EDITORIAL - Unemployed and unemployable
how many mechanic training school is there in Jamaica?
Mi go a high school here and them have mechanic training school in it.
A wonder why?
You can see the difference between the trainees of the Portmore HEART Academy and someone who them uneducated daddy trained. We need more training schools and programs.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Karl - all skills can be acquired, but how many of our youths have the vision and accept the fact that them won't be a DJ, and that there is no "easy way out". If anybody looking down them nose at anyone, it is the very individual who's unemployed and unskilled who looking down him own nose at himself in disgust.
It too easy to blame other people for one's dilemma. Nothing wrong in being a gardner, because if the gardner is damn smart and tenacious, him can turn it into a first class Lawn Maintenance business. People have to acknowledge their capabilities and limitations and the sooner the better for all of us.Last edited by MdmeX; October 5, 2007, 09:24 AM.“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
them want tun DJ but them nuh understand the amount of work that goes into it. Don't be fooled it takes a lot of skills, time and correction plus living out on the road is not easy. I have been to enough studio sessions with our entertainers to know that it takes discipline and skills to be successful. We need to also tell the youth them this.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Karl View PostAn interesting aside is: Is there really such a thing as being unemployable? Is there really an individual... physically healthy...who is unemployable?
Could it be that there are just not enough jobs available for these so-called "unemployable"? Are not many of these persons, as do all of us, in need of new improved skills? Can we not all improve on/add to knowledge we already have...gain more experiences? Open ourselves to being able to find employment in a new niche or in new markets?
The editorial causes me to wonder if there are persons who are "looking down their noses" at some in the society....somehow believing that an individual is condemned to remain at the level found in any instant in time...believe that individual is incapable of learning...gaining new beneficial experiences...improving self? Would that attitude a JLP ingrained thing?
No, I believe that this was Omar Davis's philosophy, not the JLP's!
Originally posted by Gamma View Postwhy wasn't it done before?...i mean 18 years is a long time and i'm sure you want brucie to do it in less than 5....
Yes!
We are all loking for solutions?
Yes!
...and, some are here encouraging us to look beyond the last elections?
Yes!
...that would mean looking towards solutions for what stares us in the face?
Yes!
OK! Let's see if Brucie can solve the problems...or at the very least move us along the path to solutions?
Right!
...as for me, I do not think it Utopia...I will nto give up on our people! ...Thank you, MdmeX! ...we all can learn and we all can be employed! Those at 'the bottom of the scale' must start somewhere! ...but, we all (yes, MdmeX those individuals too...) must believe!
FORWARD!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."