in a mickey mouse manner.

We already Have gambling. Casino, lotto, drop pan, prostitution etc

The government is not ruling out casino gambling as a major attraction to boost Jamaica's economy, but has not said whether it will be looking at its implementation in the short-term.

When asked Wednesday whether it will be an area of focus, Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett noted that casino gambling represents one of the many attractions that can bring value to the tourism product.

He said the Government is looking at several options to attract more visitors to the island.

"We will be pursuing that with great energy, the whole issue of whether casino gaming is going to be an immediate situation, we haven't reached that point. What we do know is that it is one on a menu of large and important attractions which are open to Jamaica," said Mr. Bartlett.

Players in the cruise shipping industry have been lobbying for casino gambling to be introduced to lure more visitors.
                  Why are the various governments so fearful about plunging in? I remember when it was first broached there was a big hullabaloo from the churches. ...but, what's the big deal now?

We already Have gambling. Casino, lotto, drop pan, prostitution etc
                    prostitution is gambling?

same as before, the churches up in arms about it.

yuh nuh think suh? suppose yuh get ketch in a police sting? or get more out of it than you bargained for?

same as before, the churches up in arms about it.
                          Well Brucie should go right ahead and ask a rev fi bles di fus wan...an btw - isn't there a boat that has casino gambling onboard?

dem nuh haffi guh! and they can tell their congregation to stay away from it! they should also cancel bingo night and raffles.

"or get more out of it than you bargained for"

how much him pay?