• EDITORIAL - Unemployed and unemployable

EDITORIAL - Unemployed and unemployable
    published: Thursday | October 4, 2007

The significant number of young Jamaican men who are unemployed and/or lacking the needed skills for the marketplace, at some point, will have to ditch the false pride that is getting them nowhere and begin to assume greater responsibility for themselves and their families.

We make these observations against the background of our lead story in yesterday's edition which had two main points. First, there was a crush of men who turned up at the Ministry of Labour hoping to be recruited for construction jobs in Canada. Clearly, there is a large number of men who want to work. No doubt, the incentive of following in the tradition of farm workers hired for jobs in the United States and Canada who have generally done well for themselves would have enticed a great number of them to turn up at the ministry hoping to be recruited.

Second, many of them did not stand a chance because they were either illiterate or uncertified. This is but a glaring manifestation of the problem that has been raised and discussed in various forums across the country over the past few years.

Skills training centres and programmes abound but are not being utilised sufficiently by young men. What needs to be addressed then is the lack of will and motivation by many young men to take advantage of existing opportunities. Generally, boys are not performing as well as girls at the primary and secondary levels. As more mature teenagers or young adults, they do not advance to higher education and the percentage who go back to school to acquire what they should have obtained at the secondary level is equally low.

This crisis of underperformance plaguing our male population is as much self-inflicted as it is a by-product of societal dysfunction. We are in a vicious cycle. Boys who skip classes or who waste most of their time in school rarely settle down later in life to the methodical plodding that academic or skills training requires that would put them in better positions to improve their lot. Several studies have been done suggesting that teaching methods may be alienating boys and fuelling their underperformance. Others suggest that young adult males are seeking instant gratification and are not prepared to work hard over long periods to get the material things which they desire.

Whatever the cause or causes, the implications for the stability of the society are frightening. This army of unemployed and unemployable young men make them easy recruits for gangs, narcotics trading rings and other forms of crime.

While there are also implications for the political process, this is not a problem for politicians alone to tackle. More of our civic organisations will have to get involved, with support from private businesses, to address this problem. Ways have to be found to get inside the head of these young men to challenge them about how they see life and their expectations.

Old boys' associations allied to secondary schools should consider widening their involvement beyond sports to invest time and finances in training younger men before they leave the formal school system. A collective response is needed, but young men need to embrace the existing opportunities to help themselves
    The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.
    Last edited by Karl; October 4, 2007, 07:45 AM.

An interesting aside is: Is there really such a thing as being unemployable? Is there really an individual... physically healthy...who is unemployable?

Could it be that there are just not enough jobs available for these so-called "unemployable"? Are not many of these persons, as do all of us, in need of new improved skills? Can we not all improve on/add to knowledge we already have...gain more experiences? Open ourselves to being able to find employment in a new niche or in new markets?

The editorial causes me to wonder if there are persons who are "looking down their noses" at some in the society....somehow believing that an individual is condemned to remain at the level found in any instant in time...believe that individual is incapable of learning...gaining new beneficial experiences...improving self? Would that attitude a JLP ingrained thing?

Observer EDITORIAL

More than just a problem of unemployment

Thursday, October 04, 2007

The photograph on the front page of yesterday's Daily Observer showing just a section of the throng of Jamaicans who went to the labour ministry in search of employment in the overseas jobs programme gives a stark reflection of a troubling reality in the country.

The fact that quite a number of the job seekers were not certified or qualified for the positions advertised must also be of concern to us, for it will impact on our ability as a country to provide the skills that businesses seek and which help to influence their investment decisions.

Tuesday's rush on the labour ministry is, really, not a new phenomenon. We have seen it before. But whenever it happens it serves as a harsh reminder that Jamaica has a serious unemployment problem.

But even before Tuesday, this problem was amplified by the sheer volume of people who were on the streets supporting political candidates on Nomination Day, a regular work day, in the run-up to the September 3 general elections. It could not have been that those people had jobs and simply abandoned them for a day of politicking.

The official figure provided by the state-run Statistical Institute of Jamaica (Statin) on its website puts the country's unemployment rate at 9.5 per cent in April 2007. While some people are naturally sceptical of that information, we are in no position to dispute the figure, and quite frankly, we have not, in the past, had reason to question the integrity of the professionals at Statin.

However, we have no doubt that if the Government does not act quickly to start correcting this problem, crime will continue to strangle the country, and, therefore, keep potential investors nervous. It is a vicious cycle.

We don't expect that the problem will be solved overnight, for as was highlighted in the story accompanying the photograph yesterday, there is, among many Jamaicans, a serious lack of training, knowledge of deportment and inability to read and understand instructions.

Indeed, the Government has its job cut out for it, as it has inherited an enormous debt from the previous administration - almost a trillion dollars we are told by Prime Minister Bruce Golding - and therefore has to choose very carefully the areas to which it can effectively allocate the limited resources of the state.

Whatever measures the Government adopts to try and correct this problem, we believe it must focus on improving the country's early childhood education institutions. For therein lies the key to our future.

An interesting aside is: Is there really such a thing as being unemployable? Is there really an individual... physically healthy...who is unemployable?

Could it be that there are just not enough jobs available for these so-called "unemployable"? Are not many of these persons, as do all of us, in need of new improved skills? Can we not all improve on/add to knowledge we already have...gain more experiences? Open ourselves to being able to find employment in a new niche or in new markets?

The editorial causes me to wonder if there are persons who are "looking down their noses" at some in the society....somehow believing that an individual is condemned to remain at the level found in any instant in time...believe that individual is incapable of learning...gaining new beneficial experiences...improving self? Would that attitude a JLP ingrained thing?
        Karl - lets face it, you and I know that the jobs that some people nuh want the job that they are capable of doing. Plenty could do well to learn a skill, but them nuh want that. How many times yuh see a man a beg yuh every damn day, and if you call him to give him a day's work, him nuh want that.

And get over that election thing - it ain't any JLP ingrained thing!

You are currently incapable of critical thinking in matters involving the JLP or the PNP.

I hope you realize this and if you seriously are interested in constructive criticism you will seek some therapy.

"And get over that election thing - it ain't any JLP ingrained thing!"

A guess you need no skill to be a mechanic or carpenter?

Diss after diss. Is that your prescribed therapy?

Whatever measures the Government adopts to try and correct this problem, we believe it must focus on improving the country's early childhood education institutions. For therein lies the key to our future.
                Won't happen this century. Not the fashionable thing to do.

Diss after diss. Is that your prescribed therapy?
                  Tough love.

Karl, you have been spouting here this mantra over the years that if the child did not learn, then the teacher did not teach. That is right up there with this other well-meaning saying, you can do anything if you put your mind to it, or you can be anything you want to be. They are all hogwash!

Unemployable does not mean irredeemably unemployable. But at the present moment, YES, we have numerous UNEMPLOYABLE! Nuhbody, no matter how kind, can employ them!

Stop with this utopian garbage!

Karl is grateful. And I!

Thanks is all I require.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                          Karl - lets face it, you and I know that the jobs that some people nuh want the job that they are capable of doing. Plenty could do well to learn a skill, but them nuh want that. How many times yuh see a man a beg yuh every damn day, and if you call him to give him a day's work, him nuh want that.
                          Oh yes!

And get over that election thing
                          I have long moved past the last elections...it is now about the next general elections!

*it ain't any JLP ingrained thing!
                          *it = looking down noses at the rest of us

...but, I wonder if *it is part of the JLP's 'now culture'? (now = relative short period of JLP existence...thus that looking down noses - now ingrained)

Stop look down yuh nose at PEOPLE !

Dem at least can polish di leaves inna yuh yard or clean up the doo-doo yuh dawge leave round di yard !

A guess you need no skill to be a mechanic or carpenter?
                              ...and, I guess you are saying the skill cannot be acquired?

...I really hope you are not saying there is no earthly use...employable use...for a man and or woman with a 'brain'?